C Section Premier C - 2012

Gee, I wasn't suggesting anything untoward, just pointing out that the Vultures, who seriously lacked numbers when they were relegated from C in 2010 (barely able to field a 2s team and an uncompetitive U19s side) have bounced back so well through winning D1 and taking what I consider to be a big scalp in rd 1.

Time will tell, but you may well play the Roys more than twice in 2012.

To do so would be a remarkable turnaround from where the club sat 20 months ago.

Just saying....

Yes, an amazing turnaround built on mid 30's players, good luck to them though, although how sustainable it is we shall see. Having said that, Disco Seccull is still running around aged 44 :)
Scribe, great win yesterday, an impressive list you have assembled there at the Barnyard.

Yes, an amazing turnaround built on mid 30's players, good luck to them though, although how sustainable it is we shall see. Having said that, Disco Seccull is still running around aged 44 :)
Scribe, great win yesterday, an impressive list you have assembled there at the Barnyard.
Brian, you are a knob. The team is not built around mid 30's players and i think you'll find a lot of the core group played back in c grade (premier c is crap title) when the side was relegated. There maybe a few guys in their early 30's, not mid as you suggest, but what's wrong with that? The fact is the appointment of Radford as coach was an excellent choice and he has certainly put in the work to improve all the sides not just the senior group.

They should still be in the SFL the way they are going about it, it's disgraceful that they thumb their noses at all the ammo ethos with their posse of hired guns, very very poor form.

Brian,
You really need to do your research a bit more carefully, instead of blasting off the cuff cr#p. I just had a look at Parky's list. The bulk of the team that beat the Reds on Saturday are local and homegrown, with another couple who didn't play for whatever reason. Most in their twenties by the look of it. Sammy Radford brought a few players with him no doubt, but thats what clever recruiting is all about. As for your remark about "hired guns" I suggest you go down to Gerry Green after a game and have wander round. Small suburban club, with good comraderie amongst players / members/ supporters. The essence of a good local footy club I reckon. The players are there because they want to be, not because they're mercenaries. Maybe your club should take a leaf out of their book.

Come on you Parkdale people, you are protesting too much, Brian made it clear in his second post what he was referring too, FWIW most VAFA people have the same thoughts.
Anyway, the proof will be in the pudding in 3-4 years time when the Listin medalists, VFL premiership players and anyone else move on.
Now, can anyone elaborate on Camberwell, Mazenod and the two relegated teams?

Come on you Parkdale people, you are protesting too much, Brian made it clear in his second post what he was referring too, FWIW most VAFA people have the same thoughts.
Anyway, the proof will be in the pudding in 3-4 years time when the Listin medalists, VFL premiership players and anyone else move on.

Nice attempt at deflection but I'd suspect you know plenty about OC already.

Really good game of footy down at Parkdale. The Roys looked like breaking away in the 3rd quarter but to Parkdale's credit they fought back kicking two late goals. I was really impressed at the standard of the game - both team moved the ball better than what I saw last year. Pressure around the stoppages was first rate by both teams.
Fitzroy's ability to run the ball is going to trouble alot of sides while Parkdale have some very handy big guys running about.
Both teams should be very happy with their Round 1 performance.

In regards to Parkdale's team, we seem to always look for a dodegy or underhanded reason why a club can pick themselves up off the floor - instead of saying well done and good luck to them. Its sort of disrespectful to the guys behind the scenes who have worked incredibly hard to get their local club back on track.

Nice attempt at deflection but I'd suspect you know plenty about OC already.
Sorry mate, your comment has gone over my head?
Did anyone see Marcellin on the weekend? It was meant to be doom and gloom for them. Sadly, it looks like Rovers will do it tough this year.
BTW, it's chucking it down here at Hampton, will a wet weekend give teams more of a chance?

Rupo were quick and slick on the weekend. Granted they had it their own way for all but 10mins of footy, they still looked a class act. The twin towers up forward (#8 & #9) will cause plenty of headaches for opposition coaches.

Agreed, whilst the Vultures at Gerry Green is always a tough assignment, the fact a talent laden Roy's outfit couldn't get the points would suggest the rebirth of Parkdale as a serious VAFA force has already commenced.

How they've managed to attract that level of talent to D1, and now Premier C is almost beyond belief, but it will certainly put them in a strong position to challenge for the flag.

Just of of interest, who do Camberwell play this week?

It wouldn't be this "beyond belief" side would it?

That'd be Parkdale, Ron. Glad you finally joined in though. :D

Now that I've landed the BF trifecta, I'm going to enjoy a night in front of the VCR watching Pump-ing Bri-Ron. ;)

Gotcha 'mate'. :thumbsu:

That'd be Parkdale, Ron. Glad you finally joined in though. :D

Now that I've landed the BF trifecta, I'm going to enjoy a night in front of the VCR watching Pump-ing Bri-Ron. ;)

Gotcha 'mate'. :thumbsu:
Damn Scribe, you got me! I have unlimited hours in the day to post under 50 different alias'. Not to mention the fact that as a loyal Saints member for the last 20 years that I have all day to post about....Richmond!!!
Bummer, I'll have to go and start another alias....

Pretty sure he made it clear in his first post with comments like "thumbing their noses at the ammos ethos" and "hired guns". Stupid comments and your treading along the same path.

Why are they stupid comments? Who says they are stupid comments, you? That's your opinion, don't try to force your opinions down my throat.

Scribe, whatever you are smoking get me some!
Oh sorry, just letting my opinion be known. Insinuating Parkdale are going outside the rules is a stupid comment! But apparently you speak on behalf of the vafa so that's ok.

Been a bit quiet here over the past few days, so here are my thoughts for this weeks games:

Round 2.
Monash Blues vs Hampton Rovers Two disappointing losers from Round 1 with the Blues to open their account here.
Old Camberwell vs Parkdale Both opening round winners in close matches and the buzz around the Vultures should see them win again.
PEGGS vs Banyule A super result for the Bears last week in their climb up the grades and should continue this round.
Rupertswood vs Mazenod A big win to the home team last week may not be duplicated this week but they should win anyway.
Fitzroy vs Marcellin The 'Roys were shock losers last round while the Bullen Boys got across the line comfortably, but think the 'Roys open their account here.

Not a good sign for Hampton with their U/17's folding.

Monash
Camberwell
PEGGS
Mazenod
Fitzroy

More bad news for Hampton which is sad. The strength of the junior club was always your greatest asset.
Uncle Mick, can you shed any light on whats happening there at the moment? I am not having a crack at the club in any shape or form but it is quite surprising considering Hampton were a club on the up just a couple of years ago.
A raft of player departures, now the U/17's folding.....it all seems to be going wrong and in such a short space of time?

Not a good sign for Hampton with their U/17's folding.

Monash
Camberwell
PEGGS
Mazenod
Fitzroy

I'm on the same wavelength as you Bedford (and that is a very unusual circumstance). Some fascinating match-ups - really interested to see how Banyule and Parky go tomorrow.

Monash champ Andrew Hickey plays game 200 tomorrow at the Frearson - a credit to himself and the Club!

Monash Blues vs Hampton Rovers
Old Camberwell vs Parkdale
PEGS vs Banyule
Rupertswood vs Mazenod
Fitzroy vs Marcellin

Monash
Parkdale
Banyule
Rupo
Fitzroy

still standing by my top four of Banyule, Parkdale, Fitzroy and Mazenod, in no particular order though Camberwell may soon interrupt that thought process