Unofficial Preview Preseason trial game - Brisbane v Adelaide, 10 am, Friday 25th

Must be those breathing techniques ;)
It's actually possible - some breathing techniques can help settle the person, which could definitely affect kicking if they're too puffed or worked up. No idea if that's part of the new regime though.

Yes lots of rain as predicted.
Wivenhoe Dam now at 71.2% and i don't get why they are releasing water as at 10-pm tonight
Was 39.3% on 1/11/2021
It is a flood mitigation dam and this release will affect the Brisbane area in the next day or two
It reached 191% capacity in 2011 before release of water
Litigation followed but we are way under what it was built for
Be interesting to see the inflows in the next week and see where the levels get to whilst releasing water

At someone else watch’s the dams as well. It’s not Wivenhoe they’re worried about. Somerset releases into Wivenhoe. Somerset over 100% this morning and Wivenhoe at 87.7%. That’s even with release overnight. Rain may stop today may stop tomorrow, but water will keep running from catchment areas into the dams over the next week or so pushing both numbers higher, hence the release.

Yes lots of rain as predicted.
Wivenhoe Dam now at 71.2% and i don't get why they are releasing water as at 10-pm tonight
Was 39.3% on 1/11/2021
It is a flood mitigation dam and this release will affect the Brisbane area in the next day or two
It reached 191% capacity in 2011 before release of water
Litigation followed but we are way under what it was built for
Be interesting to see the inflows in the next week and see where the levels get to whilst releasing water
They have access to longer term weather and water flow modelling. I suspect it's looking like the inflows, as you say, but also forthcoming rain are projecting it to hit capacity and they'd be a lot more consistent in following their documented procedures after the 2011 debacle where they ignored their modelling and procedures to hold more water because of the political pressure.

There have been notices on the SEQ Water website about Wivenhoe, Somerset and North Pine having reduced capacity at the moment. They've been spilling North Pine at 67% for a couple of years now so wonder if the other two can't hold the same capacity and need to be released earlier than usual.

300mm in my neighbourhood yesterday and another 67mm since midnight. Ipswich is predicted to have major flooding. If this system doesn't move off (and nothing suggests it will today), I am very worried that Brisbane is going to experience another relatively significant flood event - not suggesting a repeat of 2011 necessarily but still some widespread damage.

There have been notices on the SEQ Water website about Wivenhoe, Somerset and North Pine having reduced capacity at the moment. They've been spilling North Pine at 67% for a couple of years now so wonder if the other two can't hold the same capacity and need to be released earlier than usual.

300mm in my neighbourhood yesterday and another 67mm since midnight. Ipswich is predicted to have major flooding. If this system doesn't move off (and nothing suggests it will today), I am very worried that Brisbane is going to experience another relatively significant flood event - not suggesting a repeat of 2011 necessarily but still some widespread damage.

They’ve adjusted working levels to include provision for flood capacity.
As an example working level for Somerset is 79.5%. Above that is flood storage capacity. Once above 80% they release into Wivenhoe to maintain flood capacity if needed.

At someone else watch’s the dams as well. It’s not Wivenhoe they’re worried about. Somerset releases into Wivenhoe. Somerset over 100% this morning and Wivenhoe at 87.7%. That’s even with release overnight. Rain may stop today may stop tomorrow, but water will keep running from catchment areas into the dams over the next week or so pushing both numbers higher, hence the release.

Yes i get all that. And they also have much more information available than the public
Since your post Wivenhoe now 95.1% with releases happening Somerset 106.1% with releases also
Rain expected to clear Monday so i would have expected releases happening late Sunday or Monday
Releases take about 3 to 4 days to reach Moerton Bay depending on lots of things
They obviously have a new handbook procedure resulting from the 2011 incident to avoid more litigation
However releasing early could result in litigation also
A layman's guess would be 120/130% before releases
This is why the dam was built to reduce flooding downstream until danger passes
Just my take on the subject
They’ve adjusted working levels to include provision for flood capacity.
As an example working level for Somerset is 79.5%. Above that is flood storage capacity. Once above 80% they release into Wivenhoe to maintain flood capacity if needed.

Understand and agree why Somerset doing releases.
Somerset being SEQ second biggest dam but also small in comparison to Wivenhoe
Somerset has a different and more reliable catchment area than Wivenhoe
This event like other big events capture both arears

It's actually possible - some breathing techniques can help settle the person, which could definitely affect kicking if they're too puffed or worked up. No idea if that's part of the new regime though.
Absolutely. Don't know if you've ever seen the movie Dodgeball but my wink was one of those "just kidding. But seriously" winks.

;)

On the game itself, overall I wasn't super impressed yesterday. I thought we went through the motions a bit and the longer the game went our edge in class across the majority of positions on the ground became evident, particularly from about halfway through the second quarter.

Still, I think it's a great sign when you're winning by 89 points and only saying "mmm, that's OK I spose".

Stiffer test next week, and I'm sure we'll keep trying some different things that may or may not roll into the regular season.

Best thing about the game was that all the players out injured last year or carrying injuries looked to be moving well. Except wasnt completely sure if Andrews was moving as well as in 2020, on the other hand had AA quality stats in 2021 while carrying an injury. I hope he’s over issues.
some observation:
Gardiner looked to be back to his normal competent self.
As the game went on Neale looked confident he was going to win every contest when near the ball And he just about did. We are a better side with Neale in it.
Berry got a lot of the ball and generally kick long which is the sensible strategy in the conditions. He seems to take an extra half second when kicking which to me makes his mis kicks appear to stand out. Hard to judge overall efficiency in the conditions. got lots of the ball and was physical in the contest. Seems a lock for the best 22.
Noah did some really nice things. Not sure about TOG, but didn’t seem to get a lot of it overall. Very hard to get a wing position in this team.
Wilmont showed plenty but again it’s a hard side to break into on the HBF. I will be surprised if he is selected for round one. However it will be a pleasant surprise.
Not sure about the rucks. I thought is was about break even with a competent Crows ruck division. Thought Fort looked mobile enough in the forward line and would prefer him to Fullerton in the 22.

After watching the replay, the player who has the most to worry about come round 1 is Robbo, IMO.
Always hard to get a line on Robbo in the preseason
Come the real stuff he just gets the job done.
Someone will have to push him out i suppose
Still he is getting older and plays a hard type of footy so body a bit battered over the years
Think he gets named round 1 but wonder if it will be bench or on field.
Not that it matters much in the modern game but maybe a message

Always hard to get a line on Robbo in the preseason
Come the real stuff he just gets the job done.
Someone will have to push him out i suppose
Still he is getting older and plays a hard type of footy so body a bit battered over the years
Think he gets named round 1 but wonder if it will be bench or on field.
Not that it matters much in the modern game but maybe a message
I would think he would get named especially early in the season just because he provides that type of manic that worrys the opposition when defences are usually high. After round 3/4 and he hasn't done much then l reckon he would be transferred out.

Bailey, Berry and McCarthy looked good. Answerth did some nice things. Neale looked fresh. I think we underestimate just how much a healthy Neale improves our side.

Didn't see a lot of the ball, but Jimmy Madden has difference making speed, would love to see him develop into an AFL level footballer.

Good to see Hinge back out there for Adelaide. Enjoyed having Dan in the commentry box. Need to get used to Rayner's new hair cut, kept thinking we had Ash back out there.

I would think he would get named especially early in the season just because he provides that type of manic that worrys the opposition when defences are usually high. After round 3/4 and he hasn't done much then l reckon he would be transferred out.

Yes against sides with mature, bigger bodies Robbo has the tools to stand up in the contest. But I think we might see him "managed" in games against younger, lower sides.

Yeah that's what I meant with the 'fully fit' comment, will be decision time when Hipwood returns. I think Fort is a better player in the ruck contest, but OMac is in better shape physically and better around the ground, below his knees etc, and this will hold him in good stead to hold his position. Fort just seems a bit untidy/ underdone outside of the ruck contest

True but at least in some of the games against lower ranked opposition we can give O a bit of a rest and refresh up forward, against the battering he gets in the ruck; which we couldn't afford to do last year.

Got to love this kid, only been here a few weeks and is already talking about "Lions Footy". Looks like he is 'All In". Also great to see Locky giving him some one on one coaching early in the third term, priceless experience for a young lad.

Hard to know what to take out overall - crows rebuilding and so many out. We looked classy enough.

Big positives were the fully fit players compared to last year: harris, rayner, neale, berry and in particular Gardiner given some seem to think his shoulder will hold him back.

Round 1 will have several stiff players left out which is a great sign.

Have to assume no devrob given he player 2s. I’m quite surprised he’s not in our best 25 with a couple out already.

Fullarton clearly starts lower down the order this year. Fair enough at this stage of his career.

WillMot looks like he’ll play at some stage this year. Very quick and a good step. Gee our backline looks fast all of a sudden, Noah back, Madden’s closing speed incredible too. Am i the only one who thinks our hbf depth is actually really good now? Rich, kiddy, noah, madden, willmot, starce, prior. Going to be at least 2 unlucky ones there in round 1.

Still intrigued as to how Rayner goes and how many mid minutes he plays. He didn’t find much of it. Not in the right spots? Very confident on his left though.

Hard to know what to take out overall - crows rebuilding and so many out. We looked classy enough.

Big positives were the fully fit players compared to last year: harris, rayner, neale, berry and in particular Gardiner given some seem to think his shoulder will hold him back.

Round 1 will have several stiff players left out which is a great sign.

Have to assume no devrob given he player 2s. I’m quite surprised he’s not in our best 25 with a couple out already.

Fullarton clearly starts lower down the order this year. Fair enough at this stage of his career.

WillMot looks like he’ll play at some stage this year. Very quick and a good step. Gee our backline looks fast all of a sudden, Noah back, Madden’s closing speed incredible too. Am i the only one who thinks our hbf depth is actually really good now? Rich, kiddy, noah, madden, willmot, starce, prior. Going to be at least 2 unlucky ones there in round 1.

Still intrigued as to how Rayner goes and how many mid minutes he plays. He didn’t find much of it. Not in the right spots? Very confident on his left though.

Yeah we certainly got no worries about covering injuries on hbf.

I was impressed by Madden. Obviously has the pace and willingness to attack which makes him an offensive weapon, however, I really rate his defensive work. He seems to read the ball in flight really well and is good at making a spoil in a pack. I haven't seen him in many best 22's in the best 22 thread and he isn't in mine either but I wouldn't be surprised if he makes his way in at some point and stays in.

I had him in there in October. I was assuming Starce to mf (fagan mentioned but seemingly has died off as an idea!) and wasn't sure if Answerth fit. Now that both of them are playing backline it gets hard. Rich is a lock so it's either Kiddy or Madden. Great problem to have as our backline looks so fast now. I think it could be a huge boost in how we move the ball. In particular in our kick outs, we got so predictable in them but with young fast players zipping around there should be some good 35m to 40m pass options which i think are the most effective way to get through defensive set ups.

Could potentially see Answerth or Madden get a spot on the wing opening up a spot for Madden either way. But then of course you also have guys like Dev, Sharp and Prior with their eyes on a spot. Love the fact that we have several young guys pushing for a senior spot.

A few thoughts on the game:

• Answerth started really nicely and made some nice runs on the wings. When he moved back he was not as influential and made a few poor kicks. Personally I liked him more on the wing and there are others to play back now.
  • Wilmott was a bit of the opposite. Started with some scrappy handballs but worked into the game well. Seems to find the ball easily which is encouraging. Had a few nice runs out of defence which we should be encouraging and which would add something to the unit. Defensively he was impressive for a rookie on his first outing. I still wouldn’t have him in my round 1 side but I don’t think he is a mile away and I would not be shocked if he was.
  • Madden also had a couple of nice runs from the back where his pace was a weapon. He still needs to get to space more but when he gets the ball he used it pretty well. Defensively he was excellent and his pace is a real bonus for the defensive group. Another I probably don’t have in for round 1 but he should be in the discussion at least.
  • Berry – was a bit untidy but was in everything. Bustled in and created uncertainty for the opposition. I think he might have trimmed down a bit.
  • Neale – another who was in everything. Looked back to his best.
  • Lyons – was round about but not that influential. Another was pretty scrappy.
  • Cockatoo – ran out the game much much better than last year. Did not get a heap of it but had an impact around the ball. Really solid game from him.
  • Cameron – I was expecting him to just mail it in but he actually covered a fair bit of ground in this one popping up a bit behind centre to help out. He was not going 100% but he did put in effort.
  • McCarthy – lead really well and looked dangerous whenever he was near the ball. Really nice game from him.
  • Daniher – looks like he has put on a few kilos and was a handful for the Crow defenders. His goal kicking was good and it would not shock me if he was up there in the Coleman race this year.
  • Rayner – got a lot of chances in the middle of the ground but did not look as sharp as last preseason. Still a solid run and I hope he continues to get the chances. Looked to be running more easily than previous years.
  • McStay – worked hard, got plenty of it and kicked a few lucky goals but his disposal was very scrappy. If he can maintain the workrate and tidy up his skills he could be very good this year.
  • Sharp – might have put on a little weight but not a heap. Only got a chance in the last quarter and was ignored a few times when open. He only got three disposals that I remember and I think one was a loopy handball and a couple of nice kicks. I don’t see him in the picture for round 1 but nice to see him out there again.
  • Prior was another who only played the last quarter or so. Was in the play a bit more than Sharp but did not set the world on fire. Looks to have bulked up a fair bit and is now a very solid unit.
  • Bailey – close to BOG especially early. Got a heap of it wherever he was on the park. Looks like he might take another step forward this year.
  • Ah Chee – did not really do much with the chance he got. Very quiet and I would be surprised if he was in round 1 contention. Played on the wing with some time back I think but was not very visible.
  • Fort – unlike our second rucks last year he was at least useful. Competed in the ruck and won his fair share although I wouldn’t say his taps were particularly to advantage. Worked hard around the ground and provided a contest. I think Fort as the second ruck helps our midfield quite a lot.
  • Umpires – the further the game went the more whistle happy they became. They need to calm the hell down and not make it all about them.
  • Overall I was really happy with our defensive unit. Looked very solid and capable defensively and got the ball moving quicker than the previous year. The mids I thought also moved the ball quicker although they were a bit scrappy with the ball as a general rule. I thought the spread was good although at times they reverted to the wing corridor game that dominated last year. The forwards also had a nice outing dominating their opposition. I would have liked a bit more forward pressure with the ball coming out.

• Sharp – might have put on a little weight but not a heap. Only got a chance in the last quarter and was ignored a few times when open. He only got three disposals that I remember and I think one was a loopy handball and a couple of nice kicks. I don’t see him in the picture for round 1 but nice to see him out there again.
  • Prior was another who only played the last quarter or so. Was in the play a bit more than Sharp but did not set the world on fire. Looks to have bulked up a fair bit and is now a very solid unit.
  • Ah Chee – did not really do much with the chance he got. Very quiet and I would be surprised if he was in round 1 contention. Played on the wing with some time back I think but was not very visible.
Not disagreeing with your assessment of them but pretty sure all three only played the last quarter (supposedly backing up from playing in the seconds). So really none had much time to show a lot.

A few thoughts on the game:

• Answerth started really nicely and made some nice runs on the wings. When he moved back he was not as influential and made a few poor kicks. Personally I liked him more on the wing and there are others to play back now.
  • Wilmott was a bit of the opposite. Started with some scrappy handballs but worked into the game well. Seems to find the ball easily which is encouraging. Had a few nice runs out of defence which we should be encouraging and which would add something to the unit. Defensively he was impressive for a rookie on his first outing. I still wouldn’t have him in my round 1 side but I don’t think he is a mile away and I would not be shocked if he was.
  • Madden also had a couple of nice runs from the back where his pace was a weapon. He still needs to get to space more but when he gets the ball he used it pretty well. Defensively he was excellent and his pace is a real bonus for the defensive group. Another I probably don’t have in for round 1 but he should be in the discussion at least.
  • Berry – was a bit untidy but was in everything. Bustled in and created uncertainty for the opposition. I think he might have trimmed down a bit.
  • Neale – another who was in everything. Looked back to his best.
  • Lyons – was round about but not that influential. Another was pretty scrappy.
  • Cockatoo – ran out the game much much better than last year. Did not get a heap of it but had an impact around the ball. Really solid game from him.
  • Cameron – I was expecting him to just mail it in but he actually covered a fair bit of ground in this one popping up a bit behind centre to help out. He was not going 100% but he did put in effort.
  • McCarthy – lead really well and looked dangerous whenever he was near the ball. Really nice game from him.
  • Daniher – looks like he has put on a few kilos and was a handful for the Crow defenders. His goal kicking was good and it would not shock me if he was up there in the Coleman race this year.
  • Rayner – got a lot of chances in the middle of the ground but did not look as sharp as last preseason. Still a solid run and I hope he continues to get the chances. Looked to be running more easily than previous years.
  • McStay – worked hard, got plenty of it and kicked a few lucky goals but his disposal was very scrappy. If he can maintain the workrate and tidy up his skills he could be very good this year.
  • Bailey – close to BOG especially early. Got a heap of it wherever he was on the park. Looks like he might take another step forward this year.
  • Fort – unlike our second rucks last year he was at least useful. Competed in the ruck and won his fair share although I wouldn’t say his taps were particularly to advantage. Worked hard around the ground and provided a contest. I think Fort as the second ruck helps our midfield quite a lot.
  • Umpires – the further the game went the more whistle happy they became. They need to calm the hell down and not make it all about them.
  • Overall I was really happy with our defensive unit. Looked very solid and capable defensively and got the ball moving quicker than the previous year. The mids I thought also moved the ball quicker although they were a bit scrappy with the ball as a general rule. I thought the spread was good although at times they reverted to the wing corridor game that dominated last year. The forwards also had a nice outing dominating their opposition. I would have liked a bit more forward pressure with the ball coming out.
Nice summary of our practice match v Adelaide
Glad both coaches decided on the 4 quarter format and not 6 like some clubs playing all youngsters against each other for 2 quarters
We appear to have got no injuries from the contest and had a good blowout against a struggling Crows side
Things will step up a bit v Dogs. Hopefully no injuries to either side on Friday evening at Marvel
Dogs will give us a better ideal how we are travelling without either side playing like 4 points are up for grab
However a loss to either coach should not be of great concern going into round 1

Unofficial Preview Preseason trial game - Brisbane v Adelaide, 10 am, Friday 25th