Prophetic Mitchell

I have to fess up here guys. And the reason I haven't already is because I wanted guys like Burgers and Mitch to take the glory - but truth be known, I was the difference in this game.
How it came about was; I'd been to every single one of those 11 bullsh*t losses to the handbaggers since after the '08 GF. I'd also not missed attending a finals game (in melb) since before the '07 elimination win against Adelaide (still my fave non-gf game I've witnessed), and I just couldn't bear to go and see us go down to those pricks again. If I'm being honest I had an inclination it was my fault. So I snatched it. Gave my tik to my dad who accompanied my brother (who berated me for not going, "what if it ends up being our best win ever?") and watched it from home.
Threadkilla Curse broken, true story.
Thank me later.

Sorry, it was me. I didn't watch or listen to the match until later. First time since forever. Don't steal my thunder. :D

So much happened that night that's so brilliant, it couldn't be repeated if anyone tried.

Commetti saying 'get the hearse for the curse'. What a moment for those of us not there.

Tom Harley stating that the reputations and legacy of this Hawthorn team is on the line, his smugness so palpable, you could have cut it with a knife. If you read between the lines, he was stating that this playing group was mentally fragile.

But all those pull it out of your arse losses to the Cats, led to the brilliance of the last quarter in that game. It all added up to the crucible of that match, and ultimately forged greatness.

The belief that came afterwards made those Hawks players walk taller, and surely must have cemented in their minds that there was nothing they could not do.

Prior to that final siren, there must have been doubt. The 2013 PF win destroyed it, and ultimately set the three peat juggernaut in motion.

It felt like hawthorn couldnt win the flag until theyd beaten geelong. I always wondered if that them losing in 2012 had something to do with it, that little bit of psychology knowing that you cant beat the cats means you dont deserve to be the top dog.

Dunno if it did but this win is without doubt the pivotal moment to what the club is now.

I have to fess up here guys. And the reason I haven't already is because I wanted guys like Burgers and Mitch to take the glory - but truth be known, I was the difference in this game.
How it came about was; I'd been to every single one of those 11 bullsh*t losses to the handbaggers since after the '08 GF. I'd also not missed attending a finals game (in melb) since before the '07 elimination win against Adelaide (still my fave non-gf game I've witnessed), and I just couldn't bear to go and see us go down to those pricks again. If I'm being honest I had an inclination it was my fault. So I snatched it. Gave my tik to my dad who accompanied my brother (who berated me for not going, "what if it ends up being our best win ever?") and watched it from home.
Threadkilla Curse broken, true story.
Thank me later.

Funny this. I reckon Garry Lyon won us the game.

I was up in the Ponsford listening to the MMM coverage, and late in the 3rd early 4th quarters Gary says after a Geelong goal, taking them up to 96 points, that they've beaten us every time they got to 100 points, or something to that effect. I just thought to myself, well the game ain't over yet Gaz and my boys are gonna show some Greatness. Geelong don't kick another score besides Varcos miss. The rest is Always Greatness.

Funny this. I reckon Garry Lyon won us the game.

I was up in the Ponsford listening to the MMM coverage, and late in the 3rd early 4th quarters Gary says after a Geelong goal, taking them up to 96 points, that they've beaten us every time they got to 100 points, or something to that effect. I just thought to myself, well the game ain't over yet Gaz and my boys are gonna show some Greatness. Geelong don't kick another score besides Varcos miss. The rest is Always Greatness.
Whats with all the superfluos, superstitious shit that so many have been going on with this year.

Just cause someone did this or that happened in the same match last year.....or a team wins everytime they kick 100 points.

Hard graft and good planning wins flags....end of story. **** all the other froth and bubble bs.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

I ****ing love this match of football.
Only bettered by the '14GF belting of the Swans.

That was also the night Silk became my favourite current day player.

Unbelievable game.

We were never going to lose the 2013 Prelim.

Poor Geelong ...

I wish mate...

Was at the game and at 3qtr time, there were a lot of us in the stock pose when you're know you're in the $h!t
Sitting back in the seat with arms crossed thinking "Not this again"

Reckon we all got a few extra grey hairs in that last 5 mins when we kicked point after point and couldn't put them away
When Shiels kicked the ball forward and we saw we had the numbers, remember the whole grand stand shaking

Hands down the best game I've been - even winning the flag the following week seemed an anti-climax

I was also at the game with my family. Remember at 3QT my 15yo being all stressed and thinking it was all over.

Don't know why but I was very confident we would win and said to him "Relax, we'll win this - hang in there."

As others have said in this thread the roar of the crowd when Silk put us in front was just unbelievable.

I had the privilege on being at the '89 GF and that has been one of my favourite matches of all time. Hard to separate that one, the 2013 PF and the 2014 GF. Just awesome footy. If I had to vote I'd probably pick the 2014 GF as almost the perfect game by Hawthorn.

3 incredible matches for 3 amazing wins.

Btw, I hold myself responsible for us losing the 2012 GF. I'd bought a Rioli jumper at an auction and decided to wear it for the first time at the Granny. Wrong! Never change your kit for the big day. Just wear the same stuff as you've worn all year. Apologies to all and sundry for my poor choices!

Redeemed myself in 14 & 15 of course - the Rioli jumper just hangs on the wall now - never to be worn again!

#hawthornproblems

I was at the game with one of my footy friends, she's not a hugger, we hugged & screamed our heads of post siren, then sat in the stadium for 20 minutes post game, grinning like fools & saying I can't believe we did it! It may just be my favorite hawthorn game, up there with 2008 GF (my first live) & the 2007 elimination final. Of course the grand finals are amazing but these games were closer & so live in the memory in a different way, for me anyway. Bottom line its amazing to follow the hawks!

Whats with all the superfluos, superstitious shit that so many have been going on with this year.

Just cause someone did this or that happened in the same match last year.....or a team wins everytime they kick 100 points.

Hard graft and good planning wins flags....end of story. **** all the other froth and bubble bs.

LOL.

My psychic looked into her orb and prophesied an epic battle with an outcome only decided by a bird swooping into the labyrinth of doom and conquering...

sorry...lost it...:D

LOL.

My psychic looked into her orb and prophesied an epic battle with an outcome only decided by a bird swooping into the labyrinth of doom and conquering...

sorry...lost it...:D
Nah mate......we won........ [emoji6]

I think the outcomes suggests that he very much wasn't.

They might have been earlier in the year, but they were all very confident of running over Geelong, and they just refused to lose.

Maybe, but he was definitely right in saying our reputations were on the line, and without winning that game, the legacy of the team may well have been on the line two.

Two prelim losses and GF loss in 3 years would leave us no better than St Kilda

Thankfully, we weren't mentally weak and did rise to the occasion.

Wow, havent checked this since the opening post and it has taken off! :)

I can honestly say I've never experienced a night like this at the footy, before or since this night. It was just something else and one of the greatest nights of my life. I actually shudder to think of the consequences of us losing that game. I sat on the 50 line in the AFL members and the noise as poppy/roughy ran it down that wing was the loudest noise I have ever heard at a live game. Myself and three other hawks fans (who i'd never met) were screaming "GO GO GO GO" completely beside ourselves. No one heard the siren the noise was so loud (including Cyril and Buddy haha!). Once we'd actually realised the siren went it was bedlam. Big group hug, I had tears in my eyes, just went completely nuts. I've never seen a bigger outpouring of emotion form a supporter base after that win. I will never forget walking out of the ground and seeing the Lethal statue with a scarf around it or singing the song with about 500 other people outside gate 5.

Ended up meeting up with a few mates from Hobart who had flown over for the game and crawling back to Deakin residence (where I was living at the time) at 5am. Unbelievable night

The Varcoe kick that shouldn't have even occurred, Motlop was done holding the ball in the middle and no free was paid.

I had two Geelong fans sitting behind me who proclaimed victory at 3 quarter time and proceeded to give it to all hawks fans in the area. Come the final few minutes they left hastily after getting some back from some spirited fans.

Best non GF game I've been to.

This!!!! After the bullshit Murdoch goal from the throw in where it shouldve been out on the full before 3 quarter time some absolute flog turned round and gave a few finger twirls to all of us hawks behind us. When burgoyne put us in front I reckon about 15 of us were twirling fingers in his face ;)

Wow, havent checked this since the opening post and it has taken off! :)

I can honestly say I've never experienced a night like this at the footy, before or since this night. It was just something else and one of the greatest nights of my life. I actually shudder to think of the consequences of us losing that game. I sat on the 50 line in the AFL members and the noise as poppy/roughy ran it down that wing was the loudest noise I have ever heard at a live game. Myself and three other hawks fans (who i'd never met) were screaming "GO GO GO GO" completely beside ourselves. No one heard the siren the noise was so loud (including Cyril and Buddy haha!). Once we'd actually realised the siren went it was bedlam. Big group hug, I had tears in my eyes, just went completely nuts. I've never seen a bigger outpouring of emotion form a supporter base after that win. I will never forget walking out of the ground and seeing the Lethal statue with a scarf around it or singing the song with about 500 other people outside gate 5.

Ended up meeting up with a few mates from Hobart who had flown over for the game and crawling back to Deakin residence (where I was living at the time) at 5am. Unbelievable night

That reminds me as we were headed out of the afl members a group of fans stopped to take photo's with lethal's statue then a group gathered & we belted out the song with such fervour! After all the loses & the curse the monkey was off the back, it really meant so much. The noise was something else for sure. I must have watched the last quarter a dozen times it really is a great pick me up :D

Prophetic Mitchell