Preseason Training Thread - 2014

• Thread starter Thread starter UpTheGuts

Interesting to see that tennis players and soccer players can play sport during 40+ days yet the Australian work force has to stop at 35. What a joke.

In before the backlash FYI i am actually a tradesman myself.

I'll give you another anomaly. If your in the construction dept, even if your not on a union site, @ 35 degrees they're off home, yet the same company employees on service don't get it the privilege. We don't even get a bump up in the hourly rate. Not very fair but you live with it. Some of these conditions are good but others are rubbish ie covered walk ways to the site sheds.

Common mate where working, not running flat chat after a ball or an opponent.

Im not talking 42 i agree thats too hot especially when jock itch kicks in. But in all honesty i think you can work with reasonable comfort till about 38/39.
The problem with 35 is (and i have seen it first hand) the younger kids are on their mobiles all day listening to that voice over cheering for ever degree the temp rises.
No work gets done at all even when its only 32

The thing is this condition was given with the worker directly working in the sun( picture concreters pouring in the sun) not with the workers working inside when the frame is done which isn't the same thing. On some days the service personnel can go into a motor-room on a roof and its 50 degrees inside yet we don't get any relief. Its just how would you quantify that which would be hard(its accepted now and it will stay).

Not really a backlash just a different perspective. I've been helping my old man put up a shed the last two weekends when its been about 40 every day and its horrible being out in the heat for more then 20 minutes let alone a 4 or 5 hours. Lost a few kegs tho ;) doing a full 8 hour day is near impossible, but tradies normally start at 7 so its reasonable to work until about lunch time i think as its not as hot.

As for soccer and tennis players they would average maybe only 1 and half hours for a soccer player to maybe 2 hours for a tennis player in that extreme heat so its not a full day. Yes they probably work harder in that time but they are in peak physical condition and have a greater ability to handle the stresses of that kind of heat, not to mention have a medical advisor right there next to them.

That 40 degree week in January i was in Portland camping and went to the local pool, they had 12 year olds playing rep cricket on the ground next to the pool which i couldn't believe they hadn't called off as i thought the was especially dangerous for kids.

I build sheds for a living and we work no matter what the temp is. Working with steel and colorbond on concrete in the heat definately does take it out of you...

Common mate where working, not running flat chat after a ball or an opponent.

Im not talking 42 i agree thats too hot especially when jock itch kicks in. But in all honesty i think you can work with reasonable comfort till about 38/39.
The problem with 35 is (and i have seen it first hand) the younger kids are on their mobiles all day listening to that voice over cheering for ever degree the temp rises.
No work gets done at all even when its only 32

You'll get little argument from me Cevap_Roll . But as I'm sure you'll agree there are some guys out there who are in such poor condition that I think their lives would be at risk at 35 and above degrees. Also as others have pointed out working 1 maybe 2 days in a row can take it out of you 3 or more days in a row with elevated temps can be extremely hard for many.

i am in a sheetmetal shop and we stay till lunchtime on 40deg days (by the time we get to walk out the thermo says 40+ as there's no cooling/air circulation worth the name in what is a glorified tin shed)
our site blokes get sunned off the roof at 32 and sent home at 35 and get paid for the day still, yet we get stuff at work for far less per hr which does suck. sadly it's the way it is now, i agree with above, on 40+ days there's no reason ppl can't work till lunchtime, at least some work gets done & then there'd be no checking the BOM every 2mins to see what the temp is. (i have also seen this in progress) 'progress' being used as terminology only.
whatever the case may be, all that matters is there's only 3 sleeps to go #Bringiton

whatever the case may be, all that matters is there's only 3 sleeps to go #Bringiton[/quote]

#YOUBETCHA!!!!!!

Interesting to see that tennis players and soccer players can play sport during 40+ days yet the Australian work force has to stop at 35. What a joke.

In before the backlash FYI i am actually a tradesman myself.
I am one of those "lucky bludgers" that works on a large union job in town. The expectation with my company is to work just short of 60 hour weeks. And in summer it can reach into the high 40 on deck. Which consists of black plywood and bondeck, which is silver and incredibly reflective/hot. On the extreme hot days we will go home before lunch. But other days when it reaches 35 at the hottest part of the day (4-5 ish) we might sneak out 30/ 1 hour early, by that stage it has been one seriously long hot day. I'm anti union, I've always thought there corrupt and full of shit. But I don't apologise for going home @ 35, as it's one of the rare wins we get. Don't always believe what you read I forgot my point, but felt the need to stand up for one of the rare remaining things the union actually enforces. Useless bribe taking scum. Bull shit your on our side. ........ *Large exhale*

Rant over/

Apologies, I have a head ache now

My cricket league's cut off is 38 which I think is about right
Lucky for me my old comp didn't do this. My first 40+ day in Melbourne - I scored a ton. I remember walking to the ground in the heat thinking to myself "If we've lost the toss I might piss off to the pub!"

Can't wait am in Thailand and it's crazy here hanging for foooootyyyyy and to see all our boys fired up and ready to smack the comp woohoo

Dude if you are in thailand and on bigfooty ---------------- You are a sick puppy
(where in thailand are you ill send you a few friends to get rid of your boredom)

I should get sponsored by the Afl I promote it everywhere I go and whenever I meet an Aussie it always comes up in the conversation, met this lovely couple from Melbourne turns out she is a Tiges supporter;) she was hot too lol I think the guy was his sister

Great to hear Foley having a solid preseason I'm expecting good things. No doubt fired up to, Axel :thumbsu:

Agree with this mate, outside of Newman, this is one bloke on our list who deserves to play in a successful side. God knows he deserves at minimum to have a season injury free!

Just as I'am starting to get over last years final, these immobilises give me this sort of effort. Had all summer think about it, what were they doing.
Unfortunately efforts like this hurt the supporters more than the players, its a shame I cant play.

Just as I'am starting to get over last years final, these immobilises give me this sort of effort. Had all summer think about it, what were they doing.
Unfortunately efforts like this hurt the supporters more than the players, its a shame I cant play.
Getting ready for Round 1.
The home and Away season is where redemption begins, not match practice.