Pressing assault charges?

May 23, 2001
One for the legal boffins out there.

Our indoor soccer game was abandoned on Wednesday night after one of the ugliest brawls I think I've ever seen in any sporting event.

We were level with the top side at 3-3 just before half time, and needless to say they weren't too happy about it. One of them tripped up my mate, who turned around and said "Come off it mate".

The guy then gave him the biggest headbutt I've ever seen - it made Phil Carmen's tap look like Matthew Lloyd's. He then followed it up with a huge right hook. Needless to say it was on as we tried to grab the guy to stop him. He was about twice our size (and age!). One of my mates grabbed another one, who turned around and smashed him in the face.

It took 2-3 minutes for order to be restored, and the guys who run the place had to jump the counter to help out.

Anyway, my mates want to press charges? There was no way we instigated anything, and they were the ones who did all the punching. The owners said they have been given a lifetime ban and they would support us if any of us want to press charges.

Do my mates have a case, and is it worth the hassle?

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

Our indoor soccer game was abandoned on Wednesday night after one of the ugliest brawls I think I've ever seen in any sporting event.

We were level with the top side at 3-3 just before half time, and needless to say they weren't too happy about it. One of them tripped up my mate, who turned around and said "Come off it mate".

The guy then gave him the biggest headbutt I've ever seen - it made Phil Carmen's tap look like Matthew Lloyd's. He then followed it up with a huge right hook. Needless to say it was on as we tried to grab the guy to stop him. He was about twice our size (and age!). One of my mates grabbed another one, who turned around and smashed him in the face.

It took 2-3 minutes for order to be restored, and the guys who run the place had to jump the counter to help out.

Anyway, my mates want to press charges? There was no way we instigated anything, and they were the ones who did all the punching. The owners said they have been given a lifetime ban and they would support us if any of us want to press charges.

Definitley.

They should report the incident to teh police straight away.

The closer to teh event its done the better the evidence will be as they will go and interview the other people involved at a time which is closer to the event.

The evidence of the guy at the arena will be important.

Such violence is completely unacceptable and these people need to be taught a lesson

My experience with such people is that they are big men on the outside and scared little kids underneath

Just getting them investigated will scare the living s hit out of them.

A guy I know got his nose broken in a similar incident and he did nothing about it.

Until people take action, these things will continue.

Report them to the police ASAP is my advice.

Ugly stuff, I had a group of mates in an indoor soccer team who encountered a similar situation not as bad as yours. It's a shame that there's thugs out there who use sport as an excuse to go out and assault others participating in good natured, competitive sport.

Sorry, I've got no real legal advice myself though you should probably talk with your mates over the next day or two and see if they are keen in pressing further and then if you're keen visit a solicitor and discuss the situation and ask their advice and made a decision on that, taking into account any possible cost who it may incur.

It depends on you guys how far you want to push though, these bums may have a habit of assaulting others during sporting activities and so far have avoided prosecution because if they get banned from one comp or sport they just move on to another, it may be worth it just to show these bastards that thuggish assaults during sporting activities aren't acceptable.

After reading Jar's post, I agree completely with his advice.

You said how these guys were older so chances are they have got reasonably reponsible jobs whose employers would frown upon assualt charges. Go to the Police Station with your mates and provide a report of the details along with the witnesses account and details and hopefully they'll get charged and maybe will learn that their behaviour is not only unacceptable but also criminal.

Go for it.

And make sure your mates take 'em through the civil courts for their treatment expenses and any property damage as well, if the amount is substantial (ie if the amount sought exceeds the costs of doing so). If these guys are a bit older, they've probably got assets.

God, there really are some idiots around. Amazing that we (the Big Footy faithful) can play a game of football with quite a deal of physical contact and there wasn't even a hint of violence, yet in a sport with low physical contact some idiot decides to box on.

This idiot needs to be taught a lesson. I reckon press charges.

I'd agree with Jars, and report it to the police straight away. If you have a reliable and credible witness it will help your case, but if it eventuated into an all in brawl then I don't like your chances at all. You can also go for civil law and sue for damages, if any injuries were sustained.

Originally posted by Bee
I'd agree with Jars, and report it to the police straight away. If you have a reliable and credible witness it will help your case, but if it eventuated into an all in brawl then I don't like your chances at all. You can also go for civil law and sue for damages, if any injuries were sustained.

What happened after should not matter. I guess teh risk is that GH's team may also be charged if punches were thrown by them. Self defence would seem apt here though.

Even if its just scaring them wiht a police investigation, something will have been achieved.

Originally posted by Jars458

What happened after should not matter. I guess teh risk is that GH's team may also be charged if punches were thrown by them. Self defence would seem apt here though.

Yeah that's what I meant. If they retaliated in anyway they run the risk of being charged too. The law can be foggy on that.

Originally posted by Jars458

Even if its just scaring them wiht a police investigation, something will have been achieved.

Yep for sure.:)

Originally posted by Bee

Yeah that's what I meant. If they retaliated in anyway they run the risk of being charged too. The law can be foggy on that.

Yep for sure.:)

Yeah, it all happened so quick I'm not sure who threw punches from our side - I think it was more trying to hold guys down and stuff. I know I didn't throw any (not that it would matter!)

But certainly given they have received a life time ban and we have nothing against us it seems pretty clear the organisers and referee know who is to blame.

I'm not sure if they are serial offenders though, they won the premiership last year!

Anyway, I will tell my mates they have the support of the Bigfooty community - as I managed to avoid any injuries it doesn't really involve me (apart from been called as a witness) but there is nothing worse than seeing someone attack your mates - especially when he is smaller than I am!

Given the situation, it's surprising that the owners didn't call the police themselves. Would have been a lot better for all concerned if just as the assualts were occuring (or just after), one of the workers called the police, that way all the witnesses would have been present in the same location and could have given clear reports on the incidents. Would have also made the thugs realise just what bastards they have been, hope they're feeling proud of themselves taking on younger and smaller individuals.

Originally posted by Sydneyfan
Given the situation, it's surprising that the owners didn't call the police themselves. Would have been a lot better for all concerned if just as the assualts were occuring (or just after), one of the workers called the police, that way all the witnesses would have been present in the same location and could have given clear reports on the incidents. Would have also made the thugs realise just what bastards they have been, hope they're feeling proud of themselves taking on younger and smaller individuals.

I guess they didn't want the sports centre getting a bad reputation. It's a very well run comp from what I've seen, and the fact they acted so quickly seems to indicate they don't want people like that playing.

I don't think my mates took photos of any injuries they received, will that be a problem?

Just ring one of those solicitor type companies. I am sure there are some that are willing to just give you advice, perhaps for soem sort of fee, and it should not cost you an arm or a leg! From that, you should be able to ascertain whether to take legal action or not. Just make sure ya do all you can to deal with this, like talking to the owner of the place where the fight took place, and getting eye witnesses. IF your friends didn't take photos of the injuries, hopefully (from an evidence point of view!) some of the injury can still be seen, in which you can then take photos and note the time that has lasped between the 'incident' and now. Maybe there might be security videos?? Hope things work out for you :).

Where's dogwatcher QC? I remember him writing some stuff in regards to the alledged Collingwood 'w@nker' in a car.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

I guess they didn't want the sports centre getting a bad reputation. It's a very well run comp from what I've seen, and the fact they acted so quickly seems to indicate they don't want people like that playing.

I don't think my mates took photos of any injuries they received, will that be a problem?

Yeah, I'd guess it doesn't bode too well for the sports centre if people turn up to play sport and see police round the place investigating.

I'd say to your mates to take a photo now and date the photo, stating this is 2 days after the attack. Black eyes and bruising, etc. usually take a week or so to fully heal so the photos will still reveal evidence that an assault did indeed occur. It's also good to take a photo now because from my experience black eyes look just about as bad two days after than the day they occur.

I'd definately get the police involved. Screw 'em over I say. Or as somebody already mentioned, at least scare the sh|t out of them.

And it's good to see they've been banned from playing there ever again.

Originally posted by myee8
Where's dogwatcher QC? I remember him writing some stuff in regards to the alledged Collingwood 'w@nker' in a car.

Thanks for the reference Myee8, but unfortunately I've let you down, cant help with this one.
Oh by the way, I scored 80 per cent in both of the essays (defamation/contempt of court) that I was referring to in those long ago posts.

I wonder if GOALden Hawk pressed charges or not?

I wouldn't mind knowing the result either.

I know at Thomastown Indoor Sports they are very soft on this type of behaviour. They care about making money more than for the safety of its customers.

Pressing assault charges?