Pulling Hair

Re: Tough man Jonathon Brown is a hair puller

So you dislike his style that much you wouldnt have him at essendon?
Without a doubt he's a good player but the reputation is bigger than the reality. What need have Essendon had for Brown anyway? We've had Lloyd & Lucas up until this year & Lloyd was a better player over the journey than what Brown has been. Lucas was a great player too & beat Brown at CHB on a few occasions as well. We wouldn't have gained anything by having him.

Hmmmm i think you need to re-think that post. If Brown was at Ess Lucas would struggle to fit in to that side and rightly so, Brown is far better when fully fit and on song. Brown and Fev has worked at Brisbane, Brown and Lloyd (hypothetically) would pro work at Ess. Lloyd was a great player, but you wouldnt not take Brown mate. Try selling that argument to the ess recruiting manager ;)

Yep, that will just about do it. and how about this little gem....
COLLINGWOOD defender Harry O'Brien says downing Geelong would do wonders for the Magpies' confidence, but believes the club would also benefit from a loss. almost Robert Walls like.

If they were his exact words then yes, that is poor. But i feel that people are a bit threatened by him because he is a bit different; he has an opinion, expresses it and perhaps does not relate to the average footy bogan because of that ;)

Just saw the incident again, Harry O has a lot more to answer than Brown. Brown grabbed a tuft of hair for a moment but the entire time Harry's elbows and hands were in Brown's face.

Watch it again. Harry was being rammed into the fence..Brown could have walked away at any time, but he prefered to stay and pull hair like the big girl he is

Yeah his a girl mate, a big sooky girl. Why is it that your supporters get so defensive and critical when your team suffers a loss? Brown grabbed his hair for about 1/100 of a second, and all of a sudden his a girl? Get your facts right mate, get your facts right and move on from last night ffs

Exactly but try telling that to a pies fan, trying to get through to one on this thread is like trying to teach your dog to speak to you :rolleyes:

Amazing how Brown managed to ram him into the fence while his arms were behind Harry's back.

C'mon mate there is no excuse for pulling hair. Brown could have done something else like push his elbow into Harry's chest or neck, or anything.

Pulling hair is the mark of a bitch, and what Brown did last night was pathetic.

Hmmmm i think you need to re-think that post. If Brown was at Ess Lucas would struggle to fit in to that side and rightly so, Brown is far better when fully fit and on song. Brown and Fev has worked at Brisbane, Brown and Lloyd (hypothetically) would pro work at Ess. Lloyd was a great player, but you wouldnt not take Brown mate. Try selling that argument to the ess recruiting manager ;)
Lloyd would still be playing & kicking 60-70 goals a year if he didn't do his hammy off the bone. A potential 1100-1200 goal career was cut short but 900+ is still a pretty special career. Not many have done that, clearly better than Brown. Brown made his reputation as a youngster who fell into a dominant team who would've won flags without him & had 3 top years from 07-09 & is now on the slide. He had his best years playing closer to goal than what a true CHF normally would & quite frankly would've got in Lloyds way. Lucas was a better player than Brown until at least 06, maybe 07, from a true CHF position & played some great footy at CHB at times. Lucas was a player who kept a pretty low profile & didn't run around the ground with a swagger, just got the job done. In short we wouldn't have won any more flags with Brown.

C'mon mate there is no excuse for pulling hair. Brown could have done something else like push his elbow into Harry's chest or neck, or anything.

Pulling hair is the mark of a bitch, and what Brown did last night was pathetic.

His arms were behind Harry's back, he could only grab the jumper or the hair and considering how quickly he let go, odds are he was going for the jumper and missed.

Lloyd would still be playing & kicking 60-70 goals a year if he didn't do his hammy off the bone. A potential 1100-1200 goal career was cut short but 900+ is still a pretty special career. Not many have done that, clearly better than Brown. Brown made his reputation as a youngster who fell into a dominant team who would've won flags without him & had 3 top years from 07-09 & is now on the slide. He had his best years playing closer to goal than what a true CHF normally would & quite frankly would've got in Lloyds way. Lucas was a better player than Brown until at least 06, maybe 07, from a true CHF position & played some great footy at CHB at times. Lucas was a player who kept a pretty low profile & didn't run around the ground with a swagger, just got the job done. In short we wouldn't have won any more flags with Brown.

How do you arrive at that conclusion? You cant say that just cause he hurt his hammy it stopped him from kicking 1000+. Thats just an excuse mate, and a lame one. Anything could have happened that encouraged or prevented him from reaching that milestone - dont speculate

Better than Brown? Brown is a CHF and Lloyd was a goal kicker. Big difference mate.

Wouldnt say his on the slide. Few injury issues but still influences the result of games when he is at his best.

Compare stats at the end of Brown's career to Lucas stats. Judge him when he done, not now.

Mate you are seriously kidding yourself if you think this way. But whatever, everyone it entitled to an opinion, yours is just considerably jaded because your bias towards ess is so transparent you could kick a football through it :D

His arms were behind Harry's back, he could only grab the jumper or the hair and considering how quickly he let go, odds are he was going for the jumper and missed.

Whilst he had all of his body weight pushed up against Harry who's back was bending backwards over a metal picket fence???

He could only grab the jumper or hair... WTF? Or he could have avoided shoving Harry into the fence and simply letting him go rather than trying to cause serious injury... where could Harry have gone? Backwards over a fence so his career was over... or walking was over?

Get off it mate. He pulled Harry's hair - and I'm sure he's hanging his head in shame for doing it - not carrying on like everyone on this thread who is saying Harry deserves it because of his opinions outside football!

Maybe Harry should just be normal... like... ummmm?

It's the third incident of hair pulling in the last couple of weeks... So does everyone on this thread support "hair pulling" on the football field? So do we want this to be a precedent in our game and the AFL lets players pull each others hair? That's awesome :thumbsu:

Whilst he had all of his body weight pushed up against Harry who's back was bending backwards over a metal picket fence???

He could only grab the jumper or hair... WTF? Or he could have avoided shoving Harry into the fence and simply letting him go rather than trying to cause serious injury... where could Harry have gone? Backwards over a fence so his career was over... or walking was over?

Get off it mate. He pulled Harry's hair - and I'm sure he's hanging his head in shame for doing it - not carrying on like everyone on this thread who is saying Harry deserves it because of his opinions outside football!

Maybe Harry should just be normal... like... ummmm?

It's the third incident of hair pulling in the last couple of weeks... So does everyone on this thread support "hair pulling" on the football field? So do we want this to be a precedent in our game and the AFL lets players pull each others hair? That's awesome :thumbsu:
So, Harry tackles Brown over the boundary, doesn't release the tackle when the whistle is blown or when Brown tries to throw him off, then when he ends up against the fence with his elbows and hands in Brown's face, he's the victim?

I'd love to live in your world.

So, Harry tackles Brown over the boundary, doesn't release the tackle when the whistle is blown or when Brown tries to throw him off, then when he ends up against the fence with his elbows and hands in Brown's face, he's the victim?

Tries to throw him off by continually keeping his hands around behind his back!

My world... what the real one?

Elbow in front of Browns chest... moves its way upwards trying to push Brown off him whilst he's getting shoved backwards over the fence and then Brown pulls his hair...

So Harry was pushing Brown back and holding onto him pulling himself backwards over a fence... Wow... just wow!

How do you arrive at that conclusion? You cant say that just cause he hurt his hammy it stopped him from kicking 1000+. Thats just an excuse mate, and a lame one. Anything could have happened that encouraged or prevented him from reaching that milestone - dont speculate

Better than Brown? Brown is a CHF and Lloyd was a goal kicker. Big difference mate.

Wouldnt say his on the slide. Few injury issues but still influences the result of games when he is at his best.

Compare stats at the end of Brown's career to Lucas stats. Judge him when he done, not now.

Mate you are seriously kidding yourself if you think this way. But whatever, everyone it entitled to an opinion, yours is just considerably jaded because your bias towards ess is so transparent you could kick a football through it :D
I'm sure that you would believe that your very own D Schwartz would've been a better player if he didn't stuff his knee, it took away 1 of his great assets which was his agility. Lloyds hamstring took away 1 of his great assets, maybe his greatest which was his pace off the mark. He lost 10-15% of it & that brought him right back to the field. Most people speculate on these things & Lloyd was a just turned 28yo with nearly 800 goals to his name. Exposed form would suggest that he would've smashed through 1000 goals without too much trouble. A hamstring off the bone is a pretty good excuse for not getting 1000 goals. Media types make excuses all the time for Brown when he gets beaten by opponents. Frawley only beat Brown a few weeks ago because he was injured, nothing to do with Frawley being a pretty good young defender was it?
Whats Brisbane achieved with Brown as the main man? Made finals once for 1 win when the forward they got rid of (Bradshaw) had a bigger impact on the final result.
I'm an Essendon supporter so of course there may be a little bias there. I just happen to think that a key forward combo with roughly 1400 goals between is pretty good & why would you tinker with that?

Elbow in front of Browns chest... moves its way upwards trying to push Brown off him whilst he's getting shoved backwards over the fence and then Brown pulls his hair...

So Harry was pushing Brown back and holding onto him pulling himself backwards over a fence... Wow... just wow!

Into his face.

You are seriously trying to claim that Harry "elbowed" Brown in the face?

Seriously?

Wow!

You are kidding no one.

Brown pulled Harry hair, whilst shoving Harry over a fence... FACT.

Harry elbowed Brown in the face... whilst he was being shoved backwards over a metal picket fence with both of Browns arms around him - Impossible... and classic stuff!

Saturday night must be mushroom night. :D

So I imagined the fence?

Thanks for setting me straight :thumbsu:

So the AFL is now the sport that supports hairpullers? Awesome to all those 8 - 10 year old girls out there... get yourselves ready... your about to get drafted :thumbsu:

You are seriously trying to claim that Harry "elbowed" Brown in the face?

Seriously?

Wow!

You are kidding no one.

Brown pulled Harry hair, whilst shoving Harry over a fence... FACT.

Harry elbowed Brown in the face... whilst he was being shoved backwards over a metal picket fence with both of Browns arms around him - Impossible... and classic stuff!
So now his elbow didn't move upwards from Brown's chest? Make up your mind.

It was a waste of energy for both players. Brown did pull his hair & O'Brien sort of had his hand around Browns face/close to his eyes but not long enough for a Judd type report. A fine for each that will be it in the wash up.

Pulling Hair