C Section Premier C - 2014

With regard to Banyule's decision, I have a couple of concerns based on running and being on the executive of several clubs over the years.
A reported 'unanimous decision of members' always worries me. It normally suggests railroading or apathy for important decisions such as this.
I cannot believe that being situated directly next to two NFL competitors would give the Club assurance that they will remain competitive.
Players seeking payment can easily create a dutch auction without moving far.
To me, there is no doubt that Banyule could easily survive and be competitive by dropping a division or two in the VAFA whilst future planning took place.
They've spent 34 years in the VAFA and I just can't see why circumstances have changed that much.
Anyway, Ormond will be happy.

Riss,

Easy to make comments from afar.

For the record Banyule joined the VAFA in 1979 not 1980. I should know I boundary umpired their 1st game in the under 19's against Old Brighton at Beach Road. (Fair 1st Road Trip).

Most people know where i reside most Saturdays, but knowing the people very well at Banyule, the decisions is not based on apathy but a long process, that was voted accordingly with a resounding result to make the move.

Banyule are within 5 km's of about 10 NFL clubs, plus higher graded VAFA team. Banyule has been stripped of players for years and not just from money paying clubs.

My club has dined out on Banyule Junior footballers for years.

Banyule will quickly overtake one of its neighbours, and not because of money, but because of solid committee and a great coach.

I will miss them, as I will not get to umpire Oldtimer.

If they go it will be sad day for a club that was very close to making the "Big Show" in the late 80's/early 90's.

Max "Once an umpire always an umpire" Leader

Well said max. Riss, this has been 18 months in planning, not a fly by night decision. We have lost 31 to a neighbouring club in past 3 years. Only half a dozen play seniors, the rest don't want to travel.
The VAFA is fast becoming a south of the yarra competition, teams out this side of town are been eaten alive from other comps due to travel. This year alone there are 7 sides south of melbourne in C grade.
The vote of Tuesday was 93% to move! no one has been railroaded into making a decision.

This vote was made to keep the club surviving, we had to forfeit a reserves game and most week our 2s are playing short. We have a successful junior club with 15 teams but once they get to under 17s they are already been sought out by other clubs in the area.

The main reason in voting for the move was to keep our juniors and retain our players to play in a local competition. I have played every year since 1989 and love the Ammos, however, for the clubs survival the decision was an easy one.

Well said max. Riss, this has been 18 months in planning, not a fly by night decision. We have lost 31 to a neighbouring club in past 3 years. Only half a dozen play seniors, the rest don't want to travel.
The VAFA is fast becoming a south of the yarra competition, teams out this side of town are been eaten alive from other comps due to travel. This year alone there are 7 sides south of melbourne in C grade.
The vote of Tuesday was 93% to move! no one has been railroaded into making a decision.

This vote was made to keep the club surviving, we had to forfeit a reserves game and most week our 2s are playing short. We have a successful junior club with 15 teams but once they get to under 17s they are already been sought out by other clubs in the area.

The main reason in voting for the move was to keep our juniors and retain our players to play in a local competition. I have played every year since 1989 and love the Ammos, however, for the clubs survival the decision was an easy one.

Thanks for the heads up, Oldtimer, and I wish you all the very best with your future.
I don't know if I follow the logic of keeping your juniors because juniors handled properly will always stay with their Club, and the travel for Clubs wherever they are is still the same - we only travel half the time.
I know I've had a wonderful relationship with both your juniors and seniors for many years.

Interesting to note that the Northern Football League have an U19 league that is actually Under 19. That might help the Banyule boys retaining their players rather than jumping from U17 to U20 which is what the VAFA is. When oh when are the VAFA going to factually call the current underage competitions as U19 and U20. If you can be 19 or under on the 1st July, then you are playing U20 football!

With regard to Banyule's decision, I have a couple of concerns based on running and being on the executive of several clubs over the years.
A reported 'unanimous decision of members' always worries me. It normally suggests railroading or apathy for important decisions such as this.
I cannot believe that being situated directly next to two NFL competitors would give the Club assurance that they will remain competitive.
Players seeking payment can easily create a dutch auction without moving far.
To me, there is no doubt that Banyule could easily survive and be competitive by dropping a division or two in the VAFA whilst future planning took place.
They've spent 34 years in the VAFA and I just can't see why circumstances have changed that much.
Anyway, Ormond will be happy.
Why would Ormond be happy

Two very big games tomorrow. HR & MB battling it out for the double chance. PEGS on their last legs.

Hampton Rovers
vs Monash Blues
Parkdale vs Ormond
Marcellin vs PEGS
Peninsula vs Old Camberwell
Oakleigh vs Banyule

Last week, all away teams won. This week it looks like all home teams.

Round 16 Tips:-

Hampton Rovers vs Monash Blues
Parkdale vs Ormond
Marcellin vs PEGS
Peninsula vs Old Camberwell
Oakleigh vs Banyule

In the match of the round I'm betting on the Ashes back line to hold HR to a losing total.
Parky by plenty at the Green.
Would like to tip Pegs but can't. Eagles.
Pirates should prevail.
Krushers to give the departing bangers a nice send off.

In the match of the round I'm betting on the Ashes back line to hold HR to a losing total.
Parky by plenty at the Green.
Would like to tip Pegs but can't. Eagles.
Pirates should prevail.
Krushers to give the departing bangers a nice send off.
don't write the Monders off in this one, by plenty

Looks like it will be a Marcellin v Rovers 2nd Semi Final, with the other semi final likely to be Monash & any one of Parkdale, PEGS or Oakleigh.

went down to watch ormond on the weekend and jee wiz they are a rabble, an embarrassment to the lofty standards of c grade football. what are your assessments bedford?

Edited to remove bait from hook - OTP

Last edited by a moderator:
Don't book your tickets just yet - anything can happen. Got to be a few surprises in the last two rounds.

Surprised about the peninsula result.

Tickets are booked and passport stamped. There are 4 teams in it. Oakleigh a sneaky chance, but really can't see Parky slipping.

Did you take in any of the HR/MB game, les? Both fixtures served up shitty days for footy. From memory it was just as windy at the Uni earlier in the year.

Tickets are booked and passport stamped. There are 4 teams in it. Oakleigh a sneaky chance, but really can't see Parky slipping.

Did you take in any of the HR/MB game, les? Both fixtures served up shitty days for footy. From memory it was just as windy at the Uni earlier in the year.
Nah mate missed it yesterday. Well done to your blokes. Last time around windy and low scoring as well. Assuming things stay as they are how do you reckon you'll go against Marcellin?