Premier A 2014

Interesting situation from Round 1

Beauy playing in Premier B Thirds played their 1st game a week prior to the Premier A games.

They won the Premier B Thirds game easily, but some of those players then played in the 1st round of Premier A Reserves.

Simply put, can players play in the 1st round of the season in two separate teams?

There is no issue, as Beauy lost their the reserves game, so they can't lose any points.

Just needing some clarifiaction.

Max

De La are shot ducks, years of depth has deserted them and the playing group has had significant changes on top of a new game style from a new coach. They have not fielded a Club XVIII side this year and from reports if they don't get a thirds team up this week they will pull the pin on that also. It's a shame for such a proud club, but all clubs go through rebuilding phases, this one might just take longer than you would expect. No yo-yo this time.

Last weeks AF said that 28 players who played senior football for De La in 2013 have gone which confirms earlier post quoting that number at around 30. That is a massive hole to fill but still a bit early to be writing them off. OB obviously in trouble losing 2 home games to clubs that you might expect will be in the bottom half. De La has some top class players (S.Williams, Humphrey, Fieldsend and few others) but as you rightly point out the depth is gone. You are only as good as your bottom 6 - 8 and that will find them out against the better teams.

However not all gloom and doom. I hear the coach is ripper and is very highly rated. Their 3rds are back from the dead and they have big numbers of u19s and easily filling 2 teams. Withdrawal of Clubbies was more to do with losing their second ground (Darling park) for the season.

What's happened to jarvis and nankervis? Surely they didnt leave?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Nankeveris hasn’t played for a couple of season – traveling the world and working os I believe. Jarvis injured in the pre-season. Not sure where he is at but hope to see him back in a few weeks. Could sure use them both right now!

Sad to hear. I'm seeing names who once played clubbies because of ability playing twos. The once great depth is gone. Pulling clubbies perhaps in hindsight a bad idea?? Keeps more blokes playing

See above post for reasons clubbies pulled. 6 teams (incl. Supers who play Sunday) and just 1 ground this year so something had to give. Keeps em playing but very few were interested in playing 2s or 3s. Good to see a few of them running around in the 2s this season but a big jump from Club XVIII to Premier Reserve.

You are correct about the depth. Club has some work to do.

Rooster how/why was dp loSt? What happened there? Don't prahran clubbies Play there as well?

See above post for reasons clubbies pulled. 6 teams (incl. Supers who play Sunday) and just 1 ground this year so something had to give. Keeps em playing but very few were interested in playing 2s or 3s. Good to see a few of them running around in the 2s this season but a big jump from Club XVIII to Premier Reserve.

You are correct about the depth. Club has some work to do.

Rooster how/why was dp loSt? What happened there? Don't prahran clubbies Play there as well?

Nothing sinister just the council fixing the drainage, relaying the turf etc. If you had seen the ground in recent years it makes the Uni main in the middle of winter look like a bowling green. With the new pavilion and upgraded playing surface it will be a pretty good venue when completed. But all clubs, including East Malvern juniors, are off it for the season. Prahran clubbies playing at Righetti or Como I believe.

Tips this week:
Beauy v Xavs - in form and while Xavs will be tough to beat, i think Beauy might just scrape over the line.
OB v DLS - just going with the home ground advantage, hard ground to win at
SBMT v OT - OT to hit their first roadblock for the year
Collegians v Bernards - Bernards by 100 points today
Blacks v Scotch - Jamieson back for Scotch this week, plus new players Routman and Bull are starting to fit in nicely. Scotch by 6 goals.

2 from 5....as always, tough tipping early rounds.

Clearly OT's playing good footy and surprising many pundits......OB's struggling......Blacks and Beauie the early pace setters.....

2 from 5....as always, tough tipping early rounds.

Clearly OT's playing good footy and surprising many pundits......OB's struggling......Blacks and Beauie the early pace setters.....
poor tipping nonetheless! Are OB missing any? Not the greatest way to start a promotion. Last yer blacks and Beauy started strongly and OT have this year. Are Brighton weaker, or is there more to it?

As per my comments at the end of last season, OB were always going to struggle in A grade. They are big, strong, tall and slow. Not suited to A-grade football. Having said that, the the bigger taller teams will come into their own towards the end of the year when the smaller, younger, faster teams start to feel the effects of a long season.

That will be the real test for trinity.

didnt hurt uni blacks last yr being tall got them to a prelim

What's going on down there at beauy? Seniors and 19prem undefeated, totally unexpected. Stevie Lawrence must be a breath of fresh air after mifsud

Not entirely. They were 3-0 this time last year. They have kept the majority of their group together and recruited a couple of good players. Lawrence also has good coaching record (Caulfield), but I wouldn't say Misfud was a slouch. Its a long season.

Have to agree. This is not really unexpected. Started well last season and they have recruited some very good players – X. Clarke, McBain, Nash, Cathcart etc. Also credit to them for improving their depth which is really important at this level. Several years of very strong juniors is helping their U19s.

Still a long, long way to go. Despite giving them a 3 game head start I would not be surprised to see Old Xavs still finish higher at seasons end.

Have to agree. This is not really unexpected. Started well last season and they have recruited some very good players – X. Clarke, McBain, Nash, Cathcart etc. Also credit to them for improving their depth which is really important at this level. Several years of very strong juniors is helping their U19s.

Still a long, long way to go. Despite giving them a 3 game head start I would not be surprised to see Old Xavs still finish higher at seasons end.

Mifsud has to be given credit for establishing a number of talented youngsters.However after seeing the Bernards-Beauy 19"s game a couple of weeks ago and a few beauy games last year some obvious differences are.
1/Completely different game plan/Coaching staff
2/Core of last years team still playing this year
3/Far better discipline and on field leadership.
4/Team orientated
Often Beauys Junior program gets credit,(this is not a criticism)perhaps in this instance clever recruiting of 16/17 year olds this and for the past couple of years is under valued.
Combined they are a reasonably talented group The clubs challenge will be to keep them.

OK, I'll have a crack for tomorrows round......Xavs, Blacks, Beauie, Scotch, St. Bedes to take the points this week......

Mifsud has to be given credit for establishing a number of talented youngsters.However after seeing the Bernards-Beauy 19"s game a couple of weeks ago and a few beauy games last year some obvious differences are.
1/Completely different game plan/Coaching staff
2/Core of last years team still playing this year
3/Far better discipline and on field leadership.
4/Team orientated
Often Beauys Junior program gets credit,(this is not a criticism)perhaps in this instance clever recruiting of 16/17 year olds this and for the past couple of years is under valued.
Combined they are a reasonably talented group The clubs challenge will be to keep them.
Similar to your analysis of Beauie, what about Bernard's.........having an excellent start to the season across their 6 teams

2-1 in Prem (with tough assignment tomorrow against Blacks) = solid start early in the season
Ressies and 3rds both undefeated to date and on top = establishing depth?
19 Prem only loss has been to Beauie in quality game and accounted easily for previously undefeated Skevs last week....have another big game tomorrow against undefeated Xavs, but clearly a quality group of youngsters
19 Nth and 18's teams (3 under age teams, wow) also in top 4 of their divisions........

Similar to your analysis of Beauie, what about Bernard's.........having an excellent start to the season across their 6 teams

2-1 in Prem (with tough assignment tomorrow against Blacks) = solid start early in the season
Ressies and 3rds both undefeated to date and on top = establishing depth?
19 Prem only loss has been to Beauie in quality game and accounted easily for previously undefeated Skevs last week....have another big game tomorrow against undefeated Xavs, but clearly a quality group of youngsters
19 Nth and 18's teams (3 under age teams, wow) also in top 4 of their divisions........

Completely unsurprised by the Bernies performance. Most here and beyond had them right in the mix this season. Had a pretty good list last year (probably underachieved) and like Beaumaris have added some real quality. Their 19s have been strong for years so no surprises there. Only knock on them is the ability to beat good sides away from the pit. Would not be surprised if they roll the Blacks at Essendon tomorrow but challenge for them is wining consistently away from home.

Agreed.....I wonder if the Collegians win last week might be the start of something.....I actually think Blacks will be too good tomorrow, even at Bernard's......

Wasnt there but what I understand of the game Collegs wasted ample opportunities to put themselves well and truly in the game
for 95% of the day. Bad kicking is bad footy as everyone will tell you. At the contested ball I believe they more than held their own
until the very end.

Wasnt there but what I understand of the game Collegs wasted ample opportunities to put themselves well and truly in the game
for 95% of the day. Bad kicking is bad footy as everyone will tell you. At the contested ball I believe they more than held their own
until the very end.
That is correct......Collegians no slouches, and that is why I reckon Blacks will be too strong for Bernards......as Blacks smashed Collegians in round 2.....