The Dom
HŠK Zrinjski Mostar
Come and see the Tigers at Twilight
1:18:36 PM Thu 3 March, 2005
richmondfc.com.au

A great Richmond tradition will be revived at Punt Road on Friday, March 18 with a Probables v Possibles practice match, as the final hit-out for the players before the opening bounce of the 2005 premiership season, against Geelong on Easter Sunday.

Richmond’s Family and Community Day will also now be held on that date (formerly March 13). All members of the Tiger faith can not only celebrate the traditional Family Day activities, but also watch a good, old-fashioned Tigerish contest between the Probables and the Possibles under lights at Punt Road.

There will be an exciting range of activities for all the family to enjoy from 3pm into the evening, including the presentation of the 2005 playing list (with their new, fully-sashed guernseys), an address by coach Terry Wallace, fun rides for the kids, face painting, junior football activities, player autographs and photo opportunities, performances by multi-cultural groups, and an appearance by Club mascot, ‘Tiger Stripes Dyer’. Plenty of food and beverages will be available as well.

Then, the focus will turn to the hallowed Punt Road turf . . .With competition for places in the Round 1 Richmond team really hotting up, there will be enormous interest in the Probables-Possibles clash, reviving memories of the days when the likes of Billy Barrot and Kevin Sheedy would go ‘hammer and tongs’ at each other in super-competitive, intra-club practice matches at Punt Road.

The Club believes the opportunity to celebrate Family Day, and also at the same time watch the new-look Tigers pressing their claims for opening round selection, is irresistible . . .

So, make sure you’re at Punt Road on Friday, March 18 to enjoy all the action, both on and off the field.

Gates open at 3pm, entry is by a gold coin donation, and parking will be available in Yarra Park at normal rates.

Why the hell has the club done this? It's a disgrace. They've gone from a sunday family day where they could have got thousands to a friday
afternoon, NON SCHOOL HOLIDAY, during the worst possible peak-hour time.

Bloody hell!!!!! :mad:

itsintheblood said:
Why the hell has the club done this? It's a disgrace. They've gone from a sunday family day where they could have got thousands to a friday
afternoon, NON SCHOOL HOLIDAY, during the worst possible peak our time.

Bloody hell!!!!! :mad:

yep agree, read the email they sent before and replied to their comments box on how dissapointed i was for it to be held on a friday, 3pm. shocker i sed that anybody would have prefered a sunday or a saturday.

This is an absolutely moronic decision and whoever made it should be shot. It will cost many hundreds of memberships, possibly thousands. How many kids with parents can attend at 3pm on a Friday school day in peak our traffic????? Goddam it. It's outrageous.

Is it just me or does anyone else have this problem?

itsintheblood said:
This is an absolutely moronic decision and whoever made it should be shot. It will cost many hundreds of memberships, possibly thousands. How many kids with parents can attend at 3pm on a Friday school day in peak our traffic????? Goddam it. It's outrageous.

Is it just me or does anyone else have this problem?

The sky is falling, the sky is falling
For one, peak hour starts at 5pm, NOT 3pm
Most schools finish around 3:30pm which still leaves enough time to still see most of the match
Considering we are playing in Round 1 the following week, we want as long possible a break, thus we play on Friday, not Saturday and not Sunday.

As for costing us thousands of memberships, you really have no idea
If a fan is dedicated enough to want to go to an intra club practice match in all likelihood they are already a member or not about to have an intraclub match scheduling change their mind about signing up

I swear some of you just bag the club for the sake of it

Infamy said:
Most schools finish around 3:30pm which still leaves enough time to still see most of the match

If you go to Richmond Secondary College (if there is such a school).. yes, you would be able to see most of the match.

The game is going to go until around 5:30, thats plenty of time to see a large part of the game
At the end of the day its still a training session, its better to have it at 3pm on a Friday when some people may be able to leave work early than have it at noon

The most important thing is their preparation for Round 1, scheduling a practice session for the supporters instead of the players is a mistake

The game is going to go until around 5:30, thats plenty of time to see a large part of the game

They should face facts shouldn't they Infamy, this game is not for them any more - it's a big business now isn't it Infamy :rolleyes:

You crack me up with this tow the company line every time.

Don't you think supporters are entitled to be aggrieved when the club pulls stunts like this? No-one wants to come from work (or school) and see the last five minutes of a practice game when the club could have used a bit of nous and had it a few hours later. Lots of ppl use family day to buy their memberships. I know, because i used to sell them to them on family day. Those same ppl may decide not to come because they can't get their because of work or other commitments and some may not bother to join.

BTW, i won't be going, i'll be working :mad:

Even though i will be there on the friday your right it is a joke. Family day has always been on a saturday or a sunday for all clubs so why change now and who!

YEah ok you could still have the match on the sunday so why should that matter. It is better having it on a sunday so bloody hope they move it back in the interests of School Students people that work and more important the future kids of the RFC.

I'd prefer the players to mingle with supporters seeing it's the Family Day. It's hard to meet players and for kids to get their autograph or a pic with them when they're playing a scratch match.

Not a good move by the club, will probably only get half the attendance compared to a Sunday.

Infamy, they've moved from Sunday 13th to Friday 18th, so they've shortened the break not increased it. Also, I can tell you from personal experience that the traffic around 3-4pm on a Friday afternoon around the Punt Road precinct is busy.

Reading the press release, I think the guernsey presentation will be before the game. I reckon the game will start later in the evening?

As I work Sat and Sundays, I'm extrememly happy that it is on the Friday.

Are you sure the game starts at three or is that just when the gates open for sausage sizzle etc????

On a personal note, looks as though I'm leaving work at 3pm on the 18th, fortunately I work in the city, so can just walk over.

Dissapointing, however, from the the aspect that my family who live and work in northern Vic, will now not be able to make it. They have come down the past 4-5 years for the Sunday Family Day, but this year will have to miss out. Very dissapointing.

Infamy said:
Considering we are playing in Round 1 the following week, we want as long possible a break, thus we play on Friday, not Saturday and not Sunday.

If a fan is dedicated enough to want to go to an intra club practice match in all likelihood they are already a member or not about to have an intraclub match scheduling change their mind about signing up

So, einstein, you expect me, who lives in the OUTER eastern suburbs, to collect my child from school at 3.30 pm (mind you I cant anyway cause I work till 5.30 in deep southern suburbs), rush home in the car park called the Monash freeway, collect my child who is probably gonna be tired and hungry aftter school, then try and make my way into the city DURING PEAK HOUR? You are indeed delusional and have no idea about the real world. Obviously you live close to the ground and can take a leasurely stroll to the ground.

Woudn't it have been much easier if the club had've stuck to the original plan to ensure MAXIMUM possible attendances of young children and parents?

FWIW, I have emailed the club and told them in no uncertain terms as a 20 year member who tries to attend every family day, im extremely disappointed with this decision. Why not cater for ALL supporters on what is supposed to be A FAMILY DAY????

Maybe it will maybe it wont cost thousands of memberships but again, you are delusional to think potential members wont be pi$$ed off with this decision and wont buy a membership. A lot of people wait for family day to buy one because it gives them that extra special buzz after seeing the jumper presentation, the coaches speech, mingling with the players, having a kick on the ground with their kid.

itsintheblood said:
So, einstein, you expect me, who lives in the OUTER eastern suburbs, to collect my child from school at 3.30 pm (mind you I cant anyway cause I work till 5.30 in deep southern suburbs), rush home in the car park called the Monash freeway, collect my child who is probably gonna be tired and hungry aftter school, then try and make my way into the city DURING PEAK HOUR? You are indeed delusional and have no idea about the real world. Obviously you live close to the ground and can take a leasurely stroll to the ground.

Woudn't it have been much easier if the club had've stuck to the original plan to ensure MAXIMUM possible attendances of young children and parents?

What you highlight IITB is one of the reason I am extremely angry at this "change".

If they want to have a practice match on the Firday - fine, great, no probs do it - if people can get there sensational.

But why move the Family day to be part of a practice match?

I have a couple of Cubs (nephew & niece) who live over 3 hours from Melbourne. I had promised to take then to the family day on the 13th March - it was perfect long weekend - it had all been sorted out.

Now they wont be coming. How can they? They are devastated.

What about all the other supporters who live in the country and make the trip to Melbourne for the traditional family day? They too are now excluded unless they take their kids out of school and take time off work. Sorry but that's not right.

I am lucky - I can take the afternoon off work if I want too but it is unfair on those who cannot.

No supporter should be excluded from the a Family Day and although I am sure that was never the intent, this change in day (more than the change in date) has done that. :mad: :mad:

WilliamPowell said:
What you highlight IITB is one of the reason I am extremely angry at this "change".

If they want to have a practice match on the Firday - fine, great, no probs do it - if people can get there sensational.

I have a couple of Cubs (nephew & niece) who live over 3 hours from Melbourne. I had promised to take then to the family day on the 13th March - it was perfect long weekend - it had all been sorted out.

Now they wont be coming. How can they? They are devastated.

What about all the other supporters who live in the country and make the trip to Melbourne for the traditional family day? They too are now excluded unless they take their kids out of school and take time off work. Sorry but that's not right.

I am lucky - I can take the afternoon off work if I want too but it is unfair on those who cannot.

No supporter should be excluded from the a Family Day and although I am sure that was never the intent, this change in day (more than the change in date) has done that. :mad: :mad:

Supporters like infamy obviously don't live far from the ground and probably dont have kids which is fine. But why effectively "cut out" those who live a long way from the ground and have family comittments? It's just plain crazy.
Punt road at 5.30 is like a car park. Traffic is at a standstill and it takes about 40 mins just to get from one end to the other at this time.

WilliamPowell said:

Totally agree WP.In fact your suggestion would even enhance the prospect of selling more memberships if they had the twilight match on friday night and the family day on the sunday.Some can make it Friday and not sunday and visa versa.

cheers!

Infamy said:

If you don't already work at the club stu I reckon you should apply.Tony greenburg has nothing on you.Fair dinkum,you're worse than the iraqi information minister sometimes.

Is there nothing the club can do wrong?

IITB is absolutely right.Fancy having a family day during work and school.

Bloody laughable.

i also agree with tiger of old. the two (family day, practice match) should have never been combined together, the day would be awsum, but people with work, school commitments and live hours away from punt rd (i live 1hour away) its just too much for a friday afternoon. discraceful decision. :eek:

Richmond fans will have more opportunity than ever before to enjoy all the 'fun of the fair' at the Club's new-look Family and Community Day, to be held at Punt Road, on Friday, March 18.

Gates open at 3pm, and for the next 6-7 hours, Punt Road will be buzzing, with a range of activities for the Yellow and Black faithful to experience.

The kids will have heaps of fun from 3pm-8.30pm, in an area adjacent to the ground, with a jumping castle, bungee run, inflatable slide, face painting and roving entertainers to keep them amused. There also will be a junior footy clinic conducted on the field, with the help of the Tiger players.

From 4pm, a player autograph and photograph booth will be operating, enabling fans to have special access to their Yellow and Black heroes. The player-related activities will run until just before 6pm, when the boys move to the change-rooms to prepare for the big Probables v Possibles practice match.

At 6.30pm, following the on-field, pre-game entertainment, the presentation of the new, fully-sashed Richmond guernseys, to the 2005 playing list, will take place. Some famous Tigers of Old will hand out the famous Yellow and Black jumper to the current Tiger crop.

Then, at 7pm, the Probables v Possibles clash gets underway, with the full Richmond playing list going 'hammer and tongs' over two 30-minute halves for the prize of a place in the team for the opening round match against Geelong on Easter Sunday.

At the end of the intra-club hit-out, Tiger coach, Terry Wallace, will address the crowd, and players again will be available for more autographs.

The function will finish with 'Plough' and players being interviewed in the Social Club.

All in all, this shapes as a great way for Richmond supporters to celebrate the launch of a new season - and a new era for the mighty Tigers...

GoTeam2-0-0-4 said:
Richmond fans will have more opportunity than ever before to enjoy all the 'fun of the fair' at the Club's new-look Family and Community Day, to be held at Punt Road, on Friday, March 18.

Gates open at 3pm, and for the next 6-7 hours, Punt Road will be buzzing, with a range of activities for the Yellow and Black faithful to experience.

The kids will have heaps of fun from 3pm-8.30pm, in an area adjacent to the ground, with a jumping castle, bungee run, inflatable slide, face painting and roving entertainers to keep them amused. There also will be a junior footy clinic conducted on the field, with the help of the Tiger players.

From 4pm, a player autograph and photograph booth will be operating, enabling fans to have special access to their Yellow and Black heroes. The player-related activities will run until just before 6pm, when the boys move to the change-rooms to prepare for the big Probables v Possibles practice match.

At 6.30pm, following the on-field, pre-game entertainment, the presentation of the new, fully-sashed Richmond guernseys, to the 2005 playing list, will take place. Some famous Tigers of Old will hand out the famous Yellow and Black jumper to the current Tiger crop.

Then, at 7pm, the Probables v Possibles clash gets underway, with the full Richmond playing list going 'hammer and tongs' over two 30-minute halves for the prize of a place in the team for the opening round match against Geelong on Easter Sunday.

At the end of the intra-club hit-out, Tiger coach, Terry Wallace, will address the crowd, and players again will be available for more autographs.

The function will finish with 'Plough' and players being interviewed in the Social Club.

All in all, this shapes as a great way for Richmond supporters to celebrate the launch of a new season - and a new era for the mighty Tigers...

Hmm now that all the facts are out (starting times) it does not look as bad as first thought.

There's an idea wait for the detail before launching a tirade - wonder if that will catch on.

Still I think it is not a good idea for those who would have come from the country - they are who i feel sorry for.

I am in the fortunate situation that i can go whereas i was working on the 13th. So I got lucky this time.

peejay said:
Hmm now that all the facts are out (starting times) it does not look as bad as first thought.

There's an idea wait for the detail before launching a tirade - wonder if that will catch on.

Still I think it is not a good idea for those who would have come from the country - they are who i feel sorry for.

I am in the fortunate situation that i can go whereas i was working on the 13th. So I got lucky this time.

What changes?

It's just not an ideal time for parents with small children. It sucks.

Probables v Possibles practice match