A Section Premier Section 2024

Eyre should get a spot, they need a key position player.
Bytel too
They'll definitley fill one, maybe two.

Sullivan I can't see getting a spot, he needs to play another position besides inside mid. Sofronidis you'd think will sign for the VFL side or Coburg, where he was training earlier in the PS.
Key defenders has been our issues last few years, We only have 1 player over 195cm apart from Moore and thats Frampton. And Eyre has been a real standout from the getgo.

Yeah, I reckon Sof needs to play some state league first. Its a big step between VAFA to VFA, less alone AFL.

They do like Sullivan's inside work, but bit like Macrae, only an inside mid? Bytel does seem to be firming as a favourite for that mid role, he has good endurance too. But they do like Sullivan too.

He’s a St Kevin’s boy, albeit he played soccer at school. He any good? It’s a big step up.
Improved out of sight , we got him a pre season at Port and he's worked hard , gave him a chance from nowhere and not saying anymore

I feel for you guys, it’s bloody hard keeping talent when you’re in the lower grades, we experienced that for 65 years.

Sof looks more like a local player. Apart from being a good runner, he just struggles to get involved in the 6 weeks i've seen him train. Just doesnt do anything that stands out. Cant get the ball. Given the hype he had, probably the most disappointing.
I have heard we will offer him a VFL list spot. I reckon he needs to play a year in the vfl to see if he can perform at that level.

Reckon the list spots will go to eyre and one of the mids, bytel or sullivan.
Remember it is a pretty big step up from VAFA to AFL. He wasn't even playing footy in 2023 at this time last year, so it is a monumental effort to even be training at Collingwood.

From my spies, his numbers have improved considerably since he has been there. I would say he will play at Collingwood VFL at a bare minimum as we have bugger all tall depth, especially defensively, so he will be great at VFL level.
Really boring on this thread considering the Portsea crew should be back from holidays so thought I'd make some statements to get things rolling:
Hearing Old Xavs reloading well under Donati so predicting a top four finish
Expecting Old Brighton to improve if limited unavailability thru O/S travel.
Collegians to drop a bit without Ferguson, Sofronidis and Mirra.
Bernards to make up the numbers and join Fitzroy back in B in 2025.
Uni Blues to make a surge and their neighbour Blacks to be middle of the road.
SKOB to face some challenges but be their about as usual.
Scotch to fall off the perch.
Old Melbournians list promises so much but rarely delivers and will play out the same for them this season.
Collegians will be alright. We have a fair few younger boys training at VFL clubs, which will be really good for them and out of these blokes, some have been offered contracts and others have not had offers yet.

We will have Nathan Boucher back full-time from VFL, so he is what I would call a like for like replacement with Lachie Ferguson, but I think you will see him also play a lot more midfield. Add to that Mayhood, Thomas and Woodfull back full-time from VFL, it is a pretty handy side still.
Having Ollie Jackson go to Red Hill is not ideal considering he would likely have taken Mirra's spot at full forward, but it presents another opportunity for our younger players and you might even see Sam Hibbins or Viv Michie play forward more often.

There are a couple of young school leavers who look like handy players and could play senior footy, plus a young bloke from Waverley Blues Josh Walker (training with a VFL club but will play at Collegians this year) coming into the side.

The Lions will not be going anywhere.

Remember it is a pretty big step up from VAFA to AFL. He wasn't even playing footy in 2023 at this time last year, so it is a monumental effort to even be training at Collingwood.

From my spies, his numbers have improved considerably since he has been there. I would say he will play at Collingwood VFL at a bare minimum as we have bugger all tall depth, especially defensively, so he will be great at VFL level.

Collegians will be alright. We have a fair few younger boys training at VFL clubs, which will be really good for them and out of these blokes, some have been offered contracts and others have not had offers yet.

We will have Nathan Boucher back full-time from VFL, so he is what I would call a like for like replacement with Lachie Ferguson, but I think you will see him also play a lot more midfield. Add to that Mayhood, Thomas and Woodfull back full-time from VFL, it is a pretty handy side still.
Having Ollie Jackson go to Red Hill is not ideal considering he would likely have taken Mirra's spot at full forward, but it presents another opportunity for our younger players and you might even see Sam Hibbins or Viv Michie play forward more often.

There are a couple of young school leavers who look like handy players and could play senior footy, plus a young bloke from Waverley Blues Josh Walker (training with a VFL club but will play at Collegians this year) coming into the side.

Need to share the premiership cup around, it’s SKOB’s turn this year.

Haven't they picked up the reigning Sandover medalist? Courted by many but has chosen Xavs. Not a bad start.

Sounds like the story Sam Kecka tells at Sports Nights, when he and Cable played Geelong single handedly at Geelong. They were leading when the team bus arrived, then duely lost. They will need more than him I would think, but yes, a good start

Haven't they picked up the reigning Sandover medalist? Courted by many but has chosen Xavs. Not a bad start.
Not exactly, he won it in the Covid shortened season in 2020, with 13 votes.

Thanks Mr P. I'll forgive my mate for adding the mayo.
Still, will be a handy pick up.
Mayo? On this forum? Never! He will be a very good player if his hamstring tendon doesn’t rip again, he only played two games in 2023.

A full season in Premier A, will be no stroll in the Park in 2024.

On this, I have been told that Sofrinidis is not returning to the VAFA in 2024. He has a VFL contract lined-up but it isn't for an AFL side. From his pre-season, he will know what he needs to do to make the step-up to the AFL.

If he has a VFL contract there is still the odd chance he returns to Collegians.

Who is it for? Surely given hes done preseason with Collingwoods AFL side just signs there