- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
sure it does

LIVE: Adelaide v Geelong - Rd 13 - 7:00PM Thu
Squiggle tips Cats at 57% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 13 Games
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 13
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Back in the day you were no chance at an apprenticeship if you went to private school - there was a perception it made you softProbably not common? But I wonder on the opposite side of things if any/many employers have a preference for the non private schooled when trying to find the right person for the job.
Probably not common? But I wonder on the opposite side of things if any/many employers have a preference for the non private schooled when trying to find the right person for the job.
Really, plenty of my mates went on to be tradies and now earn more money than me who went onto to do my education degree.Back in the day you were no chance at an apprenticeship if you went to private school - there was a perception it made you soft
Dunno about these days
Plenty of drug and alcohol addiction too.Yeah, good money in trades as long as you don’t wreck your body
Really, plenty of my mates went on to be tradies and now earn more money than me who went onto to do my education degree.
I almost choked on my lunch when catching up with one who is brick layer. Broke down his daily earnings and he earns $2 for every brick he lays (works his ring off each day). Booked for months and just paid for a new ute in cash.
Puts me to shame.
By then the good ones have people work for them. My uncle has his own engineering company that makes and install fences. His back is cactus now but still makes enough to fund his lifestyle while he has workers to do the heavy lifting.Yeah, good money in trades as long as you don’t wreck your body
FIFO work is another layer and different to standard 'tradie around the corner' scenario.Plenty of drug and alcohol addiction too.
Starts young (from apprenticeship) with drinking, quickly adding rec drugs, then as pain from work injuries and just wear and tear kicks in, the pain medication comes out. This isn't to look down on tradies, it's just reality for far too many.
Throw in family stress from FIFO work and it's a pretty fraught career path.
Yea all industries have issues. Building and trades have particular problems that aren’t helped by minimising their severity.FIFO work is another layer and different to standard 'tradie around the corner' scenario.
Drugs and drinking being plenty is a broad brush.
Yes some like a drink, but you could say that about corporate jobs too. Even truckies. I've got some teacher mates that love a drink.
Wear and tear is the same in any industry that uses repetitive muscle groups. For instance in retail, wrists, knees and back.
For teachers, wrists, knees, back, kneck. Its all about training how to limit this OHS ergonomic problems.
There are certainly opportunities to make good money, but for a lot of blokes it’s a hard slog. I read a study a while ago that followed 1000 apprentices for 12 months. They collectively had 800 injuries in that period, 200 of which were classed as serious.By then the good ones have people work for them. My uncle has his own engineering company that makes and install fences. His back is cactus now but still makes enough to fund his lifestyle while he has workers to do the heavy lifting.
A mate has his own pumbing company. Rarely does he go to jobs now or does em solo. He will go the bigger jobs and does the less strenuous side of it. The younger blokes do the rest.
Yeah that sucks. My oldest had good enough grades to get a priority into out of zone school - our zone high school has had a bad rep for years. They accept lots of kids who have been excluded in their own area which is good, but it makes for a tougher, lower performing school. Apparently the new head is turning things around though.My eldest son is 3 and we've just started looking into schools. Turns out we're zoned for the worst performing primary school in the area (we miss out on the other school's zone by two houses) and the secondary school has very poor results over the past few years. I've seen posts in our local community facebook page saying that quite a few parents have pulled their kids out of our zoned schools due to poor response to incidents of bullying.
Looks like we're going to have to send the boys to our local Grammar school, which I really didn't want to do but out of zone enrolments in public are very hard to come by.
We did think about public for primary then Grammar for secondary, but the Grammar school is a p-12 so no guarantee of enrolment in year 7. I didn't realise that grades impacted on out of zone enrolments! My son is quite advanced for his age but no guarantee he's always going to be ahead, so can't bank on acceptance into a selective school or out of zone based on that.Yeah that sucks. My oldest had good enough grades to get a priority into out of zone school - our zone high school has had a bad rep for years. They accept lots of kids who have been excluded in their own area which is good, but it makes for a tougher, lower performing school. Apparently the new head is turning things around though.
In Qld the school has to take in-zone, but can then be as selective as they like about out of zone enrolments.We did think about public for primary then Grammar for secondary, but the Grammar school is a p-12 so no guarantee of enrolment in year 7. I didn't realise that grades impacted on out of zone enrolments! My son is quite advanced for his age but no guarantee he's always going to be ahead, so can't bank on acceptance into a selective school or out of zone based on that.
Didn't describe it well sorry, we have a new system called polaris which provides over 60000 different combinations of subjects. If you want to do anything, chances are that you can. We have outdoor ed courses on like rock climbing and stuff like that. We also have an AFL subject for PE, as well as a sport science subject which i did and was awesome.We have that for our kids. At a public high school.
I've been sold a lieThis is nothing REALLY special. I don’t know what you imagine public schools are like. Some are pretty bad of course. But it’s not a desolate wasteland out there in the real world.

Bit of a misleading graph given that it doesn't distinguish between state and federal money - think you would find that state governments have tipped in more money to public schools than private schools over that period![]()
Government helping to keep private schools afloat![]()