Tish

Liverpool
I am without a doubt happy with our season. No one in the football world gave us a chance.

We were so close ( and if umpiring was consistent) to winning our first final.

Hadley. Ellard, Can never be left out of our side again.

Don't blame Armfield in the last for a loss, Everyone made a mistake at some stage. We are a team, not one person. We will be top four next year. Carlton... yes.

How can you say we will be top four from what a gallant loss. The reality is we have lossed 2 finals in a row, to make top four you need vast improvement in players .

Again we rely on JUDD make no mistake he brought is in the game in the third quarter. By the way trades need to be made for us to compete for top 4.

Totally agree, Tish. The best thing about Armfield was that he backed himself again to take the bounce and thumped one inside 50.

Waite's miss and Judd's misses were as costly.

But we've shown alot and should go into next year confident that we can mix it with these tough, lock-down teams.

Judd, Hadley, Mitch, Ellard... So much heart.

We didn't go down without a fight.

What's with all these proud threads? Do you realize we lost? We have undoubtedly choked again. You're proud of a team that chokes when it counts.

How can you say we will be top four from what a gallant loss. The reality is we have lossed 2 finals in a row, to make top four you need vast improvement in players .

Again we rely on JUDD make no mistake he brought is in the game in the third quarter. By the way trades need to be made for us to compete for top 4.

1. You piss me off because you are from a dick head electorate who voted for the greens, which means I will have to waste another saturday to vote again soon.

2. You Think Judd, did anything ( are you aware he missed two goals under 12's would kick)

3.: I'm Happy to take a card to tell you, and people like you, you are **** heads.

Call me negative, but as proud as I am of the fight this team has, I'm not proud of the effort, playing catchup football against decent sides will never win you games, we only really played with great intensity for 3rd qtr, why can't we play with that intensity for 4 qtrs?

Our job now is to to do what the Pies did during trade period last year and fix the major holes in our side, that being getting:
-a KP big bodied defender who can hold his own
-another quality inside midfielder

These issue need to be addressed for us to go any further

I am without a doubt happy with our season. No one in the football world gave us a chance.

We were so close ( and if umpiring was consistent) to winning our first final.

Hadley. Ellard, Can never be left out of our side again.

Don't blame Armfield in the last for a loss, Everyone made a mistake at some stage. We are a team, not one person. We will be top four next year. Carlton... yes.

Was a very galant effort today. However this sort of effort was rare throughout the season. So whilst I was proud today felt that our performances for perhaps 75% of the season was not up to standard. Also did not concur with the media or any others who felt us no chance without Fev. One player does not make or break a side. Sydney being an example as they have covered the losses of many good players. Carlton has the talent without a doubt. For us to go forward we need to find consistent intensity.

So did you have us in the 8 at the start of the season? I think we have done okay, post Fevola and with Kreuzer out.

Our young guys will improve, Warnock, Gibbs, Murphy, Russell, et al, only way is up. The bottom half of the 8 was only decided in round 22, I believe we;ll push further next year.

Trade week will be interesting,

What's with all these proud threads? Do you realize we lost? We have undoubtedly choked again. You're proud of a team that chokes when it counts.
Sums up my feelings completely. Good teams don't fritter away chances to bury opponents, and we do. We will never be anything until we eliminate this shit from our game.

My pride in Carlton, nor its side on the park, does not depend on whether the side wins or loses. Never has been, never will be.

I was at the game today and from what I saw the guys did their best. You can't ask much more than that.

I saw a number of our players immediately after the siren who were completely and absolutely gutted. It showed to me they gave their all.

They came up short, but that's footy. We were a kick away from having Swans supporters doing the soul-searching, not us.

It's a shame that we have supporters whose pride in the team is solely dependant on winning. I find it an extremely disappointing attitude.

Sums up my feelings completely. Good teams don't fritter away chances to bury opponents, and we do. We will never be anything until we eliminate this shit from our game.

Can we have Alec Duncan back please? Nice hack but no cigar.

Sorry Thy, I really am this bitter and twisted.

I'm not going to be back-slapping and saying "well done" when we've just kicked ourselves out of the finals. It's not good enough, and it's happened far too often for people to kid themselves that it's just bad luck.

My pride in Carlton, nor its side on the park, does not depend on whether the side wins or loses. Never has been, never will be.

I was at the game today and from what I saw the guys did their best. You can't ask much more than that.

I saw a number of our players immediately after the siren who were completely and absolutely gutted. It showed to me they gave their all.

They came up short, but that's footy. We were a kick away from having Swans supporters doing the soul-searching, not us.

It's a shame that we have supporters whose pride in the team is solely dependant on winning. I find it an extremely disappointing attitude.

Sorry mate, but stupid mistakes (such as bouncing a ball whilst being tackled when the game's on the line) and the slow start, not to mention that they showed great intensity and effort in the third quarter but didn't have it for the rest of the match shows me they didn't.

They might have wanted it badly but their execution let them down time and time again and they should've known better than to drop their intensity in the last quarter like that in a finals game.

That last quarter was deplorable and it ****ing hurts because I know they're better than that. Really let themselves and their supporters down by making stupid mistakes and missing dead set sitters. How Waite and Judd missed is beyond me. Garlett rushed his shot in the end too and Elard has been a great addition for our side recently but even he got run down in which the ball turned over for a goal to them. Those guys normally NEVER stuff up like that.

It's such a shame that the effort of the third quarter was cancelled out by the effort of the last quarter and there is no reason why I should be proud of them when they choke like this two years in a row after seven years of hell.

We're not some dropkick club like Fremantle or St.Kilda to start being proud of losses in finals, leave that sort of shit to those teams. As a Carlton supporter I'm burning over what happened today, not proud.

Sorry mate, but stupid mistakes (such as bouncing a ball whilst being tackled when the game's on the line) and the slow start, not to mention that they showed great intensity and effort in the third quarter but didn't have it for the rest of the match shows me they didn't.

They might have wanted it badly but their execution let them down time and time again and they should've known better than to drop their intensity in the last quarter like that in a finals game.

That last quarter was deplorable and it ****ing hurts because I know they're better than that. Really let themselves and their supporters down by making stupid mistakes and missing dead set sitters. How Waite and Judd missed is beyond me. Garlett rushed his shot in the end too and Elard has been a great addition for our side recently but even he got run down in which the ball turned over for a goal to them. Those guys normally NEVER stuff up like that.

It's such a shame that the effort of the third quarter was cancelled out by the effort of the last quarter and there is no reason why I should be proud of them when they choke like this two years in a row after seven years of hell.

We're not some dropkick club like Fremantle or St.Kilda to start being proud of losses in finals, leave that sort of shit to those teams. As a Carlton supporter I'm burning over what happened today, not proud.
Stop the presses! Players made mistakes. It's happened before you know, even in our best years. Thank God we've got supporters like you who obviously don't know what it is like to make mistakes, especially when under pressure. :rolleyes:

I'm not particularly happy about losing (I was there) but at least I've got the class to acknowledge the players' effort. That's completely different to celebrating, or being happy with, a loss.

Talking about proud, I reckon posters here deserve a pat on the back for all the interest and support for the team over the past 12 months in particular.
Losing the Fev-man could have seen many here ditching their account, but we're still here and we still have the strongest team base here on BF.

Well done to all of us (except of course the odd on or two) :thumbsu:

Yeah it's a fair effort, you watch all those turncoats who jumped off after the fev trade jump back on if and when we have a good trade week

Am I proud.....SHIT YEAH. To make the finals after Fev got the arse, in my humble opinion is a bloody fantastic effort. There were quite a few people on here who thought we would fall back into the 9th to 12th area.

So yes I am very, VERY proud of my Blue Boys.

Proud, yeah maybe a little. But more pissed off that we choked 2 years in a row. Fact remains we havent won a final in nearly a decade and lets face it, we've spent enough time down the bottom to have the cattle to be winning finals right now.

Has anyone noticed the last few seasons whenever we play interstate, very often we have huge 3rd quarters (sometimes its the 4th eg: freo last week, port earlier in the year) and more often than not we get overun/run out of legs in the last? I could barely bring myself to watch yesterday's last quarter even before it started.

Why cant we produce more consistent 4 quarter efforts?

Stop the presses! Players made mistakes. It's happened before you know, even in our best years. Thank God we've got supporters like you who obviously don't know what it is like to make mistakes, especially when under pressure. :rolleyes:

I'm not particularly happy about losing (I was there) but at least I've got the class to acknowledge the players' effort. That's completely different to celebrating, or being happy with, a loss.

Of course it's ok to make mistakes, but with such an important game on the line and after what happened last year, I expected improvement this year. And before you start the we lost Fev thing just understand this, we had Fev last year and the same thing happened. It wasn't the lack of a forward that cost us yesterday it was plain stupidity.

Armfield bouncing the ball while he's being tackled come on man, that's a mistake that should NEVER be made at AFL level. In the third quarter Judd was running into an open goal and what does he do? He gets cute and goes for a banana rather than a drop punt.

The drop in intensity in the last quarter also let them back in. Couple that with another poor first half against these guys. I'm not happy about being close, there's no prizes for 2nd or 8th in this case. Our side is far more talented then theirs yet we keep losing to them. Just because it was close doesn't mean it was a good effort. don't get me wrong, I'm proud of the club and all its achievements but making the same mistake 2 years in a row? Last year you could forgive them, they were playing the first final in 8 years and it was at the Gabba(which is more of a home advantage than ANZ stadium given the Swans record there) we had no Jarrad Waite to bolster our defence and probably thought the game was ours before actually winning it. BUT it happened AGAIN this year, the last quarter was shit and we got beat. Tells me they havn't improved much in between the ears.

Do you think Judd was proud? Did you see the press conference? He couldn't even talk properly he was devastated because he knew they blew their chances. Even wen ton to say something like "we've really got to improve now". What does that 'now' imply? To me it implies that yesterday wasn't up to scratch.

Heck even a couple of weeks ago everyone was having a go at the Freo supporters on our board saying how they should be ashamed of clapping and being proud of their team for losing in the finals, Carlton supporter wouldn't do that, but now that its happened to us, all of a sudden you've got no class if you're not proud. Full of hypocrites here.

Leave the proud of finals losses to Freo and St.Kilda. This is Carlton mate.

Why cant we produce more consistent 4 quarter efforts?
Other teams, like Sydney for example - average 2 more preseasons than us - they are more seasoned, and are better able to manage how much energy they use by better reading the play and a host of other factors.

It'll come with time. Patience is critical.

On this criteria, Geelong aren't a good side ... kicked 1.7 in the last when St Kilda had clearly shut up shop; could have easily put them away.

1. You piss me off because you are from a dick head electorate who voted for the greens, which means I will have to waste another saturday to vote again soon.

2. You Think Judd, did anything ( are you aware he missed two goals under 12's would kick)

3.: I'm Happy to take a card to tell you, and people like you, you are **** heads.

By the way TISH i did not vote for the Greens, in fact i don't even vote bc it is always wasted .WHY? Bc the Goverment always gets in , all parties are controlled by corporations who make the decisions based on THEIR agendas, the politicians are just the puppets who are the frontmen and serve their masters. Anyway thats another story.

2.Obviously you have little idea about the game of football. who was the person who brought us into the game in the third quarter, Judd was. If Judd did not have the impact he did in the third we would not have been in front with a realistic chance to win. Waite missed a sitter, Simpson missed all be it a harder shot, Henderson dropped a mark in the squarec also. Yes Judd did miss a goal he should have kicked but SOLE blame cannot be made fo our loss on this. He has carried us for 2 years now and if wasnt for him we would have not made finals last year or this year.

3. You obviously are very angry at someone who disagrees with you. Thats fine i just like to point this out to you, others have opnions as well. And getting angry buy calling people ********s, just shows me the type of person you are!

By the way TISH i did not vote for the Greens, in fact i don't even vote bc it is always wasted .WHY? Bc the Goverment always gets in , all parties are controlled by corporations who make the decisions based on THEIR agendas, the politicians are just the puppets who are the frontmen and serve their masters. Anyway thats another story.

To all those who fought and died in people-driven revolutions, courageous social upheavals and the hundreds of wars to remove despotic dictators, fascists and murderous military juntas - this gutless, thoughtless clown salutes you. :thumbsu: