Game Day Preseason 1, 2025: West Coast v North Melbourne

Second game last year (which we won).

He didn't get his usual arm chair ride with umps and we actually had some talld defenders available instead of injured. Suddenly he looked like to bog average forward that he actually is.
Astonishing how he looks when he’s not against Cal Jamieson on debut, who had only trained forward to that point.

He’s such a beat up of a forward. Can’t beat a defender without a massive head start. An out-the-back merchant who loves to celebrate more than he likes to lead up at the footy and actually provide a target. If Darling unlocks that part of his game with some education, he could be great, but he’s got Lloyd’s FIGJAM without any semblance of the craft or workrate.

While i'd like for us to be back playing finals and top 4 etc, that's not this year.
People flipping out because we're not premiers yet.

I'm just looking for a few things from the year for it to be a positive one on the road back to success.

A change in game plan.
Consistent Effort
Improvement from our draftees putting pressure on older players.
Finding who is B23 and who is adequate depth.
Reducing the number of 50+ point loses compared to last year (and a continuation of 0x 100 point loses).
Harley re-signing for another few years.

Do that and i'll likely be pretty happy. More wins than last year would be nice.

I swear, Dewar doesn't come on and we don't win that game.

It's less about the stats he got, I feel like the team just looked flat, lacking spark.

Definitely need more of that young energy so we're not 100% reliant on Harley to do his thing.

It's less about the stats he got, I feel like the team just looked flat, lacking spark.

Definitely need more of that young energy so we're not 100% reliant on Harley to do his thing.
Its just that speed through the middle. When we have Reid getting attention we are just 1-2 attacking players short it feels like. Too many defensive types today.
Yeo, Hewett and Dewar can all fix that I hope

Archer's goal kicking seems very sus, but whenever Oscar is unavailable, I wonder if Archer will continue to be persisted in the AFL with Darling gone, or if Jack Williams could be more of a focal point.
Either way, hopefully he can improve.
Archer Reid seems very talented, but he was stuffed at the end, and also seems physically under undeveloped.
This is 100% to be expected from a 2nd year player of his size, I fully expect him to spend the majority of the year playing WAFL, before hitting the weights in the off season and then ready to push for regular selection next year.

Mcgovern absolutely monstered him in that game and won just about every 1v1
Yep, that was one of the most dominant games of Gov’s career, and that is saying something!

Pretty sure on the podcast Oscar said it was basically the best game he’s ever seen anyone play.

Weirdo supercoach obsessed freaks saying Bo Allen is shit coz he got a bad supercoach score.

Nerds

Kids gonna be a ripper

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Thought he was really good defensively. I think judging by him starting today over Maric the coaches agree also. Fantasy ruins peoples views I think of players. McKercher, for example last year scored really well but North conceded so often because of his inability to defend. But he gets the points and that’s all that matters :rolleyes:

That one on one where Allan was caught out of position on transition and managed to win the ball back was very very good. Physically ready to go and looks so assured, even if he didn’t have the best day disposal wise.

Weirdo supercoach obsessed freaks saying Bo Allen is shit coz he got a bad supercoach score.
I believe 7 clangers (4 turnovers, 3 frees against) from 6 touches with zero tackles has a bit to do with the hysteria, given he's one of the most popular SC rookies this year.

Weird because I actually thought he was much better than his stats suggest. Solid game.

On another note Harleys reported stats are laughable. He's credited with 0 turnovers when we all literally watched him turn it directly over by hand twice in 10 seconds. Not sure how that works.

I believe 7 clangers (4 turnovers, 3 frees against) from 6 touches with zero tackles has a bit to do with the hysteria, given he's one of the most popular SC rookies this year.

Weird because I actually thought he was much better than his stats suggest. Solid game.

On another note Harleys reported stats are laughable. He's credited with 0 turnovers when we all literally watched him turn it directly over by hand twice in 10 seconds. Not sure how that works.
The stats were ****ed up.

They had the frees the wrong way around, for starters.

If he's not lining up on the wing at the first CBD Round 1 then we need to sack Simmo and imprison Nizzy.

Finally got to watch the rest of the game after a busy arvo.

Interesting contrast of styles between us and North - jeez they rack the stats up - Sheezel is does a power of work but is he ultimately a link man when played in the middle?

Anyway, onto the good guys.

Enjoyed:

The 3 experienced new guys (Owies, Baker and Graham) are all hard workers that are willing to hit the contest - they will be handy.

Waterman doesn’t look to have missed a beat.

Liam Ryan covered a lot of ground, had some good moments.

McGovern just business as usual.

Hunt’s great snap.

Hough’s gutsy mark early in the game.

Jack missing gettable goals early in the game that would have given his side a real leg up. Ha! Won’t miss that.

Didn’t enjoy as much:

Conceded way too many inside 50s.

I hate listening to Pavlich and Schofield. Pair of miserable pricks.

Getting monstered by North's mids shouldn't have been too big of a shock considering that got like 8 top 5 picks running through there..but Christ do we need Yeo back or Hewett in there to give them a lift.

I don't think we got any significant injuries so I'll take that over actually winning the game.

We played vanilla so as to not give away too many game style secrets….

Cats out of the bag…it’s the the flying v

giphy.gif