Preview Preview R6: Changes vs. GWS Giants

Has to be a minimum of 5 changes if Nicks is fair dinkum.

Peatling (susp)
Sholl (omitted)
ROB (omitted)
Draper (rested/managed)
Curtin (rested/managed)

Ins
McAndrew (cant be any worse than ROB)
Dowling
Bond
Shoenburg or Pedlar
Butts (need someone to lock down on Hogan)

Peatling (susp)
Sholl (omitted)
ROB (omitted)
Draper (rested/managed)
Curtin (rested/managed)

Ins
Dowling
Bond
Shoenburg or Pedlar

Draper and Curtin getting dropped would be a disaster.

Peatling (susp)
Sholl (omitted)
ROB (omitted)
Draper (rested/managed)
Curtin (rested/managed)

Ins
Dowling
Bond
Shoenburg or Pedlar
They'll all get a do-over due to the hot weather the week before plus the 5 day break

Peatling out the only change I reckon. Taylor full game.

So sub spot up for grabs.

Draper and Curtin getting dropped would be a disaster.

Reality is they both had full TOG% and combined had a dozen touches. We’re not that good that we can deliberately carry underperforming players and still beat the top few. To continue playing them among the current structure, we have to admit that we’re not genuinely contending this year. I’m not sure that’s our current mindset.

Curtins previous 3 weeks had been good.

Draper if we aren’t going to give him midfield time might as well make the sub again.

Sholl and ROB, have to be dropped.
Peatling susp.

Butts, McAndrew and Taylor full game
Nank to wing
Draper sub

Curtin has been really good the last few weeks and Draper brings elements to the team that others in our squad don't.

Dropping them after 1 bad game would be idiotic . Both need games pumped into them.

Curtin has been really good the last few weeks and Draper brings elements to the team that others in our squad don't.

Dropping them after 1 bad game would be idiotic . Both need games pumped into them.

I agree, but there's coaching and head of footy roles that are depending on wins now. Decisions made at 3-0 and 3-1 get harder at 3-2 with the run we've got coming up.

Peatling (susp)
Sholl (omitted)
ROB (omitted)
Draper (rested/managed)
Curtin (rested/managed)

Ins
Dowling
Bond
Shoenburg or Pedlar

That's commonsense but Nicks is risk and intelligence adverse.

Fair. And despite the usual suspects rushing in to defend Cumming on BRL121's post, I am glad we got him.

Think he is a great addition, was happy to give him a long contract and think he is, obviously, best 22. Just have been very very underwhelmed through the first 5 games. Has done some nice things, but so has almost every player that has played so far this year.

Jeffcrowe - Your thoughts on Cumming so far?
Solid enough , very classy ball use and able to hit targets with great composure

Also I don’t get too carried away with stats only for wingmen as there’s much more to it than just raw possession numbers

He’s a smart player and I like him

Peatling is the best of our 3 recruits though , thought that at the time too and nothing has changed my mind . He’s a real need

Nicks should have used him in centre square more against cats and Dawson less who went at 38% efficiency and looked sore

Cannot see Curtin being good on the wing, he’s not quick enough nor does he have the tank yet, but I have had enough of seeing sholl rag dolled in a tackle or pushed aside in a marking contest.
Rob just shits me to tears, honestly there should be a minimum skill standard to get past in u18s and if you can’t meet that you don’t get through.
He also has zero football IQ.
Curtin will be a good wing in time , not ready yet

Easily quick enough

What did you think of keane’s last 2 games ?
So are you suggesting it isn’t now that Butts wasn’t fit it was Keane’s form?

He played well but I would prefer he plays as that second tall so he can be more creative than man gorillas like Hogan. That should be Butts job. Do you disagree?

So Jeffcrowe who is your preferred defender on Hogan, Keane or Butts
Keane is a better player than Butts , clearly . I mean he had 14 intercept possessions and had 24 disposals at 79% so he was in best few on the ground for us at least

Keane a better option but it does take away some of his offence , just thinking re other talls they have , Cadman who is more a floater

I wouldn’t pick Butts against the predominantly mobile forward line the giants run . Max on Greene , Worrell on Cadman and I’d prefer Nank in than Butts

I’m with Jeff, too much focus on defence personnel. Not enough focus on failures up the field and in our defensive system allowing fast ball into our d50.

Having said that, I would play Butts if Murray isn’t out there. Assuming Butts is fit.

What I'm seeing is a borderline wingman being comparable to a borderline wing season from a bloke coming back from injury. And only due to Sholl proving he fails in games with high pressure ratings, he'd be in selection discussions. But he did hit a couple of the best passes I've seen at our club over the last few years. But if we're going to be a genuine top 4 contenders over multiple years, then his output this far is one of the few we'd be needing to improve upon.
I think it’s coming , will not surprise me if a break out game comes soon

I’d prefer Chayce than Sholl but Dowling comes in for Sholl for mine

I started today halfway through Page 10 and it's depressing reading :sadv1: .

So many obvious things that need to be fixed but we're stuck with a Head Coach
--- who took 2+ years to work out that McHenry was not AFL standard ...
--- who has taken longer than that to work out what a spud Murphy is ...
--- who has still not worked out our best mid rotations in spite of vastly improved personnel eg overuse of Crouch and Dawson, underuse of Peatling who looks like a born mid to me
... and that's not the worst of it
--- he has blind faith in RoB and Sholl and is clinging to hope that Milera will again be what he once was ...
--- he has shown time and again that he is treacle-pouring-slow to learn, improve and make changes especially on Game Day where he shows serious deficiencies in planning ahead for particular opponents (Selection), or conditions, or 6- and 5-day breaks. Opponent goal runs of 3 or more are still not addressed with no insight into nuances of pacing (slow down/ absorb/ speed up). Under Nicks the Crows have one pace: flat-out, which is why so many red time goals are scored against us, against which Nicks has no responses. Even with Burgess, the Crows are not pacing themselves and run out of gas late in quarters. NO team can go flat-out, all game, after a heat-affected game followed by a 5-day break.
--- he has no plan for winning close games.
The posters below are spot on:
given Nicks' completely non-existent gameday coaching ability none of the changes matter unless they begin with Out: Nicks.
+
I have had enough of seeing sholl rag dolled in a tackle or pushed aside in a marking contest.
(he does not and will never stand up in high pressure situations. I'll bet he trains looking like a Brownlow Medallist, all smooth and elite kick ... until the heat's on against tough opponents.
He reminds me of a scrawny version of that Pommie Rugby player who was literally run over and trampled by Jonah Lomu)
Rob just shits me to tears, honestly there should be a minimum skill standard to get past in u18s and if you can’t meet that you don’t get through. He also has zero football IQ.
Yep, as summarised by arsene wenger1 here:
What about the fact that we’re playing with one less player when he’s out there. Drops uncontested chest marks in the backline, is the clear worst kick in the league, completely panics whenever receiving a handball. Has no aerial presence as he just flaps his arms around like a demented penguin...
Rarely taps TO, or in the path of a running mid's advantage (unless opposition, whom he pinpoints often).
Worst kick in the League? Absolutely.
He does not "run", he lumbers; at medium pace only.
He gets in the way of faster, better teammates.

Like I said, depressing.
I want to get enthusiastic about Thilthorpe/Tex/Fogarty, Dawson, Rankine, Rachele, Soligo, MaxM, Hinge, Murray, Peatling/ANB/Cumming, Curtin/Draper but then I look at the selections for the GCS/Cats games, the poor defence, the lack of planning re the heat and short breaks and the ways they played vs Cats.
I can only conclude that Nicks is holding them back and they will never be as good as they can be with him as Head Coach.

Preview Preview R6: Changes vs. GWS Giants