A Section Premier 2016

Some of these ex-AFL players are not 'difference makers' either. Look at Strauss. Won plenty of the ball last season with OS, but couldn't stop them being relegated. From my observations his games tended to be filled with empty stats across half back and through the middle. Take that in contrast to someone like Julian Rowe, who pulls his team across the line (or close to it) time and again and has a huge impact on the games that he plays.

Howit, Young, Bentick, Jones, Rowe, and many, many other ex AFL players have made significant contributions to their club. And according to SKOBs people Gilham and Salopek were a major part of their success last season. The secret is of course is getting buy in and having sufficient ‘A’ grade quality players around them. 13 guns but 5 ‘spuds’ will leave you exposed every time in the top grade.

Who honestly would not want Bail and Strauss in their team? I know I would.

Howit, Young, Bentick, Jones, Rowe, and many, many other ex AFL players have made significant contributions to their club. And according to SKOBs people Gilham and Salopek were a major part of their success last season. The secret is of course is getting buy in and having sufficient ‘A’ grade quality players around them. 13 guns but 5 ‘spuds’ will leave you exposed every time in the top grade.

Who honestly would not want Bail and Strauss in their team? I know I would.

To early to tell re: Bail, but Strauss? took OS (his alma mata) to B Grade and walked. There is a fair bit of "good riddance" at OS at the moment.
They will win B grade and be back......

De La deserved the win.
Xavs were smashed around the ball. Very good game.
Believe that there has been a crisis meeting held this morning at the King. Gysberts, Gilham and a few others being main topics. Harford being asked to see what more he can do to help. Doors were closed and lots of screaming and finger pointing. Interesting times.
Come on mate - you're making that up I reckon...

I think the VAFA should look at having its Premier Game of the Round on a Saturday night with Trevor Barker Oval the likely venue for night football while Sportscover Arena undergo major redevelopment. Oh, and the VAFA could also show the game live on VAFATV and possibly Channel 31 as well.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I think the VAFA should look at having its Premier Game of the Round on a Saturday night with Trevor Barker Oval the likely venue for night football while Sportscover Arena undergo major redevelopment. Oh, and the VAFA could also show the game live on VAFATV and possibly Channel 31 as well.

Does Channel 31 still operate?

Wow, did not know that.

Do you own shares in TBO Jase?? Or, work in their marketing department??

More to do with Jase having an intense dislike for Sportscover. So TBO and Ikon always get a great run from him.

At least he'll be pleased to know the CEO has said Ikon is where the VAFA intends playing the Premier GF this year.

Live footy during the regular season has been streamed before. The same game i mentioned earlier (the friday night game between coĺl and OS) was also live streamed. I had the afl live on the tv and vafa live on the laptop! Should do this more often.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

I would love to hear thoughts of those that were at Toorak Park on Saturday night. I've spoken to a couple of people who said the lighting of the ground could have been better and in some parts of the ground light towers were not even switched on or in limited use (due to residents complaints etc)

Had it not been for the White shorts of De La you couldn't tell who was who (I find this a little hard to believe) but just passing on what I have been told before making my own judgement.

I would love to hear thoughts of those that were at Toorak Park on Saturday night. I've spoken to a couple of people who said the lighting of the ground could have been better and in some parts of the ground light towers were not even switched on or in limited use (due to residents complaints etc)

Had it not been for the White shorts of De La you couldn't tell who was who (I find this a little hard to believe) but just passing on what I have been told before making my own judgement.

As a spectator it was bloody hard to see and I believe the commentary team reported the same issues. The same for both sides of course but some areas significantly worse than others - the pockets in particular were very dark. Some players looked as if they were having difficulties with the lights but have not heard that directly from the players. In my view the lights were 5 maybe 6/10 and did not seem to be directed properly. Had the four old light towers (not sure if they are still working) been switched on it would have made a difference.

On another note - I’m no prude but I did note the place was awash with grog. Players and supporters of both club plus neutrals still in club gear who attended from games played that afternoon were openly partaking. Seemed to be a boozy function being held in the grandstand also so not sure if rules are different, relaxed or simply not enforceable for night games. There was a very healthy crowd so it would have been hard to police.

Thought some well-lubricated and highly agitated clown in Xavs gear was going to jump the fence in the last quarter down in the Orrong Road end. From my observations the De La supporters down the construction end were fairly vocal in the last Q also.

Just saw some snippets from VAFA tragics. It's much darker than I imagined it would be. That can't have been easy to play in or watch.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Surely they would have tested the lights before the game???

M, You must be kidding...Some time last year I was told by a person who would know, that out of all the Ammo grounds with
lights, none of them would pass the H & S requirements to play except one, and that was Coll. Their lights have been up 2 seasons..

M, You must be kidding...Some time last year I was told by a person who would know, that out of all the Ammo grounds with
lights, none of them would pass the H & S requirements to play except one, and that was Coll. Their lights have been up 2 seasons..
I'm surprised the additional lights have been up for 2 years.

The criticism wasn't only about the amount of lighting but the direction of some of them.

I'm surprised the additional lights have been up for 2 years.

The criticism wasn't only about the amount of lighting but the direction of some of them.
I'm glad that De La won in the end. Having played under lights before, it is a massive advantage to the home team as they train twice a week at that ground under lights. Unless the VAFA can get sportscover up to scratch with some solid lighting, I think that we should stick to day games. Having said that, I do see the positives to the clubs but not to the players.

Cant quite agree. Every club plays under lights in winter when training x 2 a week. They are probably all pretty much of the same standard (except Coll). I realy cant see one club with a "home ground" advantage. To get genuine equality, more games should be played under lights, spread the facility.

FWIW I have been told the Orrong Hotel is happy to sponsor any night games going forward......

Firstly, it is definitely a home ground advantage. If it is a home ground advantage for day games, then it is even more so at night.
Secondly, it's amatuer football for a reason. I know the heads of clubs and fans support night footy because of the revenue and exposure etc. But I'd be asking the players before you go and making it a consistent part of the fixture.
I guess if it's only one game a year per team, then that would be great but at the moment they would all have to be played at collegians.

Firstly, it is definitely a home ground advantage. If it is a home ground advantage for day games, then it is even more so at night.
Secondly, it's amatuer football for a reason. I know the heads of clubs and fans support night footy because of the revenue and exposure etc. But I'd be asking the players before you go and making it a consistent part of the fixture.
I guess if it's only one game a year per team, then that would be great but at the moment they would all have to be played at collegians.

You have contradicted yourself...Its home ground advantage because Xavs are playing at Toorak Park, its the Ground, NOT the LIghting.
Everyone plays there fair share at home, (that represents home ground advant) bang the lights on, bounce the ball and play footy.

The players love friday night footy as it frees up their weekends. The Committee make football policy, not the playing group, sure they may have an opinion but thats all. The tail shouldnt wag the dog...

Theres nothing amateur when Xavs spend $400,000 approx to run their club.
Same rules apply as per alcohol sales re revenue. Nothing sold during the game. Still strictly controlled. After the game is another issue.

On what I saw Saturday night if that is the best they can do then forget about playing night games at TP as they were not up to scratch. However if the lighting can be improved by re-aligning the lamps, as has been suggested, then night games at the venue are certainly viable. Might however pay to do some testing before hand rather than just flicking the switch and discovering that parts of the crowd are illuminated better than the playing surface.

Whether playing under lights provides any additional advantage beyond a normal home game is open to debate but I can assure you that lights are not “all pretty much of the same standard”. While I have never seen the lights at Harry Trott I believe they are excellent and while TPs may not be as good, they are vastly superior to what De La and most other clubs have. There is not a chance in hell we could play a competitive night game at De La and training is very restricted to the areas of the ground that are well lit.

And while Collegians players might love Friday nights I know for a fact that not all do. A lot of tradies at our club and the last thing they want to do is play football after being on the tools all day.

You have contradicted yourself...Its home ground advantage because Xavs are playing at Toorak Park, its the Ground, NOT the LIghting.
Everyone plays there fair share at home, (that represents home ground advant) bang the lights on, bounce the ball and play footy.

The players love friday night footy as it frees up their weekends. The Committee make football policy, not the playing group, sure they may have an opinion but thats all. The tail shouldnt wag the dog...

Theres nothing amateur when Xavs spend $400,000 approx to run their club.
Same rules apply as per alcohol sales re revenue. Nothing sold during the game. Still strictly controlled. After the game is another issue.

Don't think that I did. I meant that the lighting would add to the home ground advantage, but you don't have to agree with that, just my playing opinion/experience. If TP was well lit, then this would be less of an issue.

Wasn't the game on a Saturday night? That certainly does not free up your weekend.

I know that the running of a top tier club is not "amateur". A lot of hard work and money goes into it. I meant that players play Ammo's so that they can play with their mates on a Saturday afternoon and enjoy a couple of beers after the game. It's just my opinion, but I think that too many night fixture games wouldn't be good for the comp.

Don't think that I did. I meant that the lighting would add to the home ground advantage, but you don't have to agree with that, just my playing opinion/experience. If TP was well lit, then this would be less of an issue.

Wasn't the game on a Saturday night? That certainly does not free up your weekend.

I know that the running of a top tier club is not "amateur". A lot of hard work and money goes into it. I meant that players play Ammo's so that they can play with their mates on a Saturday afternoon and enjoy a couple of beers after the game. It's just my opinion, but I think that too many night fixture games wouldn't be good for the comp.

WG, thats cool, fair enough...

Dont know how many night fixtures are listed for this season. I know everyone has an opinion but if they were listed for a friday, it would leave the weekends free for the players.From my limited exp. the players were up for the friday. Rooster has his thoughts on this and they are also valid.

WG, thats cool, fair enough...

Dont know how many night fixtures are listed for this season. I know everyone has an opinion but if they were listed for a friday, it would leave the weekends free for the players.From my limited exp. the players were up for the friday. Rooster has his thoughts on this and they are also valid.
Can agree that Friday night would be the go if it were to happen more often