Priddis

OK you just keep on bagging a player who in the last two weeks has had a huge impact on the team.........It seems that you are comparing him to players with 150 or so games to their names...I ask you was Tyson Edwards the number 1 midfielder for Adelaide after 30 or so games? I think not, he has developed into the player he is over a number of years.....
Actually, it's not me who's comparing him. It's others. I never said he was a tier 1, I never said he will win the brownlow this year, I never said he was worth a top 5 pick.

So just because most of us gave him votes for having a good game..we are wrong?

Geez bb..get a hold of yourself, dude. He is an Eagle, if you think he is over-rated then okay that's your opinion, as many have said before, he is a B-grader who does his job well. He is a clearance machine and loves it in tight, he is like our Sam Mitchell. I will gladly take an extra 30+ possession he gets rather than an opposition player have them.

Being at the game I did notice him just throw it on the boot quite a few times but he was very good.

I don't think it's a co-incidence that when Priddis has played the Eagles have played their best footy, even when Kerr has been absent. I think his influence on the team is far better than that of a good ordinary player.

Being at the game I did notice him just throw it on the boot quite a few times but he was very good.

Yeh and how often did Cousins used to do that. Smash a pack have a man grabbing hold of him and just put it on the boot. It is the highest pressure position, you don't get second chances to line up a player.

So just because most of us gave him votes for having a good game..we are wrong?
Not that simple. He has been over rated again and again and again. Anyone who gave him BOG or even second (and a fir few people did), are not really analysing his game properly.

The rest of it is about the monstrous over rating Eagles fans have been doing for sometime. You can't say anything slightly negative about him without 20 deluded supporters coming in and jumping up and down.

Geez bb..get a hold of yourself, dude. He is an Eagle, if you think he is over-rated then okay that's your opinion, as many have said before, he is a B-grader who does his job well.
Which is what I have always said. But just like them, you come in here as if I've said he's a dud and should be dropped.

As I said, I'm not the one who is wrong here.

He is a clearance machine and loves it in tight, he is like our Sam Mitchell.
But just not in the same league as Mitchell.

I will gladly take an extra 30+ possession he gets rather than an opposition player have them.
I've never said he shouldn't get a game.

Yeh and how often did Cousins used to do that. Smash a pack have a man grabbing hold of him and just put it on the boot. It is the highest pressure position, you don't get second chances to line up a player.
Very very very rare. Cousins could almost always elude the opposition. He'd often smimmy and players would part, leaving him in space.

I'm not expecting anyone, let alone Priddis do that. But your Mitchells and Kirks can often either elude opponents or get the handball out to a free player. Priddis is not in these player's leagues yet often (ie constantly) people talk as if he is.

I understand what you are saying, the reason he got so many votes was because he keeps extracting the ball and feeding other players, his attacking side of his game isnt damaging, yes, but atleast he makes up for it in other areas. He is still young, he will improve.

wish I had a tape of this guys game to show you guys. Was ok tonight, but that's it. So many time I saw him handball to someone under pressure or bang it on the boot.

I just had a look at everyone's votes - and many gave him 4 or 5 points. WTF?

Excuses Bunsen for your WELLS comments mate , Priddas>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Wells.

2) Doesn't seem to be able to buy himself time. ie Cousins would be in tight, run away, turn around, and be in space with time to make a decision. Judd and Kerr shrug tackles. Priddis does neither, just bangs it on the fist or boot.

This comes in time Bunsen Cousins struggled a little with this early days of his career to. Go grab the Video of Cuzz when he started out.

Excuses Bunsen for your WELLS comments mate , Priddas>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Wells.
What are you on about, idiot? I'm pretty much saying the same thing here. There's no need for excuses.

You just another dumb arse who can't handle anything negative being said about an Eagles player. I have never said he's crap or shouldn't get a game.

This comes in time Bunsen Cousins struggled a little with this early days of his career to. Go grab the Video of Cuzz when he started out.
You are clueless. I watched every game he played. He was a gun from go. It amuses me people talk up Masten and Ebert as "how good are these guys going to be" but neither are a patch on Cousins. I knew Cousins was a champion the first time I saw him play. I think Masten will be very good, but let's not kid ourselves - he hasn't shown what Cusins did at the same stage in his career.

And whilst Priddis may improve, I don't think there's a sane person who thinks he'll ever be in the Cousins league. Cousins was a child prodigy, debuted at 17, and pretty much cut it straight away.

What are you on about, idiot? I'm pretty much saying the same thing here. There's no need for excuses.

You just another dumb arse who can't handle anything negative being said about an Eagles player. I have never said he's crap or shouldn't get a game.

D***head you have not stop banging on about how Priddas is Shyte without actually coming out and saying it.
So Priddas dosen't use the ball 100% when he gets it whoopee the guy is a machine for the hard ball which every team needs he is a gun footballer ( IMO how dare I...:eek: ) and you cant except it , WHY IT'S GOT ME BUGGED.:thumbsd:
You need a lye down dude and a few paracetamol wouldn't go a stray.

D***head you have not stop banging on about how Priddas is Shyte without actually coming out and saying it.
So you agree that I have never said it. So why are you blabbering like a girl?

So Priddas dosen't use the ball 100% when he gets it whoopee the guy is a machine for the hard ball which every team needs he is a gun footballer ( IMO how dare I...:eek: ) and you cant except it , WHY IT'S GOT ME BUGGED.:thumbsd:
You need a lye down dude and a few paracetamol wouldn't go a stray.
I can only laugh at a blouse like you who is wailing like a bitch over something you admit I haven't said.

Not a bright spark, are you toots?

This guy is an absolute ball magnet in every essence of the term. If he played a whole year he would have the most possessions in the AFL in my belief. Would just love to see his effectiveness improve cause then he'd be an absolute star.

disagree here strongly.

PRIDDIS returning is the main reason for our turnaround.

He is like Hercules in the middle of packs.

He sometimes just blazes his kick simply because they are kicked under sever pressure of many opposition players after he has physically ripped the ball out of their possesion through feats of strentgth.

Can you imagine how many times the opposition could have the ball out of packs if it was not for him.

Man at least the ball goes forward and not the other way with amazing defence cutting speed as was seen in previous games.

He has cut out maybe 10 -20 opposition breakeaways by getting in the way and not flinching!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Actually, it's not me who's comparing him. It's others. I never said he was a tier 1, I never said he will win the brownlow this year, I never said he was worth a top 5 pick.

You actually compared him to Cousins when you were castigating other people for giving him votes.
I gave him 4 votes, but didn't say he was in the same class as Cousins, just thought he had a good game and was a major factor in our win. He may not be A grade but is as close as we've got till Kerr comes back.

He is like Hercules in the middle of packs.

He sometimes just blazes his kick simply because they are kicked under sever pressure of many opposition players after he has physically ripped the ball out of their possesion through feats of strentgth.
Get your hand off it.

Are we watching the same player. Go look at a tape from last night - i'd say easily 1 third were not to clear advantage.

What's in question is how much he deserves. He will not win a brownlow, he is not worth a top 5 pick, he is not a tier 1 midfielder, and he wasn't BOG last night.

What are you on about?

It is pleasureable when a player gets the ball and disposes to clear advantage. I always get a buzz out of that. Intelligent football. (But not here talking about Priddis; because i like that kind of play, i find Priddis frustrating)

Sure Priddis deserves kudos. Gets the freakin ball. Same could be said about Mainwaring. He was incredible in reading where the ball was soon to be kicked. I never enjoyed his disposal though. Oddly frustrating. And when it was one of those games when he kicked well to players or even goaled, it was relief, and an obvious contrast. Other games anxious and frustrating. But he was in a star team, which kind of covered for his shortcomings.

Priddis is not a tier 1 midfielder. Yet. Oh yeah, and I like his tackling.

Bunsen, your tone... as in Why be unpleasant?

Had to repost to give necessary emphasis to 'Fightin Guy', aka BB

I don't agree.
I noticed his errors but i think the good work he did far outweighed them. Clearance machine and i definitely noticed him leading the midfield out there.

Priddis makes the Eagles that much more effective. Whether it's simply his on-ball ability which free's up other players, or just his ability to run and create space. I think our midfield fuctions 50% better with him in the mix.
That is because he gave us something we were dearly lacking.

Some midfield leadership.

Bag his couple of mistakes if you must, but his influence over the youn g blokes was very obvious and extremely important.

why he will be a 200 game player..

looks after his body
hes not super quick which lessems wear n tear injuires like Hammies
hes the best reader of the play we have (especially at stoppages)

Apparently we should:
A) Wait until the next Judd and Cousins come to our club only then will we have a tier 1 midfielder.:rolleyes:
B) Never defend players particularly if the criticism is inaccurate.:(
C) Agree with Bunsen. Because B) is only for little girly girly's.:rolleyes:
D) Agree that none of our debutants will ever be as good as Judd and Cousins and this is obvious because one can in a game or 5 decide who will be a champion and who will not.:rolleyes:
E) Never compare Cousins to anyone. See D or C.:o
F) Priddis is crap and scrapes into our side because frankly he turns the ball over far too much. He is an honest toiler who'll never compare to.... well you know who I mean.
G) Clearly when rebuilding dump on your players at every opportunity and make it clear to them their efforts and skills are not up to scratch. O h yeah and to mix threads trade your second ruckman and replace him with a rookie who's never played an afl game.:confused:

Apparently we should:
A) Wait until the next Judd and Cousins come to our club only then will we have a tier 1 midfielder.:rolleyes:
D) Agree that none of our debutants will ever be as good as Judd and Cousins and this is obvious because one can in a game or 5 decide who will be a champion and who will not.:rolleyes:
F) Priddis is crap and scrapes into our side because frankly he turns the ball over far too much. He is an honest toiler who'll never compare to.... well you know who I mean.
G) Clearly when rebuilding dump on your players at every opportunity and make it clear to them their efforts and skills are not up to scratch. O h yeah and to mix threads trade your second ruckman and replace him with a rookie who's never played an afl game.:confused:
Look at the facts:
1) Priddis has played 31 games. 5 more then lecras, 16 less then Rosa.
2) Its his 2nd game back after his injury.
3) Hasnt been able to do any skills work at training Due Injury.
4) Maybe rusty but getting better every game.
5) Was wet on Sat and everyones disposals ordinary.
6) He IS A CHAMPION as no other 30 gamer would have that amount of responsibility.

* yes get rid of the Ruckman as we could get some one better!

# Stop Sooking cause no one is agreeing with you, this is a forum and everyone allowed their own opinion! Get Over it.:cool:

Dude, seriously, you are carrying on like a bitch. Half that shit you have just made up.

Apparently we should:
Perhaps you can show me where I have said or implied this?

wahhh! I can't handle any criticism of my team!

You do carry on like a bitch. Right here you are carrying on like a drama queen by over reacting and makng stuff up.

It's not hard to tell.

Having a bet both ways here. Am I comparing hm, r am I not?

F) Priddis is crap and scrapes into our side because frankly he turns the ball over far too much.
Feel free to quote me on this. Drama queening once again.

G) Clearly when rebuilding dump on your players at every opportunity and make it clear to them their efforts and skills are not up to scratch.
You thinl their self confidence hinges on what is written here?

OMG you are an idiot. 12? 13? 11?

O h yeah and to mix threads trade your second ruckman and replace him with a rookie who's never played an afl game.:confused:
Once again, feel free to quote where I have said this.

You are an absolute knob of a bloke.

Priddis didn't just have an injury (which he had been carrying for a number of weeks) he had an operation, then a setback. He had only started kicking a week before he came back. He was supposed to be eased back in gradually with more time over several weeks. He ran 15.8 Ks in his first game back, and they did not have the luxury of leaving him off the ground more. His strength to weight ratio is the best in the team and his fitness, well why do you think Kerry calls him Mr Football? He is a tackling and clearance specialist. Have a close look at last year's tapes. Watch the stoppages and see who threads the eye of a needle to clear the ball to Judd, so he could do some of his trade mark runs. Judd was never at the bottom of packs, and when Judd went forward he never had a defender because other players had to pick up his player. Our much maligned Rowan Jones the main culprit who had to cover two men. How well is Judd managing the tags now that he doesn't get fed the ball and the other players around him not covering his player.
My point, every player has a role to play in the team, their instructions come from the coaching staff, we are not privy to them. Let's leave them to do their job without bagging individual players.