PSD/Rookie Draft

That would have been me :)

The maths is rather easy... we started off with list numbers of 38 senior players, 6 rookie players, 2 Cat B rookies

After our delisting, trades and retirements we end up with 11 players off the list as shown below:

1. Chris Judd (ret)
2. Andrew Carrazzo (ret)
3. David Ellard (ret)
4. Lachlan Henderson (traded)
5. Chris Yarran (traded)
6. Troy Menzel (traded)
7. Tom Bell (traded)
8. Cameron Giles (delisted)
9. Matthew Watson (delisted)
10. Blaine Johnson (delisted rookie)
11. Fraser Russell (delisted rookie)

This leaves us with 29 senior listed players, 5 rookie listed players and 1 cat b rookie.

We picked up 5 kids through trades which gives us 34 slots.

Add in Jack as a FS and 4 first round picks which will give us 39.

We can either delist Warnock (a given I think) and 2 rookies (Gower and Fields). This gives us 2 picks remaining. We can take 1 PSD pick and 1 rookie pick if we want to end up with the list numbers of 40 senior, 4 rookies and 1 Cat B rookie.

We will have to promote Bryne off the cat b list and retain Wood and Sheehan on the rookie list.
That is bloody excellent mate, cheers for the effort. It is rather easy when it's mapped out as well as that.

Byrne should be a moral to be elevated anyway which is good. Same goes for Warnock's delisting.

Seems as though we'll definitely go with the 40/4 split which I like. Fields is the stiffest but rumours suggest he's gone. Gowers a shade unlucky but we have to retain Wood & Sheehan so them's the breaks.

I'd have liked to re-rookie Giles but think the club would've announced they would try to when delisting him. PSD I'd go with Mitch Brown or the best kid left.

Cheers again.

That is bloody excellent mate, cheers for the effort. It is rather easy when it's mapped out as well as that.

Byrne should be a moral to be elevated anyway which is good. Same goes for Warnock's delisting.

Seems as though we'll definitely go with the 40/4 split which I like. Fields is the stiffest but rumours suggest he's gone. Gowers a shade unlucky but we have to retain Wood & Sheehan so them's the breaks.

I'd have liked to re-rookie Giles but think the club would've announced they would try to when delisting him. PSD I'd go with Mitch Brown or the best kid left.

Cheers again.
I wouldnt mind considering Marcus Adams as a rookie KPF (delisting Gower and Fields lets us take one more rookie). Mitch Brown might be a good choice for the PSD really... either him or Mason Shaw.

Cheers again.

I'm sure Wood is due to be on the senior list for 2016 when he signed up for 2yrs last year.

Warnock would have to be gone and still TBA for White, Army & Holman with probability that Sheehan & Byrne will be upgraded. Would like to see Jones downgraded to a rookie as well for the supposed loop hole on the salary.

I wouldnt mind considering Marcus Adams as a rookie KPF (delisting Gower and Fields lets us take one more rookie). Mitch Brown might be a good choice for the PSD really... either him or Mason Shaw.
Can't say I know who Adams is, mature ager? Brown or Shaw I could live with, that or the best youngster left. Try & pull another Eddie.

Big body from West Perth but don't know if it'd make as a KPP. Solid unit but may need to play smaller in the AFL. Shut down Shane Yarran, mid sized forward who was on the radar of some clubs last year.

I'm sure Wood is due to be on the senior list for 2016 when he signed up for 2yrs last year.

Warnock would have to be gone and still TBA for White, Army & Holman with probability that Sheehan & Byrne will be upgraded. Would like to see Jones downgraded to a rookie as well for the supposed loop hole on the salary.
Yeah, that does ring a bell with Wood. 3 ruckmen on the senior list is ok anyway, with Korcheck developing as a rookie. I've got a funny feeling we might get a nice little surprise in Phillips, too. Late bloomer, just like our ex sauce.

I'd really like to keep all 3 of those senior listed boys. White & Army for experience, cover & leadership. Holman shows a bit for mine, goes hard & has a neat left boot.

If there's indeed a loophole for Jones, I'm all for it. I've got quite a few mates that know him, are mates with him & even taught him I think. I'll see if I can find something out. Good fella apparently, pity about his footy. Told a couple of them that on GF day over a few ales, they agreed.

193 cm tall 22 year old KPF/Third tall type player. Agile and quick with fast hands and a fast mind. Good reader of the ball into the 50 and good mark.

Thats what I got from the highlights of a game from last year against the Royals.

As The Bighouse said... he might have to play as a third tall forward in a Jack Darling type role.

Big body from West Perth but don't know if it'd make as a KPP. Solid unit but may need to play smaller in the AFL. Shut down Shane Yarran, mid sized forward who was on the radar of some clubs last year.
So a 3rd tall defender type then? Big body but not tall enough for a KPP? Plowman or White may have that role stitched up, Jaksch can go back too but we'll need him forward next year. Cheers mate.

193 cm tall 22 year old KPF/Third tall type player. Agile and quick with fast hands and a fast mind. Good reader of the ball into the 50 and good mark.

Thats what I got from the highlights of a game from last year against the Royals.

As The Bighouse said... he might have to play as a third tall forward in a Jack Darling type role.
Well that answered the questions I just asked. Can play forward, that I wouldn't be averse to. Going to need some help up there. So a Darling/Kersten type, that'd be ok.

The maths is rather easy... we started off with list numbers of 38 senior players, 6 rookie players, 2 Cat B rookies

After our delisting, trades and retirements we end up with 11 players off the list as shown below:

1. Chris Judd (ret)
2. Andrew Carrazzo (ret)
3. David Ellard (ret)
5. Chris Yarran (traded)
6. Troy Menzel (traded)
7. Tom Bell (traded)

This leaves us with 29 senior listed players, 5 rookie listed players and 1 cat b rookie.

We can either delist Warnock (a given I think) and 2 rookies (Gower and Fields). This gives us 2 picks remaining. We can take 1 PSD pick and 1 rookie pick if we want to end up with the list numbers of 40 senior, 4 rookies and 1 Cat B rookie.

We will have to promote Bryne off the cat b list and retain Wood and Sheehan on the rookie list.

Armfield is worth another contract even if it's just one year.
Warnock surely has to go now that Phillips has been recruited. No one was interested - not even the WCE! (Giles).
Is White still uncontracted? He would have to be nervous now that we recruited Plowman.

Sam Menegola - this guy has had rave reviews about his WAFL season.
14 games/21 goals
Averaged 27+ possessions a game.
Runner up in the Sandover Medal (-4 votes) but only played 14 games. (41 votes from 14 games in a 5 vote system).
30 possessions and a goal in the Grand Final.
Has already been at 2 AFL clubs but hasn't played a game due to previous injuries.
Still only 23 and has bulked up since his AFL days (188cms/90kgs)

I am not suggesting we take him with the #1 PSD pick but well worth a look.

http://www.wafl.com.au/players/view/4473

http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/af...e/news-story/ceb09ce159c8a5abf67aa68104d5d358

Warnock surely has to go now that Phillips has been recruited. No one was interested - not even the WCE! (Giles).
Is White still uncontracted? He would have to be nervous now that we recruited Plowman.
White is contracted. Armfield should get a new 1 year contract now. I've heard that Warnock is gone for all money. Was offered a new 1 year contract on a massively reduced amount and knocked it back. Threatened he would retire if we delisted him. Bye bye then Witches hat.

That being said, White and Armfield both have to know that they are just going to be depth over the next year while their replacements get up to speed and get some games behind them.

Armfield is going to be 30 at the end of next year. He will have had 10 years on an AFL list and has played 125 games to date. Not bad for someone who no one has rated.

White will be 28 come the end of 2016. He is a good depth player for a third tall undersized KPD. I would expect him to get picked up if we delisted him. It'll be a massive shame that a good clubman like White can't get to 100 games.

This West Perth guy? Seems like he hasn't seen much forward action.
Ok then... it could be that he plays either end of the ground. Which isnt bothering me :D

I saw the 40 games for 26 goals and thought third tall forward. My bad :)

White is contracted. Armfield should get a new 1 year contract now. I've heard that Warnock is gone for all money. Was offered a new 1 year contract on a massively reduced amount and knocked it back. Threatened he would retire if we delisted him. Bye bye then Witches hat.

That being said, White and Armfield both have to know that they are just going to be depth over the next year while their replacements get up to speed and get some games behind them.

Armfield is going to be 30 at the end of next year. He will have had 10 years on an AFL list and has played 125 games to date. Not bad for someone who no one has rated.

White will be 28 come the end of 2016. He is a good depth player for a third tall undersized KPD. I would expect him to get picked up if we delisted him. It'll be a massive shame that a good clubman like White can't get to 100 games.

I like White. It just seems that he has slipped back in the order now.
He won't ever be a match winner but every side needs it's dependable types and he has been solid when he has been injury free.
Like I have said elsewhere - Phillips should be given automatic Life Membership because we finally get rid of bloody Warnock!

White appears to have truckloads of leadership and that is something we lack heaps of..I woukd give White a new contract purely so he can skipper the VFL team and help with the development of the kids. Arnfield doesnt have the leadership but he has an incredible work rate and will set amstandard for the kids to follow.

1. Chris Judd (ret)
2. Andrew Carrazzo (ret)
3. David Ellard (ret)
5. Chris Yarran (traded)
6. Troy Menzel (traded)
7. Tom Bell (traded)

Given our trade period, I would be exceptionally surprised if we go to the PSD.

We have traded in 5 players and have 4 top 19 picks to build our list with. There would be a riot if we do
not draft young Jack Silvagni. (surely he cannot bypass ND and only nominate for Rookie draft, what an
option that would be).

Warnock will be gone, Armfield has been hanging on waiting to see if a spot still exists. He is going to be unlucky,
fully deserves a spot, but for him to stay we would need to delist young Holman or Simon White, who will
be essential given our lack of talls (contrary to some offerings, a recent article confirmed he is out of contract).

We absolutely have to elevate at least one rookie. Casey and Gussyman are at least borderline best 22 when fit.
Wood is contracted, with some suggesting locked in to a 2016 upgrade. While Wood may not be required
beyond 2016, depending on development of Phillips and Korcheck (and Kreuzer fitness), the Irish need to be
primary listed this year or next. We will not have as many delistings next year so will not have the luxury of
multiple rookie promotions.

We do have the option of adopting a 40/4 model over the current 38/6, but would still require a minimum of
11 primary delistings to make it work. We need both the Irish and Wood eligible for senior selection.
My two cents would be to actually split the difference and use 39/5 model, allowing for 1 nominated rookie.

As much as we could benefit from a Mitch Brown mature swingman, or a seasoned Adcock, I still think no PSD
and expect Warnock and Armfield gone, probably Fields too. Hoping we can re rookie Army, as he is deserving
of a spot.

Army certainly offers something...great clubman,

White appears to have truckloads of leadership and that is something we lack heaps of..I woukd give White a new contract purely so he can skipper the VFL team and help with the development of the kids. Arnfield doesnt have the leadership but he has an incredible work rate and will set amstandard for the kids to follow.

Armfield is a great clubman, very popular

Army will battle hard and lead by example in the 10 goal thrashings. Need older blokes around the talented youngsters or they turn into Jack watts

I'll probably get shot down for this, but I'd like us to pick up Saints cast off Spencer White.

He didn't come on at St Kilda, but with his athletic ability and size - you could see why they all made Buddy comparisons as a KPF.

He did some nice things in his limited time at AFL level (see his highlights vs Richmond).

He lost interest at St Kilda but I'd back Bolton to try and get the best out of him development wise.

Really he felt like he had a bargaining position? Guy has been over paid his entire AFL career, besides who will pay him 6 figures outside of playing in the AFL.

Grimley from Hawthorn worth a look?

Mitch Brown will more likely get picked up in the ND.

It was a nice card to hold for a while but it won't net us anything special, if indeed we did find a need for it.

Deserving of ND Harks, but not convinced Brown will get a gig.

With the exception of Western Bulldogs, who have traded down for seemingly specific targets, the clubs in
need of talls have covered them by trading, or have multiple picks at the pointy end of the draft.