Prison Life

Sounds like things are much better here than they are in the US.
Inmates at an Alabama prison plan to stage a work stoppage this weekend and hope to spur an escalating strike wave, a leader of the effort told Salon in a Thursday phone call from his jail cell.

“We decided that the only weapon or strategy … that we have is our labor, because that’s the only reason that we’re here,” said Melvin Ray, an inmate at the St. Clair correctional facility and founder of the prison-based group Free Alabama Movement. “They’re incarcerating people for the free labor.”
http://www.salon.com/2014/04/18/exc...abama_declare_they’re_running_a_slave_empire/

Our greatest allies, 'O'er the laaaaaaaaaaaaand of the free'

Inside Outlaws by Dr. Tim Anderson talks about life in prison during the early 80s in NSW based on his time inside when he was accused of the Hilton bombing. It sounded pretty primitive back then, but it was really interesting to read about it from a total outsiders perspective, knowing that he was innocent must have made the whole experience even tougher.

Sounds like things are much better here than they are in the US.

http://www.salon.com/2014/04/18/exclusive_prison_inmates_to_strike_in_alabama_declare_they’re_running_a_slave_empire/

Our greatest allies, 'O'er the laaaaaaaaaaaaand of the free'
"Transported for life to the colonies, and for what? Scum I was to that beak, nothing but scum. 'Tis for my accent and my situation that I am condemned. 'Tis for the want of better graces and the influence they bring that I am to board this prison hulk."

"And all those murders you done."

My uncle did 10 years said he was 2 cells down from Chopper back in the day (Said his a rat and a coward)

Said it was pretty easy did a course and was extremely fit when he got out

Seems like its a holiday to be honest

The most neglected element of prison life is the deprivation of liberty. This is the true and only purpose of prison, given that deterrence, retribution and rehabilitation are bullshit. Unless you've been deprived of your freedom, you will never know its value.

"Transported for life to the colonies, and for what? Scum I was to that beak, nothing but scum. 'Tis for my accent and my situation that I am condemned. 'Tis for the want of better graces and the influence they bring that I am to board this prison hulk."

"And all those murders you done."

That's just... Nasty.

The most neglected element of prison life is the deprivation of liberty. This is the true and only purpose of prison, given that deterrence, retribution and rehabilitation are bullshit. Unless you've been deprived of your freedom, you will never know its value.

Yes but a lot of the people who go to prison have pretty bad life's so most think its like a holiday

This. My uncle is a cop and he reckons they get a lot of repeat offenders who want to go to jail because they get a roof over their heads, showers and 3 meals a day all for free.

Daytripper

You and I have had our differences but this is a great thread topic
Prison time is tough, whoever says its a holiday is just not truthful
I have a couple of good mates who work in the system, one at Hopkins in Ararat and one at the Laverton max facility
Even though there are chances for rehabilitation for those who genuinely try to do so, re offending is rife and internally these places are still quite dangerous for those who are just going in in particular
I played footy against a guy who spent some time inside for a stupid error that caused the death of a couple in a car accident
He was/ is a hell of a nice fella, but for ever will be effected by his own guilt and his time inside, of course his own doing
My friend at Laverton spent time working at Barwon before switching from Dept of Justice to a privately run facility , on account of much less corruption according to him
He said Barwon was a cess pool of nastiness, not only from the prisoners but the staff were just as bad if not worse

This. My uncle is a cop and he reckons they get a lot of repeat offenders who want to go to jail because they get a roof over their heads, showers and 3 meals a day all for free.

Thats been going on for decades in the U.S

Chicago, New York...really cold cities in winter have a big spike in minor offences because low lives, the homeless and petty criminals want to get out of the snow.

Daytripper

You and I have had our differences but this is a great thread topic
Prison time is tough, whoever says its a holiday is just not truthful
I have a couple of good mates who work in the system, one at Hopkins in Ararat and one at the Laverton max facility
Even though there are chances for rehabilitation for those who genuinely try to do so, re offending is rife and internally these places are still quite dangerous for those who are just going in in particular
I played footy against a guy who spent some time inside for a stupid error that caused the death of a couple in a car accident
He was/ is a hell of a nice fella, but for ever will be effected by his own guilt and his time inside, of course his own doing
My friend at Laverton spent time working at Barwon before switching from Dept of Justice to a privately run facility , on account of much less corruption according to him
He said Barwon was a cess pool of nastiness, not only from the prisoners but the staff were just as bad if not worse

lol, I worked at Barwon and every single crook who I spoke to, preferred Barwon to Port Phillip and all of their visitors preferred it too. The reason? The dodgy staff of the privately owned facility. We actually had one mother coming into visit her son who broke down and cried while processing her in for a visit because we were so nice to her.

As for the nastiness. In four years I worked at Barwon, there was the murder of Williams, a crook who was a Swans supporter had his throat cut with the lid of a tuna can because the Swans were flying and he was winning the footy tipping and didn't mind letting everyone know about it and another had a pot full of boiling water and honey poured over him. Apart from that, there were really only minor scuffles. I was very surprised by how little happened in a maximum security prison.

As for the staff, you're friend might be right there, I think it's the nature of the job, in general it's mind numbingly boring and the staff have too much time to sit around gossiping and bitching about each other.

I have got a couple of mates who just got released after 2 and a bit years for drug offences. They were relative clean-skins at the time of their arrest however because of the scale of the criminality they got a decent whack by the judge even for first timers.

Now these guys aren't huge body builders or anything. Just your standard 5'10, 75kg kilo blokes in their mid 20s.

Some of the things they've told me :

*The Remand Centre in Spencer St is by far the worst place to be in as everyone is mixed together regardless of the offence.

ahaahaha I've been there and yep, it sucks dogs balls.

*The old 'don't pick up the soap in the shower' sort of thing is massively over-rated. Sure there are some young fellas who might put themselves out for drugs but overall it really doesn't happen - and if it does it gets kept pretty quiet.

*Drugs of choice are sleeping tablets (for the long termers) and pot (in the country prisons).

*In the medium security country prison they were housed in a 6 man cabin. This contained a television, lounge, kitchen, bathroom - just like a normal house but fairly bare. It was fairly cruisy except if you got some nutter in your cabin. Unfortunately you don't get too choose your flatmates !!!!!

*It can get pretty tense at times and you have to be on alert most of the time.

*If you mind your own business you will generally get left alone however this didn't stop one bloke throwing a weight at one of my mates one day because he thought he was looking at him.

*The saddest individuals in there are the guys who get locked up for driving offences. They are suddenly thrown into another world amongst people who talk and act in a different language.

*All in all its not that pleasant but its also not as bad as its made out either.

I know it might be different in maximum security.

Anyone else got any tales ?

Only that as you said, rape is not as common as its made out to be (and thank god for that).

*If you mind your own business you will generally get left alone however this didn't stop one bloke throwing a weight at one of my mates one day because he thought he was looking at him.
I don't believe this part is necessarily true. Got a mate who did a stretch at a few different places and he reckons if you mind your business you attract bullies and predators. He learnt pretty quick he had to align himself with a group to keep the bully boys at bay. And then mind his business. Essentially he said he was in a hotel with the the dumbest and most disfunctional section of society. Meatheads who want to stab people over a $5 phonecard.

Sage advice for you now, Bogsy.

I did a month in Hakea Prison in 2015. It was only a month so it wasn't too bad. I had done 9 months in prison in England before about 10 years ago when I was 20 so I suppose that helped. The first time in prison for anybody is really hard but you just get used to it and make the best of it. I usually get on with people so found it easy to make friends to hang out with. There are some people you want to avoid and the worst thing to do is pretend you are hard or somebody you're not as somebody will take you on. I'd agree that prison is no place to be a loner either as they do stand out and can get bullied. There are always some fights but that's just like being in school or after a nightclub at the weekend. You don't want to do anything to piss off the guards but most were OK with me. The worst people in prison are young guys who try to play up and kick off over anything. At the end of the day you are all n the same boat and going through the same shit. It's harder for guys with families who are missing them instead of single guys.

Out of interest how has the nephew gone in the years since being out? Stint in juvey straighten him out, or graduated to the real thing?
I know a couple of guys that spent about 6 months in juvy. The common theme was that juvy was made up of two groups. One group that want to straighten up and not go back and the other half that are pretty much proud of being in there and thi is the life they have choosen

Sent from my SM-P555 using Tapatalk

Out of interest how has the nephew gone in the years since being out? Stint in juvey straighten him out, or graduated to the real thing?

He was still pretty wild after that and actually went back for another stint. But he is now 21 and has settled down. He has a good job and he and his partner have just had a baby. Which makes me a great uncle. Yikes.