• Thread starter Thread starter Headless

Watch what you say mate

These lads on here will bag you for mentioning this LOL

I wouldn't say no to playing all 3 up forward (Van Rooyen Schache, Brown)

Not a bad out-of-the-box suggestion. Ignore the Clique groupthink.

I've got no stats to back this up but I feel like tall forwards are never really our biggest issue. Normally the smalls and medium forwards that kill us I'd say

Except for that time that Hipwood kicked 5 against us in 2019 lol
Yeah I'm more worried about Bailey, Rayner and Gunston. Our mid sized backs are more likely giving up goals.

Midfield pressure and controlling the ball. That's how Hawks beat them. Hawks are a good stoppage team and the Lions smashed them. But uncontested possessions the Hawks had 100 more. They just kept the footy off them and pressured like mad when Lions actually had it.

Out of the two of them i would have thought Grundy was the more in form, although neither seemed decent against Marshall last week. Gawn probs did a bit more around the ground, and Grundy had a spell of being the sole ruckman earlier in the year and wasn't to exciting either so idk

Grundy's TOG has been a bit lower the last month or so, and he had that mystery injury in the Cats (or was it the Pies?) game. Think there's a ton of different factors going into this decision but I reckon he'll be back next week or the week after at latest and it will only benefit him heading into finals. Yze said on the DeeBrief pod that we'd be managing in that way this year to ensure we're peaking in September rather than desperately trying to win every game and riding players into the ground (paraphrasing).

Like we did by having Oliver running a couple of days post his 'minor' hamstring injury? Or Gawn being rushed to return ahead of schedule when we already had an AA ruck holding it down in his absence?

They've trotted out this line numerous times this year – I'll believe it when I see it.

Re Grundy, I think it's more about giving Max the space to find his form, which he hasn't recaptured since going down (and being rushed back) with injury.

Similarly to others, I'd argue Grundy has been better than Max this year (though his defensive work is atrocious).

I'm guessing the thinking is giving Gawn plenty of ruck minutes over the next couple of weeks to hopefully build form and touch, then re-integrating Grundy so that they're both operating at 100% capacity come finals. Whether that's the right strategy or not, who knows. But I wish they'd stop fiddling with the forward structure on a near-weekly basis – just pick your preferred mix and give them the chance to build some chemistry & connection over the final stretch of the year (might already be too late).

Like we did by having Oliver running a couple of days post his 'minor' hamstring injury? Or Gawn being rushed to return ahead of schedule when we already had an AA ruck holding it down in his absence?

They've trotted out this line numerous times this year – I'll believe it when I see it.

That's injury management rather than load management though. I wouldn't class those as exactly the same.

Plus, have seen a fair few physios saying the running in a few days thing is pretty normal - messy after that, but I'm putting that pretty much all on Clarry given what we've seen/heard about him and the foot infection mishap.

Let’s face it - Grawndy hasn’t worked. 600k in misdirected cap money when the side is screaming out for goalkickers.

Bad decision making that’s effectively dropped us back to the chasing pack instead of being a genuine contender.

A failed and costly gamble.

INS – Jacob van Rooyen
OUTS – Brodie Grundy (omitted)

Re Grundy, I think it's more about giving Max the space to find his form, which he hasn't recaptured since going down (and being rushed back) with injury.

Similarly to others, I'd argue Grundy has been better than Max this year (though his defensive work is atrocious).

I'm guessing the thinking is giving Gawn plenty of ruck minutes over the next couple of weeks to hopefully build form and touch, then re-integrating Grundy so that they're both operating at 100% capacity come finals. Whether that's the right strategy or not, who knows. But I wish they'd stop fiddling with the forward structure on a near-weekly basis – just pick your preferred mix and give them the chance to build some chemistry & connection over the final stretch of the year (might already be too late).

I would add Grundy is totally out of form as well and pretty much has been all year. It will be a blow to his ego but he needs to get some form in the VFL and then comeback in. I still think the combo can work but it is pointless if he is playing like he is.

The Brown + JVR combo is the best step forward for me. Will be interesting to see if Melksham will drop off or not.

Grundy omitted spending some time down in a different environment.
To work on his forward craft (while Casey have a bye).

Sounds like Grundy will be down for a while as it’s tricky to develop when the team doesn’t play.

To quote Terry Wallace “I’ll spew up” if I see Grundy as first ruck in the VFL.

Drop Grundy, no worries. What about the other flogs who have struggled all season like Gus, Langdon and Pickett lately? Grundy not mates with Goody yet so doesn't get the free pass