Prophetic Mitchell

I dunno. Maybe I want to go back and see what our form was like, but were we a strong finishing side in 13, saving our best for last, or was it just the occasion in this instance?

Maybe I'm just getting caught up in the emotion of it, but is really the game when things changed, where we mentally turned the corner, where we realised we could turn it on when it mattered?

Interesting thought. The legend grows.

I dunno. Maybe I want to go back and see what our form was like, but were we a strong finishing side in 13, saving our best for last, or was it just the occasion in this instance?

Maybe I'm just getting caught up in the emotion of it, but is really the game when things changed, where we mentally turned the corner, where we realised we could turn it on when it mattered?

Interesting thought. The legend grows.

During the call, Bruce stated that we were the best last quarter team in 2013.
He actually stated it as a fact, not as a question! (I just watched the last quarter again)

We kicked 4.8 to 1.1, with some easy misses thrown in.
We really should have romped it in.

Not sure if I'm just a weirdo but even watching back the replay of that game and specifically the last quarter, there is just a weird eerie atmosphere to the game. Guess it is just the emotion attached to the win, when Shiela won that ball and passed to Roughy and the crowd is going crazy to the kid crying... best game I've witnessed as a human.

I have to fess up here guys. And the reason I haven't already is because I wanted guys like Burgers and Mitch to take the glory - but truth be known, I was the difference in this game.
How it came about was; I'd been to every single one of those 11 bullsh*t losses to the handbaggers since after the '08 GF. I'd also not missed attending a finals game (in melb) since before the '07 elimination win against Adelaide (still my fave non-gf game I've witnessed), and I just couldn't bear to go and see us go down to those pricks again. If I'm being honest I had an inclination it was my fault. So I snatched it. Gave my tik to my dad who accompanied my brother (who berated me for not going, "what if it ends up being our best win ever?") and watched it from home.
Threadkilla Curse broken, true story.
Thank me later.

The Varcoe kick that shouldn't have even occurred, Motlop was done holding the ball in the middle and no free was paid.

I had two Geelong fans sitting behind me who proclaimed victory at 3 quarter time and proceeded to give it to all hawks fans in the area. Come the final few minutes they left hastily after getting some back from some spirited fans.

Best non GF game I've been to.

Selwood genuinely look bewildered that makes this game a classic...jeff was on a high, poppy looked a tad different... Other than that the hawthorn machine was about to get a roll on.. Who knew? As for Sammy he look buggered beyond belief... And good old porkins was probably thinking we'll get em next year... Er that would be no not next yr or the year after... Take that handbaggers!

...I had two Geelong fans sitting behind me who proclaimed victory at 3 quarter time and proceeded to give it to all hawks fans in the area...

Were they drunk? I watched it in a pub and at three quarter time I announced to all and sundry that we were gonna fall flat in the last. We looked dead on our feet coming into the final break and I remember there were a few 'hands on hips, staring at the ground' moments from the Geelong players.

If Varcoe had've nailed that goal there would have been extra time, and we would have been gone for all money anyway. It was like you lot had been napping for the first three quarters of the game, then woke up with a toothsome and leering after-sex grin and then absolutely drilled us.

Then finished fast all over our faces:(

The 2013 Prelim ranks in the top 3 moments in my life. So far there's the birth of my first child, the day I got married and that. I went with a mate who I had gone to every Curse game with - it was amazing. After the game, singing the song with fans, hugging so many randoms - amazing.

Were they drunk? I watched it in a pub and at three quarter time I announced to all and sundry that we were gonna fall flat in the last. We looked dead on our feet coming into the final break and I remember there were a few 'hands on hips, staring at the ground' moments from the Geelong players.

If Varcoe had've nailed that goal there would have been extra time, and we would have been gone for all money anyway. It was like you lot had been napping for the first three quarters of the game, then woke up with a toothsome and leering after-sex grin and then absolutely drilled us.

Then finished fast all over our faces:(
You'll hear lots of negative stuff about the Cats here but I think most here would see our rivalry as the best part of footy for the last few years. I'm weirdly excited about Geelong getting decent recruits recently. Loved our 08-14 games (you still bloody beat us round 1 in 14!)

Not sure if I'm just a weirdo but even watching back the replay of that game and specifically the last quarter, there is just a weird eerie atmosphere to the game. Guess it is just the emotion attached to the win, when Shiela won that ball and passed to Roughy and the crowd is going crazy to the kid crying... best game I've witnessed as a human.

How many have you watched not as a human?:)

Go to my dedicated Facebook page. Last quarter of the 2013 preliminary final. Hawthorn vs Geelong. We owe everything to that last qtr. EVERYTHING!!

The 2013 Prelim ranks in the top 3 moments in my life. So far there's the birth of my first child, the day I got married and that. I went with a mate who I had gone to every Curse game with - it was amazing. After the game, singing the song with fans, hugging so many randoms - amazing.
It was so looking like the last 11 games and it got us into the grand final. Just an insane game

I don't post very often but I have to tell everyone what this game means to me.
My father was a long time Hawks fan and had never been to the MCG to see a footy match during his entire 97 years. I got an invite to the Members for this game and asked if I could take an extra. He was in a wheelchair, in his Hawks beanie and scarf. I watched this game with him and he had tears in his eyes. After the match so many people came up to him to high five him, it was amazing. My dad finally got to see his beloved hawks live, and what a game to see!
Unfortunately he literally just passed away last night, quietly in his sleep at the age of 99. He had the three premiership posters in the wall opposite him. This game will be one of the fondest memories of my father forevermore.

My father was a long time Hawks fan and had never been to the MCG to see a footy match during his entire 97 years. I got an invite to the Members for this game and asked if I could take an extra. He was in a wheelchair, in his Hawks beanie and scarf. I watched this game with him and he had tears in his eyes. After the match so many people came up to him to high five him, it was amazing. My dad finally got to see his beloved hawks live, and what a game to see!
Unfortunately he literally just passed away last night, quietly in his sleep at the age of 99. He had the three premiership posters in the wall opposite him. This game will be one of the fondest memories of my father forevermore.

Brilliant story. Condolences for your loss mate.

Condolences to you on the passing of your father. What a wonderful age, so pleased he saw a great win before he left this world. Memories will always be there, beautiful memories.

I was in the Camelia Grove Hotel with what seemed like every Sydney based Hawks supporter (and a few NRL flogs who decided to turn up and stir the pot) and I have to admit I had my head in my hands at three quarter time. The missus managed to console me, we blew the lid off the place when Burgs kicked that goal to put us in front and again when Varcoe missed.

Have had 2 exams in the past 24 hours and to get a slight bit of downtime got sucked in via procrastination into watching the last quarter of what will just about forever be my favourite game of football (2013 prelim) on youtube.

Of course no Hawthorn fan needs to be reminded of the significance of this night. 20 points down at 3 quarter time, lost 11 in a row to those f***ing p****s, huge disappointment of '11 and '12 all riding on our back. The three peat would obviously never have happened and I am sure the psychological demons had we not won would've had a huge effect on our '14 and '15 campaigns. It is without a doubt for me the most significant victory a Hawthorn side has had in the past 15-20 years since the merger game.

Anyway the point of this is to have a look at Mitch's post match interview with Richo (31:20). His first line. "The end of one chapter and the start of something new".

And here we are 2 and a bit years later talking about one of the greatest teams of all time. Happy viewing :)

Always good to watch. I was struck by how often we bombed it long and how often those big strong Geelong defenders marked it. Geelong helped make us the team we are today.

Special post. Condolences.

That shit was so bad for the ticker.

Still find it hard to believe that TV missed a bread and butter shot like that one and we were through.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Think of all the bread and butter shots we missed to put them away during the curse. It was about time the shoe was on the other foot...in fact, perfect timing!

During the call, Bruce stated that we were the best last quarter team in 2013.
He actually stated it as a fact, not as a question! (I just watched the last quarter again)

We kicked 4.8 to 1.1, with some easy misses thrown in.
We really should have romped it in.

It actually pissed me off mega that we didn't fn bury them in the last quarter. Several chances to just thump them into the turf.

Prophetic Mitchell