A Section Premier 2016

My mail still tells me OS is fighting hard to hold him....jobs etc. Ive heard he is not very bright,which doesnt help. Thats no crime of course as there are plenty of "dumb" players running around playing good footy.
Poor post, Straussy is a ripper, even for a Scotchie. I cancelled my account but have come back as someone needs to add a modicum of truth to this forum.

Strauss runs his fathers very successful business, I'd suggest it takes more than a few brain cells to do this. He also has a successful online app he has developed which is used extensively in the USA, so let's put the money angle, job angle and any other angle to bed right now.

And according to posters like Rooster24, he's no good, SKOB are a bunch of pricks and so is any recruit that any VAFA club tries to bring in.

Let's move on from the obsession with SKOB and talk about Old Xavs and the fact that their two biggest recruits are heading overseas for 10 weeks mid year.

Poor post, Straussy is a ripper, even for a Scotchie. I cancelled my account but have come back as someone needs to add a modicum of truth to this forum.

Strauss runs his fathers very successful business, I'd suggest it takes more than a few brain cells to do this. He also has a successful online app he has developed which is used extensively in the USA, so let's put the money angle, job angle and any other angle to bed right now.

And according to posters like Rooster24, he's no good, SKOB are a bunch of pricks and so is any recruit that any VAFA club tries to bring in.

Let's move on from the obsession with SKOB and talk about Old Xavs and the fact that their two biggest recruits are heading overseas for 10 weeks mid year.

If anyone is capable of bringing a "modicum" of truth to the forum, you're unquestionably the man for the job Brian.:)

2m0Xeyu.jpg

While my personal preference is that VAFA clubs don’t cannabilise each other like some other comps and players’ display a bit of loyalty, nowhere have I said, “Strauss is no good and SKOBs are a bunch of pricks”. So feel free to apply a “modicum of truth” when paraphrasing my comments.

Sorry, but your comments about Strauss leaving Scotch to go to SKOB and what that said about both clubs was in very poor taste. As well as being inaccurate and rumour mongering, I don't think character assassination of an individual and a club, the same club that helped your club with our facilities last year when you had no-where to train, is necessary unless you are prepared to tell everyone in the world who you are.

I also know for a fact, that Josh Cowan turned his nose up at De La Salle after reading your post about him, which again was in very, very poor taste, as believe it or not he was actually going to play at De La! I'm happy to give you his phone number in a PM if you like so you can confirm with him.

Believe it or not, people don't like having their character and integrity bought into question by faceless internet forum posters, where the whole world can read scurrilous rumours. All I have read on here for the last few weeks is $WISSE money, Vitamin money, Strauss offered massive coin, Scotch had Strauss a good job but SKOB got him a better one, Jamar on $120K for a firm in Richmond etc etc, it's all fantasy stuff! It's sad people can just make shit up and other people believe it.

SKOB will run out with the same team from the GF with a couple of additions. Jamar going to Essendon was a massive blow, so in my opinion, anyone who thinks they are A grade flag favourites is delusional. Maybe in 2017 if they are still in Premier.

Rant over.

Sorry, but your comments about Strauss leaving Scotch to go to SKOB and what that said about both clubs was in very poor taste. As well as being inaccurate and rumour mongering, I don't think character assassination of an individual and a club, the same club that helped your club with our facilities last year when you had no-where to train, is necessary unless you are prepared to tell everyone in the world who you are.

I also know for a fact, that Josh Cowan turned his nose up at De La Salle after reading your post about him, which again was in very, very poor taste, as believe it or not he was actually going to play at De La! I'm happy to give you his phone number in a PM if you like so you can confirm with him.

Believe it or not, people don't like having their character and integrity bought into question by faceless internet forum posters, where the whole world can read scurrilous rumours. All I have read on here for the last few weeks is $WISSE money, Vitamin money, Strauss offered massive coin, Scotch had Strauss a good job but SKOB got him a better one, Jamar on $120K for a firm in Richmond etc etc, it's all fantasy stuff! It's sad people can just make shit up and other people believe it.

SKOB will run out with the same team from the GF with a couple of additions. Jamar going to Essendon was a massive blow, so in my opinion, anyone who thinks they are A grade flag favourites is delusional. Maybe in 2017 if they are still in Premier.

Rant over.

Nice rant Brian but go back over the posts that seem to have offended you so much and you will see they are not mine. You are attributing posts made by FF, JJ and perhaps others to me. My only reference to SKOBs/Strauss inferred a ruthless determination by SKOBs to chase down every recruit and perhaps you have interpreted it another way. I’m on the record as saying I wish my own club were more aggressive in looking beyond their own backyard (however still prefer that VAFA clubs don’t turn on each other).

I don’t mid copping a whack when deserved but being held accountable for every comment made is beyond the pale.

Josh Cowan? Recall my only post was to confirm that he had not trained at De La since mid December and had chosen to remain in B grade with SBMT. I recall some ‘heated’ debate between other posters and again suggest you have attributed comments made by others to me. Mountzer seems to know much more about the lads intentions than you, I or anyone else and it would seem that SBMT always had the inside running and he had pretty much committed to them before Xmas. Certainly that is De La’s understanding. Suggesting that his choice of club is based on what was said on BF is an insult to the kid. Genuinely wish he playing for us in 2016 but from what I hear he is happy at St Bedes and good luck to him. He is a quality player. Hopefully he will test himself at a higher level at some stage.

And by the way it was Stonnington council who sent De La to train at TH King for a few weeks last year when our deck was being re-sown. Pre 1 April no club has any claim to any ground and council allocate grounds to local clubs based on availability. SKOBs had no say or influence in the matter whatsoever. Council could send you blokes to Diary Bell next week and there would not be a thing we could do about it!

Rooster “ still waiting for a modicum of truth” 24.

Must be two Strausse's at OS then...............

Rant over.

Council owned facilities there Brian.

Also, as far as laying pot-shots are concerned. I could go through a few of your posts over the years and you'd be able to fill the pages of War and Peace with your offending posts.

The recent SKOB successes have really changed your tune BS, a lot less bitter now your club is in the limelight. But I'd try and refrain from the holier than thou attitude...

Personally, I think most players should be left free from personal comments on here with the odd exceptions of course, mainly being if the bloke is a genuine flog (there are still plenty around, even in ammo circles) although a majority of players are not.

So the referencing of players IQ's and ability to perform their duties in a business capacity should be thought twice about before being posted (with the exceptions as mentioned above).

Play on.

If I lived in a house with as much glass as you Brian I would be wary about potting other posters.

It was me who had a crack at Cowan, not Rooster. To put the record straight - on reflection and knowing what I do now I regret making those comments. I am now aware he was following through on some undertakings made when overseas to train with a few ‘A’ grade clubs and to his credit he did just that. While he might have spread himself around he was really just undertaking due diligence and understand that he was always odds on to play at St Bedes this year. But to suggest he turned his nose up a particular club on the basis of a BF post is simply idiotic and a slur on the player in question. Perhaps the fact your posted that comment at 3.15am explains it.

I’m man enough to admit when I made a blue. I look forward to you doing the same.

Unfortunately this thread has about 20 contributors and 50 readers.
Wasn't always the case. Once upon a time it was a monster.

Nice rant Brian but go back over the posts that seem to have offended you so much and you will see they are not mine. You are attributing posts made by FF, JJ and perhaps others to me. My only reference to SKOBs/Strauss inferred a ruthless determination by SKOBs to chase down every recruit and perhaps you have interpreted it another way. I’m on the record as saying I wish my own club were more aggressive in looking beyond their own backyard (however still prefer that VAFA clubs don’t turn on each other).

I don’t mid copping a whack when deserved but being held accountable for every comment made is beyond the pale.

Josh Cowan? Recall my only post was to confirm that he had not trained at De La since mid December and had chosen to remain in B grade with SBMT. I recall some ‘heated’ debate between other posters and again suggest you have attributed comments made by others to me. Mountzer seems to know much more about the lads intentions than you, I or anyone else and it would seem that SBMT always had the inside running and he had pretty much committed to them before Xmas. Certainly that is De La’s understanding. Suggesting that his choice of club is based on what was said on BF is an insult to the kid. Genuinely wish he playing for us in 2016 but from what I hear he is happy at St Bedes and good luck to him. He is a quality player. Hopefully he will test himself at a higher level at some stage.

And by the way it was Stonnington council who sent De La to train at TH King for a few weeks last year when our deck was being re-sown. Pre 1 April no club has any claim to any ground and council allocate grounds to local clubs based on availability. SKOBs had no say or influence in the matter whatsoever. Council could send you blokes to Diary Bell next week and there would not be a thing we could do about it!

Rooster “ still waiting for a modicum of truth” 24.
Fair enough, although I doubt we will be training at Dairy Bell in the future, it's up opposite Chadstone now.

If I lived in a house with as much glass as you Brian I would be wary about potting other posters.

It was me who had a crack at Cowan, not Rooster. To put the record straight - on reflection and knowing what I do now I regret making those comments. I am now aware he was following through on some undertakings made when overseas to train with a few ‘A’ grade clubs and to his credit he did just that. While he might have spread himself around he was really just undertaking due diligence and understand that he was always odds on to play at St Bedes this year. But to suggest he turned his nose up a particular club on the basis of a BF post is simply idiotic and a slur on the player in question. Perhaps the fact your posted that comment at 3.15am explains it.

I’m man enough to admit when I made a blue. I look forward to you doing the same.
Happy to admit when I'm wrong, the post was at 3am!

Council owned facilities there Brian.

Also, as far as laying pot-shots are concerned. I could go through a few of your posts over the years and you'd be able to fill the pages of War and Peace with your offending posts.

The recent SKOB successes have really changed your tune BS, a lot less bitter now your club is in the limelight. But I'd try and refrain from the holier than thou attitude...

Personally, I think most players should be left free from personal comments on here with the odd exceptions of course, mainly being if the bloke is a genuine flog (there are still plenty around, even in ammo circles) although a majority of players are not.

So the referencing of players IQ's and ability to perform their duties in a business capacity should be thought twice about before being posted (with the exceptions as mentioned above).

Play on.
Trust me, one good year does not make up for ten painful ones!

To get back on track, I've heard a couple of Xav recruits, ex Port boys not associated with Wayne Johnson, are heading overseas for a lengthy part of the season. If so, hard to cover I would think.

Trust me, one good year does not make up for ten painful ones!

To get back on track, I've heard a couple of Xav recruits, ex Port boys not associated with Wayne Johnson, are heading overseas for a lengthy part of the season. If so, hard to cover I would think.
Who would want to be associated with Johnson

Unfortunately this thread has about 20 contributors and 50 readers.
Wasn't always the case. Once upon a time it was a monster.
Quality is way more important than quantity. It was such a 'monster' at one point a Super Mod had to intervene to get rid of the chaff and put it back on track. Let's hope those days are well and truly gone.

Who would want to be associated with Johnson

To be fair I hear the boys are good lads. Noonan and Prowse? My mob also hit by the travellers curse this year and I am sure others will be also. However Xavs have extraordinary depth and can cover these losses better than any club.

Yes there were plenty of those. Made for some great reading when you knew who was who and that what was also what.
Twaddle! The board was a mess. That's why it was cleaned-up. Quite apart from multiple aliases being against board rules.

We lost a lot of very good posters during that time and suffocated many others who stopped posting for awhile.

It made for some great reading.
Go back and read some classic threads from years back and I'm sure even you will be able to crack a laugh. I hope laughing isn't against AM rules?

I reckon AM is lacking a funny bone Canada!

Perhaps Hansie.
Big footy fans should do and have a read of Most Ordinary blokes in the VAFA threads.
Threads on Old Essendon and some of the characters returning serve from that club. Jase's 'best of' threads with 14 Hampton Players. And many more.
Hilarious stuff.