Analysis Pressure Acts Spreadsheet

Prestia actually plays games out though once he’s on the park. Conca can go awol anytime and any place. We miss Prestia badly atm , but do we really miss Reece? Ellis and Prestia are proven premiership players , whilst Conca has a poor finals record mainly due to injuries.
Up until this year TI, I'm with you.

Conca's body didn't give out, he just got unlucky that 100+kg hit his lower leg.

FWIW I don't think he'll get back in.

But I won't knock him this year, he was just wrong place, wrong time.

Interested in peoples thoughts on pressure and Towno.

His stats are quite low, lower than I thought they'd be. But I honestly think the spectre of Towno has defenders making bad decisions even when he's not that close. He physically smashes people. Smashes them. If two bodies are coming in opposite directions, Towno doesn't ever bounce backwards. He is rock solid, and the oppo goes down.

One of the few people genuinely able to inflict serious pain legally. And I think oppo know it.

Up until this year TI, I'm with you.

Conca's body didn't give out, he just got unlucky that 100+kg hit his lower leg.

FWIW I don't think he'll get back in.

But I won't knock him this year, he was just wrong place, wrong time.
I agree , but that’s the luck that follows him. It’s a miracle he maybe back in the VFL.

His stats are quite low, lower than I thought they'd be. But I honestly think the spectre of Towno has defenders making bad decisions even when he's not that close. He physically smashes people. Smashes them. If two bodies are coming in opposite directions, Towno doesn't ever bounce backwards. He is rock solid, and the oppo goes down.

One of the few people genuinely able to inflict serious pain legally. And I think oppo know it.
Underperforming

Oh yeah, not talking about his form. Sorry, didn't make that clear.

Purely talking re inferred pressure.

About how his physical presence has an effect?

Oh yeah, not talking about his form. Sorry, didn't make that clear.

Purely talking re inferred pressure.

About how his physical presence has an effect?
Still underperforming. lol mate.
He does have fear factor bc of presence , but opponents are exploiting him with speed. He’s been made accountable now as coaches have worked out his Achilles heel.

When people are drawing up their best22 they always make their choice between Conca and B.Ellis as to who stays in, this isn't the right choice. Conca stays in everyday of the week just for the pressure he puts on the opposition around the ground, up until a week ago (after missing a month) he was still 2nd on our tackle count, Conca's in our best 22, its really a choice between BEllis and Houli.

Conca is that unusual beast, a capable inside and outside mid, that provides defensive heat, 1%s and pressure. Nothing to elite standard, but the package is hard to beat. And yes BEllis is a completely different player. Similar in some ways to Bachar, KMac or Short. All attacking defensive players with great run.

Conca is physically unreliable though.
Imagine playing a final and losing Conca early with a hammie? Oh wait.
Whereas Brando is a physically fit beast and runs hard all game. He’ll be there until the end. I don’t trust Conca physically as well as his poor disposal he can be a time bomb.

In some ways. But Conca seems to be physically fine now. Having Buddy land on your leg is more luck than anything else.

Conca brings a whole package to our midfield. Recently I've been saying we need Graham and Prestia back, but haven't boosted for Conca. That isn't because he is not worthy. I just want to see him tear up the VFL first. Then who does he replace? the obvious choice is Snags Higgins. And I'm not convinced that Higgins is worth less than Conca to us right now. If it was Baker then I'd be fine. But Baker is in for small forward, which Reece ain't. IMHO if Reece tears it up over the next few weeks Dimma will have a major problem. Do we include a solid all round player that makes the team better? If so, who do we drop? Higgins has taken his spot and is doing very well. Nice problem to have (hopefully) :)

Given his tackling & Pressure #'s Conca plays when fit, who he replaces tho i have no idea, Higgins has done very well since playing more midfield time when he took over from Conca. It is indeed a nice problem to have.
P.S Conca's Finals record ain't flash but neither was Edwards's before last yr either. tho they weren't alone.

Round

dM4vwax.png

Season

wkOlZuc.png

No suprises. We know what Graham brings. George, Jack and Rioli all had poor games on the defensive side. Higgo and Caddy had good ones among the forwards.

Love Towner's work.

It isn't reflected in "Pressure Points". He doesn't spend enough time around the ball and in the face of the opposition while they have possession to rack up these stats. Like Rance zoning off 60m away from the ball carrier MUST put significant pressure on the kick, but he doesn't tick up a number for it. Or Dusty taking himself to the goal square. Imagine the pressure that puts on the poor bastard mid trying to tag him!

I was genuinely concerned that the umpies had one eye on Towner's, ahem, "body work" in marking contests. I thought he was done at AFL level. He still gives away free kicks, but not as many as I was expecting.

And you know that every spaghetti legs opposition HBF knows Towner is bearing down on them while they possess the footy...

Round 23

8TYkPGd.png

Season

RUEVRHJ.png

Higgo with his first gold and jumps into the top 5 for the first time. Watching live I was sure Castagna was going to post a huge number but this is just very good rather than great.

Conca's been down on form since coming back. Needs to lift.

Cotchin, Edwards and Higgins all averaging about 5 more PA per game over the last five rounds.

Analysis Pressure Acts Spreadsheet