lettheboysplay

Jun 17, 2015
Chicago Bulls, Cubs
So who is in charge now and hopefully they will change that s**t culture and that's not directed at the players , as they are good blokes, apart from Balme.
Bit harsh. In all my dealings with Balmey he comes off as a warm, funny and honest type of guy. Big part of the fabric at Kew on and off the field until he left for the motherland. What's your beef with the lad?

Prince27

Aug 9, 2014
When you've got blokes at Kew like Big Bad Bustling Lucky Lukey Klasen you know that the mighty bears will be held in good sted for season 2017.

Max Leader

Dec 6, 2005
Kaniva
Kaniva
Good news for the Hoes. (Yes I know its a slow news day however)

OIGFC is excited to announce that our new Strength and Conditioning coach for 2017 is David Buttifant.

David played for Richmond in the VFL in 1987. He was recruited from the Koroit Football Club in the Hampden Football League. He later played for Box Hill in the VFA.

David was Collingwood's sport science director for 13 years, mostly under the coaching tenure of Mick Malthouse, and he played an important role in Collingwood's 2010 premiership victory and assisting the Magpie...s to Grand Finals in 2002, 2003 and 2011.

While at Collingwood, he led the way with the use of altitude in pre-season training. In 2013 he joined the Carlton Football Club, under Mick Malthouse.

David has also previously worked with the Australian Olympic team. He has a PhD in sports physiology.

We look forward to having David's extensive knowledge and expertise at the club, and contributing to a successful 2017.

Canada

Jun 7, 2014

OIGFC is excited to announce that our new Strength and Conditioning coach for 2017 is David Buttifant.

David played for Richmond in the VFL in 1987. He was recruited from the Koroit Football Club in the Hampden Football League. He later played for Box Hill in the VFA.

David was Collingwood's sport science director for 13 years, mostly under the coaching tenure of Mick Malthouse, and he played an important role in Collingwood's 2010 premiership victory and assisting the Magpie...s to Grand Finals in 2002, 2003 and 2011.

While at Collingwood, he led the way with the use of altitude in pre-season training. In 2013 he joined the Carlton Football Club, under Mick Malthouse.

David has also previously worked with the Australian Olympic team. He has a PhD in sports physiology.

We look forward to having David's extensive knowledge and expertise at the club, and contributing to a successful 2017.

Great get. Neil Balme considers him the best in the business. And NB knows his stuff...

AM

The standard you walk past is the one you accept
Aug 18, 2006
Here there and everywhere

Heading for Arizona for some altitude training are we?:)
Great get. Neil Balme considers him the best in the business. And NB knows his stuff...
It's a good get but frankly he's gone from chocolates to boiled lollies and that's no disrespect to OH. Once a high profile leader in his field at the elite level to a sacked AFL sports conditioning specialist now running a program for a park football club.

Canada

Jun 7, 2014

It's a good get but frankly he's gone from chocolates to boiled lollies and that's no disrespect to OH. Once a high profile leader in his field at the elite level to a sacked AFL sports conditioning specialist now running a program for a park football club.

Park football club.....
VAFA is king!!

Max Leader

Dec 6, 2005
Kaniva
Kaniva

What shite comment.

Helping out a mate and also his son who plays at OI.

Arizona no, Lorne yes.

Max "Never fitter" Leader

AM

Aug 18, 2006
KU5eLcY.jpg

Prince27

Aug 9, 2014
how are you training lukey?:)

The big fella is going well Chop Sui. He thoroughly enjoyed Tash Sultanas "Like A Version" on Triple J this morning and is looking forward to knocking back a few cans of 4 Pines and playing it on repeat tonight.

In Footy News, there is talk of him jumping down to the back line to re-invent himself and help the mighty bears march towards another flag and if all is successful, there is hope he will slot into Collingwoods lack-luster back line in Season 2018. If he can knock a few forwards over like he knocks of an $8 pizza at Back Alley Sallys on a Tuesday, i see the back line switch as a great success.

Rooster 24

Jul 31, 2009
@bitterbedford still taking false/bitter shots at Kew FC (Premiers 2013,2014&2015)

Not taking sides but those flags are now part of history. And on the subject of history only a handful of clubs across the entire VAFA could measure up to Ormond.

I reckon Bedders could see your F, E, D trifecta and raise you 4 'A' flags in a row and 5 in 6 years from fairly recent memory (well recent for us old blokes anyway).

AM

Aug 18, 2006
Not taking sides but those flags are now part of history. And on the subject of history only a handful of clubs across the entire VAFA could measure up to Ormond.

I reckon Bedders could see your F, E, D trifecta and raise you 4 'A' flags in a row and 5 in 6 years from fairly recent memory (well recent for us old blokes anyway).
Correct! One of their stars helped us out with one of 'em too.;)

Richo!

Mar 15, 2012

Correct...but Bedford's current bitterness and pathetic attempts to defame Kew's name stem from Ormond's 2015 grand final loss to Kew...and this was a part of Kew's 3-peat

Canada

Jun 7, 2014
Kew and Beasers 3 peat is legendary VAFA stuff. Should only ever be applauded, celebrated and respected. It was hurculian.

BrianSpeaking

Mar 16, 2007
@BigFootyBrian
Correct! One of their stars helped us out with one of 'em too.;)
What a great era that was old mate, that star famously bought his first Holden Commodore after that year at Ormond, $300 cash a game he claimed many years later, although of course I don't believe him.
NB: it was a pretty shitty car too.

Oct 29, 2007
Lake Oval
SMFC. PMFC,OAFC
What a great era that was old mate, that star famously bought his first Holden Commodore after that year at Ormond, $300 cash a game he claimed many years later, although of course I don't believe him.
A little amount compared to what SKOBS must be paying, I wonder what odds Maplebet will have for relegation when they get done. Only jesting BS.

AM

Aug 18, 2006
Allegedly earning that huge sum, you'd wonder why he moved on to play with SKOBS. Wait a minute.........:rolleyes:

Rooster 24

Jul 31, 2009
Kew and Beasers 3 peat is legendary VAFA stuff. Should only ever be applauded, celebrated and respected. It was hurculian.

Agree. Herculean even. Three in a row is an amazing achievement at any level. But history is just that and unwise to enter pissing competitions with a club that has a record that ranks among the best. Your beloved Carey could only dream of such sustained ‘A’ grade success.

My club had some fantastic battles with Ormond during that era. We both had a lot of success but on balance they had it over us.

Who is this star from that era of which AM and BS speak?