Premier A 2014

I don't think you argument re Xavs makes sense. Collegians 5-5 are the kind of team they are chasing to finish 4th. If Xavs are way off it, then Coll must be way way off it meaning there's only a few teams, some Coll have beaten, that stand between them and not being off it.

Xavs might be only 2 ganes fron the 4, but to be brutaly honest, on last weeks performance they are a million miles
away miles off the top pace. For a Club lauded with so much depth (read earlier posts where we had this point rammed down our throats) through their teams the defeat of their seconds to Collegs last sat is a reality indicator as to where they realy are. Sure their 1sts won,
but realy they were ordinary against a more ordinary team in Collegs.
Telling game this week against Scotch who were impressive against Blacks. A win this week would suggest Xavs aren't out of the hunt for 4th possy.

I don't think you argument re Xavs makes sense. Collegians 5-5 are the kind of team they are chasing to finish 4th. If Xavs are way off it, then Coll must be way way off it meaning there's only a few teams, some Coll have beaten, that stand between them and not being off it.

Thats exactly what Im saying....Coll ARE way off it! Sure Xavs won, but gee they were ordinary. Maybe wrong, but I cant see Xavs beating OS, Beauy, Bern, UB, OT and maybe Bedes at home.

Despite dropping a few games each only 3 teams (UB, OT & StB) with any sort of consistent form line. From what I have seen Scotch the best of a chasing pack and seem the only other team with the personnel capable of troubling the top 3 teams. On paper they are a strong unit but seem to drop games you might expect them to win. Still my tip for 4th spot. 2 games and a big % is a lot for Xavs to make up in 8 rounds. FF is right - Collegians (with DLS & Beaumaris) up and down from week to week and very reliant on a handful of players.

Massive game for St Bedes this week. If they drop this game at home to De La they will be 3 games behind them and surely in big strife.

Goss to Essendon posted last Friday with some other clearance news. Coming back from injury so would expect he will play a few games for OX.

Despite dropping a few games each only 3 teams (UB, OT & StB) with any sort of consistent form line. From what I have seen Scotch the best of a chasing pack and seem the only other team with the personnel capable of troubling the top 3 teams. On paper they are a strong unit but seem to drop games you might expect them to win. Still my tip for 4th spot. 2 games and a big % is a lot for Xavs to make up in 8 rounds. FF is right - Collegians (with DLS & Beaumaris) up and down from week to week and very reliant on a handful of players.

Massive game for St Bedes this week. If they drop this game at home to De La they will be 3 games behind them and surely in big strife.

Goss to Essendon posted last Friday with some other clearance news. Coming back from injury so would expect he will play a few games for OX.

Having said that Rooster, OS seem to win when they get their VFL players in. more so than it seems than for any other team. When out, they struggle. Will these players have played enough games to qualify come finals time??? Be interesting if not.

Agree FF. How many VFL players do they actually have on their list? Jamieson seems to have played most of the year with Scotch and you would expect he would easily qualify. Others such as Barlow may not. They do have a good spread of talent and on paper look like a reasonable side. In fact based on playing stocks they have looked like a strong team for years but can’t seem to take the next step. I’m certainly not tipping them for the flag but reckon they will do enough to take 4th position.

R, definitely make the 4. They are the biggest non achievers in the Ammos and have been for years. 2014 ????? only time will tell.

Scotch have the best big man in Premier, an excellent ffwd - they just need to bring their A game through the midfield against the better sides AND the weaker sides, and they are capable of being right amongst it. Problem for them is they are 5 and 5 - and so need to be really consistent from here to the end of the Home and Away season.

After having a "crack" at them, I think its between OS, Bernies and UB. Cant see OT matching it with them all the way with Beauy already
on a terminal slide......OB and ???? to go back.

After having a "crack" at them, I think its between OS, Bernies and UB. Cant see OT matching it with them all the way with Beauy already
on a terminal slide......OB and ???? to go back.
With the odds stacked against Old Brighton,I"m not ready just yet to be certain of them going back to prem B.Chances are at the end of this round ,Seven clubs could be within 2 games of each other with Seven rounds still to go.Whats the chances of a round 18 Five way battle for relegation with Percentage being the ultimate demise of both relegated clubs ? Not Likely, and much hinges on this weeks results ,but its possible !

This rounds tips.......fraught with danger.........

Beauie over OB
Scotch over Xavs (should be a great game - can Scotch play 2 great games in a row?)
OT over Bernard's (in a cracker)
Blacks to bounce back against Collegians
St Bede's over De La

With the odds stacked against Old Brighton,I"m not ready just yet to be certain of them going back to prem B.Chances are at the end of this round ,Seven clubs could be within 2 games of each other with Seven rounds still to go.Whats the chances of a round 18 Five way battle for relegation with Percentage being the ultimate demise of both relegated clubs ? Not Likely, and much hinges on this weeks results ,but its possible !

Demo........who do you envisage OB defeating between now and the end of the year, taking into account
their "away" games?

This rounds tips.......fraught with danger.........

Beauie over OB
Scotch over Xavs (should be a great game - can Scotch play 2 great games in a row?)
OT over Bernard's (in a cracker)
Blacks to bounce back against Collegians
St Bede's over De La

I'll take:

Beauy v Brighton
SBMT v DLS
Blacks v Collegians
Bernards
v Trinity
Xavs v Scotch

Demo........who do you envisage OB defeating between now and the end of the year, taking into account
their "away" games?
At the moment who O/B beat past this weeks game against Beauy is not as important as winning this game.Just say for arguments sake that,OB,SBMT,Blacks and xavs all win this week.Maybe then OB can rally a few games together and who knows, find a bit more incentive to stay up.Should Beauy beat them this week then really it probably wont matter.I dont give a great deal of value to away games as a given loss,my theory has always been if you want to win then you can win anywhere (if your good enough).Lets just see who turns up to play this week firstly,and then the rest of the season later.

rumours are some big ins for the snowdogs this week... can anyone confirm?? Merrington and Jones?? Do they have any other good forwards??
Scotchies v Xavs... any news on ins or outs?
Beauy v Brighton
SBMT v DLS
Blacks v Collegians
Bernards v Trinity
Xavs v Scotch

I'll take:

Beauy v Brighton
SBMT v DLS
Blacks v Collegians
Bernards
v Trinity
Xavs v Scotch

Beauy v Bright (Beauy cant afford to drop)
SBMT v DLS ( Home ground only reason)
Blacks v Coll ( Coll to many "outs", Blacks rebound = a diaster)
Bernys v Trinity ( What a shocking place to play footy)
Scotch v Xavs (Xavs ordinary last week, OS? depends who from VFL... Toss a coin realy.

At the moment who O/B beat past this weeks game against Beauy is not as important as winning this game.Just say for arguments sake that,OB,SBMT,Blacks and xavs all win this week.Maybe then OB can rally a few games together and who knows, find a bit more incentive to stay up.Should Beauy beat them this week then really it probably wont matter.I dont give a great deal of value to away games as a given loss,my theory has always been if you want to win then you can win anywhere (if your good enough).Lets just see who turns up to play this week firstly,and then the rest of the season later.

Brighton still has some of their best players away and don’t get them back for a few more weeks. Can’t see them getting near the sharks tomorrow but you just never know. Only game that you might pencil them in for in the run home is St Bedes at the beach. They might fancy themselves against De La but at home the bellers are a solid unit having beaten 2 teams in the 4 on their home deck. As such can only see OB winning 1 or 2 more games at best and they look gone for mine. Could be joined by any one of 4 other teams for the 2nd relegation spot. If St Bedes lose this week at home they would be in serious trouble. If they win then pressure back on De La, OX and even Collegians. Once a again a tight competition which keeps interest going right up until the last round.

Comment re St Bernards forwards. Bernies have plenty of talent up forward. IMO Merrington way past his best but Jones a real handful. Straight out of the WAFL with AFL experience. Capable of taking teams apart and will kick a bag at some stage.

Brighton still has some of their best players away and don’t get them back for a few more weeks. Can’t see them getting near the sharks tomorrow but you just never know. Only game that you might pencil them in for in the run home is St Bedes at the beach. They might fancy themselves against De La but at home the bellers are a solid unit having beaten 2 teams in the 4 on their home deck. As such can only see OB winning 1 or 2 more games at best and they look gone for mine. Could be joined by any one of 4 other teams for the 2nd relegation spot. If St Bedes lose this week at home they would be in serious trouble. If they win then pressure back on De La, OX and even Collegians. Once a again a tight competition which keeps interest going right up until the last round.

Comment re St Bernards forwards. Bernies have plenty of talent up forward. IMO Merrington way past his best but Jones a real handful. Straight out of the WAFL with AFL experience. Capable of taking teams apart and will kick a bag at some stage.

Any names for me Rooster? Surely this will be Merringtons last year?

Bernies an impressive unit mate. Plenty of depth at the club, which is vital to 'A' grade success. When we played them Sullivan and Bentick were a real handful and Caven is one of the best defenders in the comp. While they have some standouts their consistency across the whole team is why they are traveling as well as they are. I can only judge Merrington on what I have seen in the last 2 years and he has battled against us. Was obviously a good player in his day but Jones the main man these days and Gleeson is a dangerous forward and consistent goal kicker.

Saw Xavs blow Scotch out of the park in a great 3rd quarter display at the College. 4.9 vs 1.1 meant that Scotch were still in it at 3/4 time. Think we may have seen the team most likely to finish 4th and do some serious damage. Lethers seems to be working some magic here.

Saw Bernards dismantle Trinity after half time - and speaking to a supporter they had Chivers, Cooke, Mcleod, Josh and Luke Madden out.....all in sides best 22 apparently.....so Xavs will get the chance to show how good they are in round 13 at the snakepit.

Will be a ripper. On paper, you'd say Xavs, but Snowdogs can play the pit well!

On paper Xavs? What paper are you looking at? St Bernards near unbeatable at the pit and will win comfortably for mine.

Reading the names starting to show up on the Xavs team sheet. They are starting to get a good team together. For mine, on paper, player for player...more talented than any other. Time will tell.