Premier A - 2013

I would say the Yze tie is not strong. D.Yze would be coming to the end of his career and would be looking for some coin after the work fell through. Ammos can offer work but not stand alone coin.
That said, he was good for Carey last year winning the Ammos Coleman. Not saying Carey would have gone down without him, but a very handy 1 year player when the FF and CHF had season ending injuries early on.

When you have Jarrod Reid coming back from injury l would say he more than compensates for D. Yze. Yze may have won goalkicking but there was not a lot of chase and tackle in his game. 50+ goals a good return but l think the ball went in another 100 times and went straight out again. Reid is an awseome tackler you are gone when he gets hold of you.
Cam Jones returning too. i think Panthers biggest "ins" are their injured players and VFL players returning full t

When you have Jarrod Reid coming back from injury l would say he more than compensates for D. Yze. Yze may have won goalkicking but there was not a lot of chase and tackle in his game. 50+ goals a good return but l think the ball went in another 100 times and went straight out again. Reid is an awseome tackler you are gone when he gets hold of you.
Cam Jones returning too. i think Panthers biggest "ins" are their injured players and VFL players returning full t

Would have to agree with that. Yze is beautiful kick and averaged his 3 or so goals a game from minimal possessions. Would not be too many goal assists and as mentioned not too many tackles. I don’t think they will lose much by his absence to be honest.

Some good ins at OC Carlton but what about some of the other rumoured departures. Rowe possibly your best player after Howitt and Evans and Fiorenzo both quality players. Any decent youngsters in the mix?

Would have to agree with that. Yze is beautiful kick and averaged his 3 or so goals a game from minimal possessions. Would not be too many goal assists and as mentioned not too many tackles. I don’t think they will lose much by his absence to be honest.

Some good ins at OC Carlton but what about some of the other rumoured departures. Rowe possibly your best player after Howitt and Evans and Fiorenzo both quality players. Any decent youngsters in the mix?

i hear Rowe to Port, Evans retired due to work, Fiorenza back to where he came from. Obviously the Yze x 2.
But as mentioned several returning plus recruits new coach has brought with him.
Not sure about talent from Unders but several got a shot in Seniors last season.
Looking forward to a great season with continued improvement from the Panthers.

His old school side? Do you think he will care? He is nearly 40, he probably doesn't even remember those days and I guarantee non of his school mates will be playing against him!

I agree if you look at his past 2 years stats....nothing to get excited about!
http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_i...192290229&client=1-3922-48435-202784-10423081

And here is Ben Considine....lol http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_i...192294795&client=1-3922-48420-202784-16719986

...and Simon Clarke is 31, their forward line will be the oldest in VAFA history, even older than ours (OH)! Not too much forward pressure being applied one wouldn't think.

The thinking at Bernard's is - they have some real quality young kids and quality guys aged in their early 20's. They lacked quality in that 25 - 29 year age group. Experienced men who really benefit those guys aged 23 years and below. Of the players listed on your thread here......

Bentick is 28. Pratt is 25. Considine is 23 - and a much better player than you guys give him credit for. He will play 1sts. Clarke at 31 is as good as a 28 year old fitness wise, is versatile and can play. Harvey is quality - and granted is 34, but he adds smarts to the playing group and will end his career where it started, back at Bernard's.

Add in 1-2 others Bernard's will reveal come February 1st (no big names, but solid gets), and knowing they have not lost many at all from the 2012 team that came back to Premier and stayed there, and the feeling at Bernard's is that they are confident they will be very competitive in season 2013.

Time will tell.

The thinking at Bernard's is - they have some real quality young kids and quality guys aged in their early 20's. They lacked quality in that 25 - 29 year age group. Experienced men who really benefit those guys aged 23 years and below. Of the players listed on your thread here......

Bentick is 28. Pratt is 25. Considine is 23 - and a much better player than you guys give him credit for. He will play 1sts. Clarke at 31 is as good as a 28 year old fitness wise, is versatile and can play. Harvey is quality - and granted is 34, but he adds smarts to the playing group and will end his career where it started, back at Bernard's.

Add in 1-2 others Bernard's will reveal come February 1st (no big names, but solid gets), and knowing they have not lost many at all from the 2012 team that came back to Premier and stayed there, and the feeling at Bernard's is that they are confident they will be very competitive in season 2013.

Time will tell.

Was very imprerssed with the Bernies Junior program as it was explained to me at their pre match lunch last year and how much emphasis the hierachy put into it. A few older heads will not hurt the Senior team at all.

Bring on February so we can see who has signed who. Intersting day to day reading

Was very imprerssed with the Bernies Junior program as it was explained to me at their pre match lunch last year and how much emphasis the hierachy put into it. A few older heads will not hurt the Senior team at all.

Bring on February so we can see who has signed who. Intersting day to day reading
No-one rivals (our) De La's junior programme. From what I have heard Bernies will be pushing up daisies at the bottom end of the ladder along with Beauy and Uni Blacks.

St Bernards 19s program is the equal of De La and Xavs and I reckon they will start 2013 as flag favourites in the unders. While they haven’t had the recent success of DLS they put an enormous amount of effort in to their juniors and it will sustain them in ‘A’ grade for years to come. I’m tipping St Bernards will be on cusp of the four, maybe just missing out due to the quality of the competition. Don’t underestimate Beauy or Blacks either. Won’t be any easy games in 'A' grade this year.

Re Leigh Brown – A huge inclusion for Blacks if he plays but I’m not a fan of AFL assistants rolling out for the occasional game. Don’t know that it really does much for the fabric of a club.

i hear Rowe to Port, Evans retired due to work, Fiorenza back to where he came from. Obviously the Yze x 2.
But as mentioned several returning plus recruits new coach has brought with him.
Not sure about talent from Unders but several got a shot in Seniors last season.
Looking forward to a great season with continued improvement from the Panthers.
WHo are the EFL recruits? I dont think any names have been mentioned. Rowe, Evans,Yze,Fiorenza are big losses, Rowe huge. Peterson, Crozier, Reid, and Jones may cancel those out, but the added improvement for finals still seems to be missing. They will need more to push into the top four with the possibility of Bernies and Blues also improving and Blacks and Beauy potentially stronger than Caulfield offered last year. On that topic ,Blacks will however need more than an occasional Leigh Brown i feel.

We havent had any tips for a while so ill give the ball a kick and hopefully get it rolling

Premiership Xavs
Contenders Xavs,Scotch, De La,Blues maybe Old Carey
Sliders Collegians. Im sure i will get egg on my face here, however they are losing a fair bit of their elite reportedly

Relegation Tigers,Blacks

WHo are the EFL recruits? I dont think any names have been mentioned. Rowe, Evans,Yze,Fiorenza are big losses, Rowe huge. Peterson, Crozier, Reid, and Jones may cancel those out, but the added improvement for finals still seems to be missing. They will need more to push into the top four with the possibility of Bernies and Blues also improving and Blacks and Beauy potentially stronger than Caulfield offered last year. On that topic ,Blacks will however need more than an occasional Leigh Brown i feel.

We havent had any tips for a while so ill give the ball a kick and hopefully get it rolling

Premiership Xavs
Contenders Xavs,Scotch, De La,Blues maybe Old Carey
Sliders Collegians. Im sure i will get egg on my face here, however they are losing a fair bit of their elite reportedly

Relegation Tigers,Blacks

Bloody tough making predictions this time of year so well done for having a crack. Wouldn’t mind having another go once clearances open and lists take shape.

I reckon this will be the most even comp for years and anyone could jump out of the pack.

Premiers: Blues. If all those big names recruits play most of the year and they remain fit and healthy they will be very hard to beat. Loaded with big names and talent.
Runner Up: Xavs. An already strong list. Dont seem to have lost any players of note and as always will add some quality.
Contenders: Collegians. Even with a few losses have a quality list and good depth.
De La. Rumoured departures grossly exaggerated. Good depth and the best young players in the comp. A few decent recruits and they will be thereabouts again.
Old Carey. A strong list and probably should have seen September action last year. Top end exceptional but depth a worry.
Scotch. Took enormously strides last year and on their day were near unbeatable. Not much news out of Camberwell. Any losses or additions of note?

Relegation. A very tough call and this could seriously come back to bite. Will depend on how many home games they win at home but in a very even season St Bedes and Beauy to play B grade in 2014.

This thread is finally heating up. Plenty of speculation and innuendo but I guess we won't know until the season starts.

My predictions are:

Scotch - to finally break hoodoo with very good coaches and at long last more moderate peace among board members. Could the Bull brothers and Troon return??
Uni Blues - Their list of stars recruited must make some difference but the loss of Somers may make the difference come grand final day.
Collegians - have lost a few quality but core remains in tack. List is getting picked off by rivals given success.
Xavs - always thereabouts and you never know in finals. Change in coach may provide the impetus needed but key position losses will hurt.
Carey - will probably break even from gains and losses over the summer.
De La - Hard to replace Eddy, Pickett, Kelliher, Moloney, Shields, Harrison. Croad to steady the ship but hasn't played since 2008. How long can they have the best young list? At some stage you have to have the best list and time has been ticking.
St Bedes - Very proud player group and hard to beat at home. A lot depends on Wintles playing.
St Bernards - Their ins appear to be solid players but need some grunt and speed around the middle. Need a few things to go right for them.
Beauie and Blacks to fight it out for with Bedes and Bernards for relegation. Always an intriguing battle throughout the year.

This thread is finally heating up. Plenty of speculation and innuendo but I guess we won't know until the season starts.

My predictions are:

Scotch - to finally break hoodoo with very good coaches and at long last more moderate peace among board members. Could the Bull brothers and Troon return??
Uni Blues - Their list of stars recruited must make some difference but the loss of Somers may make the difference come grand final day.
Collegians - have lost a few quality but core remains in tack. List is getting picked off by rivals given success.
Xavs - always thereabouts and you never know in finals. Change in coach may provide the impetus needed but key position losses will hurt.
Carey - will probably break even from gains and losses over the summer.
De La - Hard to replace Eddy, Pickett, Kelliher, Moloney, Shields, Harrison. Croad to steady the ship but hasn't played since 2008. How long can they have the best young list? At some stage you have to have the best list and time has been ticking.St Bedes - Very proud player group and hard to beat at home. A lot depends on Wintles playing.
St Bernards - Their ins appear to be solid players but need some grunt and speed around the middle. Need a few things to go right for them.
Beauie and Blacks to fight it out for with Bedes and Bernards for relegation. Always an intriguing battle throughout the year.

Fair comment re De La but - I’m hearing Pickett is a starter and maybe even Shields. Harrison still undecided but reality is he is 30 plus coming off a knee reco. Kelliher and Moloney have played only a handful of games between them in the last 2 seasons. Eddy a VFL player and no more of a loss to us than other VFL players who make the odd guest appearance.

Not sure JJ suggested they had the best list but always turn out great young players. Have probably lacked the ‘big name’ that some of the others clubs attract and maybe Croad will fill that void.

Scotch for Premiers? Interesting call but not beyond the realms. Don’t think you will see Bull and to be honest Troon would add little. Heard in the off-season that Passador and Houlihan might be retiring? Anyone able to confirm or deny?

http://leader.newspaperdirect.com/e...0/cc0fcc38-3853-4ec8-9efe-fe8e47ffb840/3/true

De La has an excellent development program and certainly wiped the floor with our 19's in last years prelim. our development program has come on in leaps and bounds - and i am sure our 2013 side will also be competitive. But NOT flag favourites. de La Xavs and St Bedes will all be very very strong again. i am very happy though for anybody from De La and any other Premier team to under estimate Bernard's in 2013. You will do so at your peril - and Blacks have recruited very well from what we hear. They will be strong and they understand what Premier footy is about.

Looks like some good short term players there for St Bernards, but Danny Byrne will not play as he already had a send off by the Snowdogs late last year. Tankard is talking through his hat trying to sell that one. Will this team have the most over 30's in the comp?
The under 19 comp looks a ripper this year with our local rival having their team up in the premier division, I think they have won three of the last four APS flags.
I am very confident that De La will be amongst it in both premier divisions this year, I think Xavs will be a slider and blues will go the way of St Bernards, recruiting too many old has beens.

Looks like some good short term players there for St Bernards, but Danny Byrne will not play as he already had a send off by the Snowdogs late last year. Tankard is talking through his hat trying to sell that one. Will this team have the most over 30's in the comp?
The under 19 comp looks a ripper this year with our local rival having their team up in the premier division, I think they have won three of the last four APS flags.
I am very confident that De La will be amongst it in both premier divisions this year, I think Xavs will be a slider and blues will go the way of St Bernards, recruiting too many old has beens.
Too old has beens? Bentick is 28 and would still be a gun VFL player if not for his work commitments. Pratt is 25, Considine is 23. Clarke is 31 and is no has been. So you will eat your words.

I'm not looking to eat my words or offend you, but I have heard of some mega recruits on the grapevine that could put yours to shame.
Don't know much about Pratt and Considine, although if you are pinning your hopes on him you may be a little misplaced. Bentick is good but injury prone and Clarke is 31, the issue is that every other club in Premier is doing the same thing, so you would be a little silly thinking you are going to dominate. Personally the scariest player in the comp IMO will be the ex Sandy Zebras captain at Uni Blues, hits hard and is a monster.

I'm not looking to eat my words or offend you, but I have heard of some mega recruits on the grapevine that could put yours to shame.
Don't know much about Pratt and Considine, although if you are pinning your hopes on him you may be a little misplaced. Bentick is good but injury prone and Clarke is 31, the issue is that every other club in Premier is doing the same thing, so you would be a little silly thinking you are going to dominate. Personally the scariest player in the comp IMO will be the ex Sandy Zebras captain at Uni Blues, hits hard and is a monster.
Fair cop - we can get rapt up in what we are doing, and as you say, we are doing what every other club is doing. I am also pinning my hopes on the improvement in the large majority of our playing list, whose average age is 22, and who will get better again. Bring on 2013.

University Blues have signed Ross Young from perth. Played with the uni blues a few years back. Also won a Sandover medal in the WAFL. i would not want to be coming up agaimst that midfield with he and ex carlton, crows and sandy skip david Gallagher also in there. Will be pretty unstoppable. especially with nik smith rucking to them.

Mercy! How are you supposed to stop a team that has recruited Gilbee, Smith, Young and Gallagher? All players with AFL experience that still have plenty to offer. Add that quartet to Watts, Prendergast, Nash (if he stays) etc and they look close to unbackable as flag favourites. If Sommers plays we might as well hand over the silverware now!

Would like to know how they managed to recruit 4 ex AFL blokes in the one season. Must have some decent networks and connections down at the uni.

Premier A - 2013