Pubs associated with Stadiums.

Here is Arden Street, home of the Shinboners.

gasometer.jpg

Victoria Hotel in North Melbourne, home of the AGM in 1872.

vic-hotel.jpg

Not sure whether the Levenson in North is historically linked with the club, but currently owned by Cory Mackernan.

tumblr_l1m2fhgEuB1qb69qj.jpg

Thought i would throw the superb railway Hotel in, seems reasonably close to the ground, but now closed i believe.

1346290184607_RailwayHotel_20120731GooglePlace-938x704.jpg

Great post. Have had many a beer in those pubs. There was also the North Star Hotel, which is now apartments.

The Town Hall on Errol Street is still there, and used to be covered in North related paraphernalia.

tumblr_lloqpnB7K01qb69qj.jpg

My Grandfather used to own the deli - now the Sushi Noodle Town - that is next door.

Overall yeah the shard is king nowadays, but Victoria Street and the surrounds the smack still reigns supreme, not quite like stepping back into 1990s Smith Street or Springvale Road, but still pretty visible.

Apart from Silent Alarm I'm not sure who would want to step back to 1990s Smith Street.

Though I best recall Russell Street being the smack hotspot. You couldn't walk down it without "chasing? chasing?" following you.

Apart from Silent Alarm I'm not sure who would want to step back to 1990s Smith Street.

Though I best recall Russell Street being the smack hotspot. You couldn't walk down it without "chasing? chasing?" following you.

Don't know about smith street, but when Hoddle was widened in 1970 (?) the suburb lost a lot of character'

Victoria Park Hotel

Railway Hotel

Sir Henry Loch Hotel

Glouster Hotel

Town Hall Hotel

Royal George Hotel

Junction Hotel

All were demolished as well as many other fine buildings, in hindsight 40 years on i bet the majority of people would wan't them back.

Swan Hotel, where the club allegedly formed in 1895.

AoSwdbm.jpg

9XTgqs0.jpg

Couple of things, according to the bloke i spoke to yesterday, only 3 players actually live in North Freo, yet the club has 4 senior teams and 2 colts teams, last year they had 3 colts teams, but decided against it this year due to the workload for the committee.

Plenty of blokes who play live around the Melville area and have past family connections to the club, there was a pub called the Gresham that was actaully right next door to the club but i am unsure when that closed down, from all reports a fantastic social scene down at North Freo.

The Swan was my old wateringhole for about 5 years in the 90's as I used to work straight across the road. I knew the owners by name and was a great pub back then and my ex picked me up pretty drunk from there more than a few times. More than a few of my $$$ went into the upgrades of the pub over the years. It defiantly made a change to the skimpies & drug dealers at the Railway around the corner.

Probably should add the Carlisle Hotel which is not as old as the Vic Park hotels , but actaully far closer to Lathlain Park at around a 5 minute walk.

EsteOci.jpg

My old club in Perth had a good deal going with the Broken Hill Hotel; $5 pints or something after the game during the presentations. Not a bad little pub but being Vic Park, it's not too inspiring in terms of pubs – mostly horrible, new, clean, manufactured, franchisey places.

Never been in there, bar quite a number of years ago, and ny memory is shot of that night :D dropped into the Vic Park Hotel for a beer after taking some pics and it looks pretty good inside.

Is there any around Simonds stadium? Me and a couple of mates were in Geelong for the match last weekend and couldn't find a pub anywhere near the ground :(

Serious? The Barwon Club is on Moorabool Street, just before you hit the bridge over the Barwon River. 2 minute walk from Simonds.

We came from the Geelong Station instead of South Geelong because we thought we'd find one on the way but I'm guessing that's the opposite direction. Asked a few people but they were all from out of Geelong so they didn't know either. Atleast I'll know for next time.

Probably should add the Carlisle Hotel which is not as old as the Vic Park hotels , but actaully far closer to Lathlain Park at around a 5 minute walk.

EsteOci.jpg

Used to be a pretty rough pub, a lot nicer nowdays but still has that element, Live about 10 minutes walk away from the place

I remember the Broken Hill Hotel ( vaguely ) quite a number of years ago, haunt of bikies and skimpys, not sure about now though.

Quite nice, My dad tells me it's the first pub that my dad went to once he came to Australia, Doesn't have fond memories. It's pretty decent (not decent, alright) nowdays, Pubs in perth don't make money for being run down bikie haunts, The Vic park area is getting pretty middle/upper class

Leederville really is a great area, and I say this as ardent Freo clan. If the WAFL was still the dominant league I think only Souths would offer a better day trip. Plenty of nice pubs and the boutiques there aren't bad. Good little suburb but in all honesty, I don't really like Leederville Oval – the limestone looks old and weathered already, and the potential it has to be the dominant second footy ground is seriously underused. You wouldn't even need to have it developed a whole lot, just be more thoughtful with the funds.

As for Geelong, the Barwon Club Hotel is really packed on game days. They do schooners which is the best, and the $6 or $6.50 I was stung for it seemed reasonable. There's also one a lot further down, Gibbsy will know, that did a pretty good parma – and was visited by Essendon's own The Weapon...

Pav and Paul Hasleby owned the Seaview up until about five years ago too. Probably the closest pub to the ground is the Norfolk, gets plenty of action on weekends. Nice enough place.

The Newport is down the cappuccino strip and probably isn't any good unless you're a uni student. Even then it's actually pretty shit most of the time... 13-odd-dollar jugs though which definitely isn't criminal – I've had some good times there in all fairness, it's certainly better than the nevergood cesspool of a nightclub down the road. Further down, right near the mall and on the strip/High Street intersection is the National which has just been refurbed. They have Swan Draught which is always good to come back to, apparently meals take about 40 minutes to come out though and I have to be honest, it seems a bit gentrified and soulless but it's still not bad for a few beers.

The Sail and Anchor Hotel is also very close to Fremantle Oval as are Rosie O'Grady's, The Newport, The Orient & Clancy's Fish Pub.

Sail and Anchor is just a good drop punt away, i will get time in the next few weeks, as i work all over town to get pics of a stack more pubs around Freo, love the place, but it gets a bit overrun with tourists sometimes.

I would say that Fremantle oval would be the home of football in WA. ( standing by for nods of approval and shakes of head)
You'd probably say Subiaco Oval though, surely. It's overrun its genesis as the home of Subi to be known as the venue of WAFL Grand Finals, State of Origins, the Eagles, Freo... it's the place where the most has happened, and the place where the most memorable things and biggest memories for WA footy unfolded. And I say that as someone who reckons Fremantle Oval'd be the nicest state league ground in the country.

I don't like the Sail and Anchor for what it's worth, it's kind of... the people that work there are just strange, aloof, guarded, queer people. Full of kind of naff people too... I'm harsh...

You'd probably say Subiaco Oval though, surely. It's overrun its genesis as the home of Subi to be known as the venue of WAFL Grand Finals, State of Origins, the Eagles, Freo... it's the place where the most has happened, and the place where the most memorable things and biggest memories for WA footy unfolded. And I say that as someone who reckons Fremantle Oval'd be the nicest state league ground in the country.

I don't like the Sail and Anchor for what it's worth, it's kind of... the people that work there are just strange, aloof, guarded, queer people. Full of kind of naff people too... I'm harsh...

Agreed, Subi is current home and has been for quite a while, but i guess i was talking about the real heart of the game in WA, the historical beginnings, it might sound stupid but for someone interested in history i felt Freo Oval has it over Subi.

Sail and Anchor is just a tourist haunt, people who work there are probably just sick of stupid whingey whiney tourists, but i am not a regular so i don't really have a opinion one way or the other.

Sail and Anchor is just a good drop punt away, i will get time in the next few weeks, as i work all over town to get pics of a stack more pubs around Freo, love the place, but it gets a bit overrun with tourists sometimes.

I would say that Fremantle oval would be the home of football in WA. ( standing by for nods of approval and shakes of head)
Bassendean Oval is the home of WA footy mate! ;)

Pav and Paul Hasleby owned the Seaview up until about five years ago too. Probably the closest pub to the ground is the Norfolk, gets plenty of action on weekends. Nice enough place.

The Newport is down the cappuccino strip and probably isn't any good unless you're a uni student. Even then it's actually pretty shit most of the time... 13-odd-dollar jugs though which definitely isn't criminal – I've had some good times there in all fairness, it's certainly better than the nevergood cesspool of a nightclub down the road. Further down, right near the mall and on the strip/High Street intersection is the National which has just been refurbed. They have Swan Draught which is always good to come back to, apparently meals take about 40 minutes to come out though and I have to be honest, it seems a bit gentrified and soulless but it's still not bad for a few beers.

I must admit that I sometimes judge a Perth pub if they don't have Swan Draught.

The first place I ever had pay $10 for a pint. That was 10 years ago. Much happier going to the Irish Club if I'm ever forced by gunpoint to go to Subi for a game.

The Subi is back in business ... nothing to match Gero's mark. Trust the reno did the old girl proud.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/wa/a/24391624/revamped-subi-ready-to-throw-open-doors/
What a story of disadvantage and adversity that is; two baby boomers in an affluent area, dressed in money, able to sit on millions of dollars for years, operating a hotel for their Scotch College children to inherit. **** that. That is not what pubs are about. Even if I lived next door, I'd never go in there on there principle alone.

Why do you describe kids as "Scotch College children' ? What has where the owners kids went to school anything to do with your seriously screwed, screwd vacancy. Fair dinkum ... jealous, not one of the POPuLA group diddums? You are demonstrably pathetic notso silent !!
Popular? What? Pathetic?! Aren't you a grown man with children? And you're carrying on like this?

That article read like nothing but an advertisement for how well off this people are: expensive suburb, multi-million dollar real estate. Most people own a business to attempt to live off. These people have it for their children to get more inheritance money. I'm not funding that shit. It exemplifies the great downfall of what pubs traditionally were and what pubs should still be. Venues all around Australia are struggling to stay even breaking even. It's a bit sad to see institutions all across the country, especially in suburbs that need them, being shut down and later converted into flats or, if we're "lucky," the kind of shithole these places popping up are: steel benches, 'chic' exposed brick, shiny wood floors and $10.20 Carlton Draught. No thank you. That's not what a beer before or after a game of football is all about.

Pubs associated with Stadiums.