C Section Premier C - 2012

About all that can be said about our game is this is a good week for Cardio Carl to get red carded. Chin up Hampton, hopefully things will turn for the better soon

Thanks for the update scribe..let's hope they continue regardless of your results , as we missed you dearly about this time last year!!

Correct you are Ron, and your memory is outstanding. When there was precious little positive to report on OC efforts, I abstained from contributing. Once we played better, I was more regularly posting.

Human nature really. I try to keep it positive.

How's that raw nerve I accidentally hit a couple of weeks ago? All better now? Hope so.

Where were you for a beer afterwards? Chins are well and truly up at The Boss. Dirty, dirty day to cap off a dirty first month of footy. Can only get better from here!

For what it's worth OC look the real deal, Rupo should be a finals contender, Banyule not far off the mark & Monash to be staving off relegation. Obviously a biased opinion as we've only seen 4 quarters from each of the sides.

Where were you for a beer afterwards? Chins are well and truly up at The Boss. Dirty, dirty day to cap off a dirty first month of footy. Can only get better from here!

For what it's worth OC look the real deal, Rupo should be a finals contender, Banyule not far off the mark & Monash to be staving off relegation. Obviously a biased opinion as we've only seen 4 quarters from each of the sides.

Sorry Mick, I must confess I'm on a tight domestic leash in 2012 with the new bub such that I'm usually at the ground by 1.30pm and on my bike (literally yesterday) by 4.45pm. At least I got to see Jason in action, doing his best work on the boundary of what now must be close to the best deck in the VAFA!

The well overdue resurfacing is awesome and hopefully with plenty more home games to come, the young Rovers boys will respond to what no doubt is a more 'educational' approach from the coaching staff than would be necessary if some of your top liners hadn't decided to chase coin in remote leagues with no soul.

Come on Scribe, who are you, the conscience of the VAFA boards? What's wrong with someone playing for money, how dare you take pot shots from behind the safety of your keyboard at those who choose to play in another competition.

I grew up in the bush where country footy is the lifeblood of the community, where all of the lads from Corowa and surrounds would travel on a Saturday to grounds up to 2 hours away. Non of this elitist old boys crap where if you drive from Hawthorn to Werribee you think you are travelling out of state. We needed the hired guns, as most comps in Australia are paid comps, unlike the VAFA. If you don't have them you lose by100 points every week.

The last time I looked at the Australian constitution it said that we can all make our own choices in life, as long as they are within the boundaries of societies rules. IMO it says more about Hampton Rovers that they have had such a mass exodus, this does not happen by chance. There may be serious problems at that club that none of us know about and surely the HR posters will not disclose.

FWIW, their under 19 side was also thrashed yesterday, not a good sign for them, before we know it they will be in D2 if they don't sort it all out.

In the meantime Scribe, you just sit there in your ivory tower and enjoy your well healed elitist lifestyle, tally ho.

You're hard on my boys Mick! Monash have just fallen short against OC after looking winners at stages and yesterday would have beat rupo at the duck pond but for the steadiness of Leigh Brennan. Not far off the pace and will get better.

Come on Scribe, who are you, the conscience of the VAFA boards? What's wrong with someone playing for money, how dare you take pot shots from behind the safety of your keyboard at those who choose to play in another competition.

I grew up in the bush where country footy is the lifeblood of the community, where all of the lads from Corowa and surrounds would travel on a Saturday to grounds up to 2 hours away. Non of this elitist old boys crap where if you drive from Hawthorn to Werribee you think you are travelling out of state. We needed the hired guns, as most comps in Australia are paid comps, unlike the VAFA. If you don't have them you lose by100 points every week.

The last time I looked at the Australian constitution it said that we can all make our own choices in life, as long as they are within the boundaries of societies rules. IMO it says more about Hampton Rovers that they have had such a mass exodus, this does not happen by chance. There may be serious problems at that club that none of us know about and surely the HR posters will not disclose.

FWIW, their under 19 side was also thrashed yesterday, not a good sign for them, before we know it they will be in D2 if they don't sort it all out.

In the meantime Scribe, you just sit there in your ivory tower and enjoy your well healed elitist lifestyle, tally ho.
Putting aside the harsh remarks directed at ‘Scribe’ and specific clubs, I agree with the thrust of your argument. I reckon some amateur people can be a bit precious on this matter.

So much is expected of amateur players these days. Particularly in the higher grades. They are expected to put in the same effort at training and on match days as those who are paid with all the consequent risks and be significantly out of pocket in doing so.

Who could blame those that get the chance to garner a few dollars for grabbing it? Not me!

I don't disagree with you either AM. Any reading of my earlier post will show that I said the Rovers have to be more educational in their approach because the reality is many of their best players from the past 3-4 seasons are now playing in the bush.

The only inflammatory comment would be that the competitions they're playing in have no soul.

Not potting the blokes who go bush, or go for coin at all. From my experience, training with and speaking with guys who have played bush footy, it often is a mere weekend job where you drive up Saturday morning, play, take your money and drive back to Melbourne. Hanging round for beers is hard because you have to drive to town again.

Just offering an opinion, as is my constitutional right.;)

I played with two clubs within the VAFA and two outside it –and, yes, the latter two for money. I couldn’t say there was any significant difference once you got involved.

I’m not precisely sure what you mean by ‘soul’ in this context but the atmosphere within a particular club can change from year-to-year depending on who is in charge on the field and off it. It isn’t competition specific.

Oh! And I trust your opinion is pro bono?:)

Good to see you posting regularly again btw.

Correct you are Ron, and your memory is outstanding. When there was precious little positive to report on OC efforts, I abstained from contributing. Once we played better, I was more regularly posting.

Human nature really. I try to keep it positive.

How's that raw nerve I accidentally hit a couple of weeks ago? All better now? Hope so.

Ahh! You got me scribulous!!

You are just too smart for us all and you outed my 6 other indentities!

Not too sure what to do now... if only you knew!

Come on..show a bit of grit and give us a post after a loss(if you ever have one!)

FWIW, we don't blame those blokes that left for $$$, most are kids that have been offered $800-$1200 a game. They'd be stupid not to take it. And it wasn't a 'mass exodus' they were picked off by clubs that were looking for good players and promising premierships. There's definitely no cultural/personal/underlying issues or anything like that.

Personally, I'm pretty dissappointed in three of the remaining better and more experienced players that left late in the piece (the week before the first praccy) to one club. That seemed to me like jumping ship when we really needed some stability. And full credit to Fletcher for staying, he was getting offered more than anyone else, but resisted.

But we're a proud club and we'll fight back even if it takes a while. Got A LOT of kids and they seem to be willing to listen and learn so we can only go from there. :thumbsu:

Fair dinkum, Scribe..... man up! I've got a fresh one myself and have managed to stay at Rupo & Banyule for a post match bevvy. New bub is no excuse for an extra half hour -hour. I expected more from you.

Was wondering if Up the Nest can give a report after the win against Parkdale Saturday? Scores looked as though it was convincing...

Note to The Black Bear, take a chill pill, we are all allowed to express our opinions in this forum, Scribe is a long time BF legend and did not deserve your vitriol.