A Section Premier 2016

Pick of the round for mine is the workers versus the toffs at Waverley Park.

Hopefully the week off will enable De La to get a few back turning it into a contest against the re-energised Skobbers.

Maplebet had the Skobbers slight favourites last time I looked.
I heard Maplebet has called in Admin

Hopefully the week off will enable De La to get a few back turning it into a contest against the re-energised Skobbers.

Just goes to show you know nothing if you refer to SKOB as Toffs, what a ridiculous thing to say.

FWIW that scummy working class from Malvern East! ;)

I thought for a second that you had better things to do than just constantly abuse people on this thread, clearly I was wrong.
I really take issue with your comment. What in the world made you think he had anything better to do?

As to the footy, glad it is back. Looks to me like this week's results will go with ladder positions which will leave the last two weeks to decide the order of the top 4 and still have relegation a possibility for a few teams. I reckon 3 teams, Skobs, Coll and Bernards will all finish the season on 7 wins and Bernards will go down on % in a pretty tough result.

Okay! Toorak Toffs v Meager Malverners. :)

Hopefully De La will get a few back and can give the toffs a run for their money - so to speak.;)

Unfortunately that is not likely AM. I expect less than half of the 22 who played SKOBs in Rd 1 will be running out this week. While top end talent is important, it is often about the quality of your bottom 6 and we have been horribly exposed in the second half of the year.

That's disappointing JJ. Injuries or other matters?

A heap of injuries and a few travellers. All clubs cop it at some point but sadly it has derailed what was a promising season. Need to bullet proof your list through depth and ours has been found wanting.

Heard today over a parma and pot that Carey had 5 guys injured badly last week at Uni. 2 knees and 3 ankles. All due to feet getting stuck in mud and not moving when tackled. Carey furious and demanding that the ground be no longer used until the situation is fixed. Terrible year just got worse for the Panthers. May get ugly against the Xavernauts tomorrow...

Bit late now as the damage already done. The playing surface has been a pig sty for years but the VAFA has not had the plums to intervene. Can’t blame the home clubs as only natural they would want to play at a familiar venue but oppo clubs have been asking for action for years.

While some old timers (and I fit into that category) might lament no longer playing in bog heaps, times have changed. We have progressed from one umpire, king hits behind play, 19th and 20th men etc and should now have at least a reasonable playing surface.

One of the most promising young players at our club sustained a serious injury on that deck due to ankle deep mud in 2013 and has not played since.

Bit late now as the damage already done. The playing surface has been a pig sty for years but the VAFA has not had the plums to intervene. Can’t blame the home clubs as only natural they would want to play at a familiar venue but oppo clubs have been asking for action for years.

While some old timers (and I fit into that category) might lament no longer playing in bog heaps, times have changed. We have progressed from one umpire, king hits behind play, 19th and 20th men etc and should now have at least a reasonable playing surface.

One of the most promising young players at our club sustained a serious injury on that deck due to ankle deep mud in 2013 and has not played since.
Spot on Rooster. They build state of art facilities but the ground surface remains a shit heap. And the powers that be are fully cognisant of the issue yet, for all in tents and purposes, just sit on their hands.

Panthers put in a written complaint re Uni Oval. Lost 3 players in our last game to ankle and knee injuries attributed to the muddy surface. Understand the usage issue with the Uni and many teams and Clubs calling the oval "Home" but a time needs to be allocated to grow a tougher grass that is more durable for the usage.

We were due! However seems too little too late. I expect that over the next fortnight the playing stocks we be bolstered significantly so disappointing we have been ordinary for the last 5 weeks.

Stonnington Police have issued an APB for Brian Speaking. Last seen several weeks ago challenging suspensions and inciting violence, but recently rumoured to have had his tongue tied and/or head chopped off (non-ISIS style)

Jon Edgar was apparently interviewed by the CIU but denied any involvement in the demise of the most notorious VAFA BF poster.

We were due! However seems too little too late. I expect that over the next fortnight the playing stocks we be bolstered significantly so disappointing we have been ordinary for the last 5 weeks.

It could have been a completely different story if SKOBS had kicked straight in the first quarter. Alas it was not and De La played the rest of the game on their terms.

Very nice to do the double over our local rivals. I did keep an eye out for Brian but he was nowhere to be seen or did he jog on post qtr time?

It could have been a completely different story if SKOBS had kicked straight in the first quarter. Alas it was not and De La played the rest of the game on their terms.

Very nice to do the double over our local rivals. I did keep an eye out for Brian but he was nowhere to be seen or did he jog on post qtr time?

De La managed 5.3 into a pretty stiff breeze GY and had the same amount of scoring shots as the visitors. About 3 or 4 rushed so even if SKOB managed 4.4 instead of 1.7 it was not enough. Sometimes adversity means you are forced to try other options and interesting that SKOB were carved up early in attack by two players in particualar - one is a kid who played the first 14 rounds in the ressies and the other is one of the competitions best defenders.

Ironic also that a young kid who finished his schooling at St Kevins on a scholarship was very prominent in the blue and gold. Also has has a twin who is smokey to get drafted. In the rush to sign elite talent sometimes you miss those right under your nose. For balance a SKOBs debutant impressed on Saturday who spent a couple of years at De La before getting a scholarship at, I believe, Camberwell Grammar. Not sure how he landed at T.H King but he looks a player. We might have a chop at him next year!

In fairness to SKOBS when you can neither make finals and relegation is unlikely it can be sometimes difficult to get motivated. They are a better team than what they dished up Saturday.

[QUOTE="
In fairness to SKOBS when you can neither make finals and relegation is unlikely it can be sometimes difficult to get motivated. They are a better team than what they dished up Saturday.[/QUOTE]
They might be a bit more motivated now or a week from now. Bernards v Blacks is a massive game for both ends of the ladder. If Bernards win (which I reckon they just might in the time-honoured tradition of desperate sides doing desperate things), suddenly De La looks the goods for finals and it might just be a relegation battle in round 18. Around an 89 point differential between Skobs and Bernards right now, but that could turn. Bernards did themselves no favors with Saturday's scoreline.

Huge games for OX from now on.

Thankfully the boring rounds are over.