PSD Pick

• Thread starter Thread starter Spikey

Re: Merged PSD Pick

Welcome to the real world Ben where the $ drives the majority of things in life.

The board need to weigh up the risk/reward scenario.

Reward - Cousins doesn't have many injury problems that a 31 year old out of the game for almost 2 years would be expected to have and plays well and is around long enough for us to have a genuine shot at a premiership.
He also sets a great example off field and helps a couple of the midfielders in their development.

Risk - Cousins tests positive, we lose the biggest sponsership deal in AFL history at a time of a major Worldwide economic slowdown and on the back of a heavily reduced profit for season 2008.
On the back of us committing to major expenditure in staff and ground improvements.
Not too mention other sponsers, possible AFL repercussions and a perception throughout the business world of us being very naive and possibly not the well run club we have been perceived to have been.

These are the sort of things that boards have to weigh up and i'm sure there are many more from both sides.

So Merv you are saying that clubs who have players sitting on two strikes are standing on a potential land mine.

Or in fact other clubs who have player behaviourial issues are in the same boat.

And I am unsure that WC player behaviour has improved that much.

Re: PSD Pick Poll

His fault that he turned to drugs. Sorry iI have ZERO sympathy for guys that turn to drugs to escape the "pressue", it is a dead set cop out excuse, and he is still a drug addict.
You are either ignorant or misguided. For an adult you are incredibly naive.

ffs sake draft cousins...look at all the bad x afl players we have drafted...cole,cupido,zantuck,allen,alvey ect ect...make a good decision for once and get some thing out of it if your going to do it...cuz,s work ethic is one of the best ever and if the youngens learn from it ..it will be invaluable...if he stuffs up get rid of him but i doubt he will...he wont be part of a premiership but he can sure contribute towards it....get him and out fox sheeds:thumbsu:

Great reasoning. Because we took some recycled players who didn't work out, we should take a recycled player who may not (and there's a high chance of that) work out.

and that would be skipworth...he will be delisted with in 2 seasons ...not good enough...while a recycled player is there please make sure he,s value...thats why i say take cousins

No, but hiS a Supa* n wil b orsum we shud p1ck him!!!!1!~!1!

Seriously, how can people think that he will be a certainty to play good football, or even a certainty to offer more than Skipworth?

No, but hiS a Supa* n wil b orsum we shud p1ck him!!!!1!~!1!

Seriously, how can people think that he will be a certainty to play good football, or even a certainty to offer more than Skipworth?

think about it:D

ffs sake draft cousins...look at all the bad x afl players we have drafted...cole,cupido,zantuck,allen,alvey ect ect...make a good decision for once and get some thing out of it if your going to do it...cuz,s work ethic is one of the best ever and if the youngens learn from it ..it will be invaluable...if he stuffs up get rid of him but i doubt he will...he wont be part of a premiership but he can sure contribute towards it....get him and out fox sheeds:thumbsu:

Which is why Sheeds got turfed out, yet you want the club to carry on with what Sheeds did. :confused:

May as well have kept Sheeds in that case. :D

So Merv you are saying that clubs who have players sitting on two strikes are standing on a potential land mine.

Or in fact other clubs who have player behaviourial issues are in the same boat.

Firstly that would depend on what clauses are in the contracts.

Picking up a high profile self professed drug addict willingly is very different than having one test positive 3 times that is under contract as you don't find out until the second strike and you can't sack them because of it.

If someone is going to have him it might as well be us!!!

Seeing that ben Cousins looks like he is going to be playing football for one of our closest rivals, and seeing that we have the option of taking him before Richmond...I for one think we should do it.

One major reason i see as justification for this is that over the next 3 years Essendon, Richmond and Carlton will be fighting each other, all with promising young lists for supremacy.

Richmond will gain a large edge over us if they do take him, why not take him for ourselves and give ourselves that edge.

I doubt DeBoer will be heading to us come PSD day, simply because of his odd kicking technique, but he's a hard worker and some highly respected people are giving him the thumbs up. Here's an article that was posted on the official AFL website ;

DeBoer demands a second draft chance, say coaches

A TWO-TIME state representative for WA at under-18 level; an All-Australian in 2008; invited to the NAB AFL draft camp; rated among the top 30 prospects by junior talent guru Kevin Sheehan; senior experience at WAFL level … and still overlooked in last month’s national draft.

Star youngster Matt DeBoer ticked all the boxes one could hope to leading into the NAB AFL Draft in November.

His state coach, Andrew Lockyer, and club coach at Claremont, Roger Kerr, agree the 18-year-old is a ripper.

Kerr, the father of West Coast star Daniel, said DeBoer was shattered at having been overlooked on November 29.

“He’s been a regular in our league side and an All-Australian in the under-18s … and he was averaging about 20 touches a game for us and doing fairly well when he was at senior level,” Kerr said.

“His kicking’s maybe the only knock on him because it’s maybe a bit of an awkward style, but he can certainly pick the ball up and [he ticks] every other box.

Lockyer, who coached him in the 2008 national championships, was shocked when the name DeBoer was not called out on draft day.

DeBoer also enjoyed a superb 2007 but didn’t nominate for the national draft then, which may have cost him on November 29.

“Last year, the way he played as a 17-year-old, he would have been [a] top-20 [pick],” Lockyer said.

“He’s a smasher of a kid and he works hard at his game. I reckon he’d be worth a go at one of the clubs and I think the kid deserves an opportunity.”

To read the full article, click here.

Firstly that would depend on what clauses are in the contracts.

Picking up a high profile self professed drug addict willingly is very different than having one test positive 3 times that is under contract as you don't find out until the second strike and you can't sack them because of it.

Merv

This is my very point !

Clubs could be sitting on a time bomb with the current 3 strikes policy.

It is too late to take remedial action with sponsors because it becomes public after 3 strikes.

Quite clearly he didn't tick every box then.

If you can't kick, you're not much use in footy as far as I'm concerned.

And he would fit in well at the AF levels, seeing that about 70% of players are below average kicks.

Merv

This is my very point !

Clubs could be sitting on a time bomb with the current 3 strikes policy.

It is too late to take remedial action with sponsors because it becomes public after 3 strikes.

I don't know how the 3 strikes policy is incorporated into sponsor contracts.

My guess is it wouldn't be valid grounds for a contract breach as the club has no alternative and isn't even aware until strike 2.

Quite clearly he didn't tick every box then.

If you can't kick, you're not much use in footy as far as I'm concerned.

Yep... spot on.

With 5 more players still to be drafted I must admit I think we would be very lucky to find 1 or 2 decent additions. Doesn't seem to be much on offer. Skipworth and Crameri are starting to look certainties.