C Section Premier C - 2012

For what it's worth here are my selections for today's final round of home and away games:

Mazenod vs Parkdale
Monash Blues vs PEGS
Old Camberwell vs Rupertswood
Banyule vs Marcellin
Fitzroy vs Hampton Rovers

Uncle Mick, can't believe the spirit you have at the club. Watching every player on the ground run up to congratulate each goal kicker was phenomenal. One of our coaches spoke to Barnesy before the game and couldn't believe he said he thought he hadn't done a good job. Well, from the spirit I saw on the weekend, he has done a fantastic job. Unfortunately, I think in the seniors the boys had finally had enough - which is expected considering the year. Good luck next year UM - i think you guys will be back sooner rather than later.
Ps: Number 10 in the seniors is a seriously good player.

Cheers yb. As you can imagine Russell was pretty dejected on Saturday. We went into the game with a handful of our kids unavailable due to their school formal the night before. The day only got worse - as the scoreboard showed. He's done a fantastic job with the cattle he was left with and deserves another gig with a club that can provide some onfield success just to prove that what happened at HR was in no part Russell's doing.
As for us, we've got no doubt as a club we're in a great place off the field and will build from here. ET certainly is a player and at 21 will be one of the leaders in the club's onfield resurgence.
As for Fitzroy, I would have to say they are now my flag favourites. Will need to find good match ups for the Parkdale forward line, but if their mids get on top (which I expect they will) it shouldn't be an issue. Besides the scoreline, I had a great first up experience at BSO. Atmosphere was nothing short of sensational. Suburban footy at its best.

Just quickly on last week, some muppet who's been "following Monash for 4 seasons" sent through a pretty damning email to the VAFA about our crowd behaviour last week. I can't understand why the individual wouldn't address the matter with the club before going to the VAFA to let us deal with it inhouse. I wonder if said person will write a letter to the VAFA after one of their own was rubbed out for spitting on Saturday.

Anyway.... good luck to all sides playing finals. Looking fwd to getting along to the ones that are in and around the Bayside area.

Cheers yb. As you can imagine Russell was pretty dejected on Saturday. We went into the game with a handful of our kids unavailable due to their school formal the night before. The day only got worse - as the scoreboard showed. He's done a fantastic job with the cattle he was left with and deserves another gig with a club that can provide some onfield success just to prove that what happened at HR was in no part Russell's doing.
As for us, we've got no doubt as a club we're in a great place off the field and will build from here. ET certainly is a player and at 21 will be one of the leaders in the club's onfield resurgence.
As for Fitzroy, I would have to say they are now my flag favourites. Will need to find good match ups for the Parkdale forward line, but if their mids get on top (which I expect they will) it shouldn't be an issue. Besides the scoreline, I had a great first up experience at BSO. Atmosphere was nothing short of sensational. Suburban footy at its best.

Just quickly on last week, some muppet who's been "following Monash for 4 seasons" sent through a pretty damning email to the VAFA about our crowd behaviour last week. I can't understand why the individual wouldn't address the matter with the club before going to the VAFA to let us deal with it inhouse. I wonder if said person will write a letter to the VAFA after one of their own was rubbed out for spitting on Saturday.

Anyway.... good luck to all sides playing finals. Looking fwd to getting along to the ones that are in and around the Bayside area.

My first ever post on the new format bigfooty!

Very disappointing year for my boys. Still a lot to like at the Frearson, with plenty of youth. We'll bounce back.

Not sure what Mickey is on about but caution is often the best policy when commenting on things that you have no direct knowledge of.

Good luck to all lucky enough to be still going around at this magic time of year. I fancy Parky and Marcellin to go up to B. if so will be an amazing effort from the Vultures who were treading water for a long time.

I love my Roys, I feel a good feeling about them, and I sure reckon they have the goods, but there was a certain acronym floating a round here a couple of seasons back - NWOTV. That's the bugbear we need to shake first. (do you shake a bugbear? spray it? put your hands in the air and yell and appear bigger and noisier than it?). Parkdale have beaten us twice, once by a snippet at their lands, once by several and a half metric miles at our hallowed turf.

if we don't skip through to the big dance this weekend, I have a feeling it might be not be Marcellin we'd have to fend off, the week after.

Anyways, good luck all, bad luck and thanks for the contests to those who have pulled up stops for the comp's season, and see yers back again real soon, to the folks who dropped. HR, meh, many clubs go through that, it's disappointing but you can always come back, especially if the vibe remains and there's any form of a core left. it's like a flippin' kidney ... or is it liver? Best of luck.

Good luck to the teams for this weekend :

Seniors:
1st Semi
Parkdale vs Fitzroy
2nd Semi
Marcellin vs Mazenod

Reserves:
1st Semi
Old Camberwell vs Mazenod
2nd Semi
Fitzroy vs Marcellin

Just watched the game between Parkdale and Fitzroy at Trevor Barker. Parkdale bought a big can of whoop arse to Sandringham and really took the Roy boys apart. After trailing by 9 points at the first break, Parky kicked 15 or 16 unanswered to run out winners by 84 points. The reds did kick two in the last but I think at that stage, Parkdale had taken their foot off the pedal.

Fitzroy will need to step up next week if they are to make it to the GF. Personally, I can't see it happening after todays performance. We shall see.....

Just watched the game between Parkdale and Fitzroy at Trevor Barker. Parkdale bought a big can of whoop arse to Sandringham and really took the Roy boys apart. After trailing by 9 points at the first break, Parky kicked 15 or 16 unanswered to run out winners by 84 points. The reds did kick two in the last but I think at that stage, Parkdale had taken their foot off the pedal.

Fitzroy will need to step up next week if they are to make it to the GF. Personally, I can't see it happening after todays performance. We shall see.....
who kicked all the goals

Oakley only plays in September. Monash offered him free gym membership I believe.... Jock only plays for free James Boags Draught Tinnies..... 1 per sausage roll. Yesterday cost a 6 pack pack. Last years finals series cost closer to a case!

Saturday week could get ugly if the great man comes along with a thirst!

Goes to show what a soft game before finals can do to a side. Fitzroy probably couldn't have played any better than they did last week, however the competition was poor and obviously to their detriment as Parkdale tore them a new one.
Big rumour doing the rounds with regards to Parkdale's coaching on costs. Hope for their sake and the sake of the game it's just a bad rumour from a disgruntled opposition.

Goes to show what a soft game before finals can do to a side. Fitzroy probably couldn't have played any better than they did last week, however the competition was poor and obviously to their detriment as Parkdale tore them a new one.
Big rumour doing the rounds with regards to Parkdale's coaching on costs. Hope for their sake and the sake of the game it's just a bad rumour from a disgruntled opposition.
well tell us what the rumour is

Far from disgruntled. Simply airing a rumour to get clarity. The rumour being that Radford is overcharging Parkdale for his services and that certain players are benefiting from the overs.

Sour grapes. we at Banyule experienced the Parkdale finals juggernaught last year and good luck to them. No one will get near them.

Not at all sour grapes. I actually enjoy seeing the district clubs going well in a schoolboy dominated association. Looking forward to hopefully seeing Beauy sneak into A section next week and good luck to Parky trying to do the same next season. I heard the rumour and thought I'd air it on the premise that I'd prefer to hear it if the same was being said about our club rather than all these backdoor bandits telling anyone who cares to listen.

So Parky are paying players and Radford is the middle man??

Those cunning pricks. I bet their CHB is mowing his lawns for a gorilla each fortnight.

You are a pathetic flog.

I hear they are all on free gym memberships....
Totally outplayed after the first quarter - had no answer to the big forwards. Hopefully, we can get a chance to redeem ourselves in a couple of weeks time.

Thankfully we wont have to put up with Mick's bs on this forum next season. Good luck in D Grade in 2013.

Fresh on the mind would be Rochford up front. Gun.
Barclay from Banyule in a pocket. Jet.
Jayaweera (Mazenod) in the other pocket.
#8 (I think?) from PEGS would be a walk up start on the wing.
Camberwell player off the back flank should get a nod.
Our boy Fletch would be very stiff to miss out. Not often a player gets attention every week in a side that's travelling the way we have.

Fletch is a one man team. He surely couldn't follow the Rovers down to D1 could he? There must be money lurking somewhere for him.

Max. You can play with Mick in D grade in 2014.

That hurts. We may play with you in D Grade in 2014.

One thing I have learned from by 30 years in VAFA, be complimentary in loss and humble in victory.

I don't care which Grade my team plays in, as long as the players and supporters enjoy the environment that the club provides.

Not all clubs will play A Grade. He have and enjoyed it, but it was proven that C Grade is where we belong in 2013.

No complaints, no fingure pointing, just not good enough.

Max "Humble Pie" Leader

That hurts. We may play with you in D Grade in 2014.

One thing I have learned from by 30 years in VAFA, be complimentary in loss and humble in victory.

I don't care which Grade my team plays in, as long as the players and supporters enjoy the environment that the club provides.

Not all clubs will play A Grade. He have and enjoyed it, but it was proven that C Grade is where we belong in 2013.

No complaints, no fingure pointing, just not good enough.

Max "Humble Pie" Leader
Maxxy, ignore and his other alias he registered today. At least when you put your head on your pillow in your million dollar house in Eaglemont tonight and give the old fella an adjust you will be reminded that you don't have small penis syndrome. I'd rather play at Old Ivanhoe with Max than anywhere with 'Ampd Up'(he can't even spell!).
As far as Parky goes, they have done terrifically well considering they have no juniors, it just goes to show what can be done, I don't know how they have done it but as of round one next year they will be in Premier B, well done to both Sam and Josh, great St Kevin's stock!