GO YOU CROW BOYS
Gday all,

Currently living in south korea after spending last year in Canada. I REALLY miss my footy. Sorta followed games last year and caught a few in 2 weeks at home before coming here and got a few things I want to ask or rather see a discussion start on.

Boch - is he the real deal at CHB. I loved the way Kenny developed back there and is now forward. For years the crows tried so many guys at CHF that could have developed better at CHB (ingerson, mcartney, wellman etc) before throwing forward. Can Boch last a full season there? He seems key if he can but I havent seen much talk about him on these boards. His development last year into the CHB has to be as critical as Truck's coming out as FB surely?

Johncock - has he stopped developing? He was a bit hit and miss but totally amazign at times when I left home but I don't hear alot about him these days anymore. Seems like a regular player but not a future star anymore? Whats the current opinion on his future at the club in terms of how important he is, where will he play, will he improve to be the star many thought he might be?

Welsh - love the guy. poor bloke is just one of those who will always been injury suspect. How important is he to the current make up of the team. I used to love his energy in the forward line.. taking marks against beigger opponents, setting a standard for work rate to keep the ball in the forward line.. will he still get a regular spot when fit?

Benny Hart - always close to our hearts but.. will he make 300? I saw a few bits of him last year and he was making mistakes I never would have fathomed possible a mere year or two previously.

I think that will do for my first post.. heh. Just a few things I wanted to see discussed I hadn't really seen yet.

Allefgib said:
Gday all,

Currently living in south korea after spending last year in Canada. I REALLY miss my footy. Sorta followed games last year and caught a few in 2 weeks at home before coming here and got a few things I want to ask or rather see a discussion start on.

Boch - is he the real deal at CHB. I loved the way Kenny developed back there and is now forward. For years the crows tried so many guys at CHF that could have developed better at CHB (ingerson, mcartney, wellman etc) before throwing forward. Can Boch last a full season there? He seems key if he can but I havent seen much talk about him on these boards. His development last year into the CHB has to be as critical as Truck's coming out as FB surely?

Johncock - has he stopped developing? He was a bit hit and miss but totally amazign at times when I left home but I don't hear alot about him these days anymore. Seems like a regular player but not a future star anymore? Whats the current opinion on his future at the club in terms of how important he is, where will he play, will he improve to be the star many thought he might be?

Welsh - love the guy. poor bloke is just one of those who will always been injury suspect. How important is he to the current make up of the team. I used to love his energy in the forward line.. taking marks against beigger opponents, setting a standard for work rate to keep the ball in the forward line.. will he still get a regular spot when fit?

Benny Hart - always close to our hearts but.. will he make 300? I saw a few bits of him last year and he was making mistakes I never would have fathomed possible a mere year or two previously.

I think that will do for my first post.. heh. Just a few things I wanted to see discussed I hadn't really seen yet.

I though Ben Hart has played 298 games, according to afc.com.au that is so I dont see why he wont make 300

Allefgib said:
Gday all,

You haven't kept up with footy alright. Good 1st post though. By the way its Bock not Boch :D
We've got a solid backling with Rutten and Bock and Bassett there holding down the big guys.Bock will be CHB all season unless he gets moved forward sometimes. Johncock has been hit and miss because he doesn't know what his preffered postion is. Needs to find a spot otherwise could get taken over by younger kids. I like him from the backline. Welsh is very important player. He has to play whenever available. He was our leading goal kicker last year. Benny hart should make 300. This might be his last year. Getting injured alot but he adds stability to the backline and can play tall or short. We need the experience still there.

Allefgib said:
Gday all,

Welcome aboard. How are you enjoying Seoul? I've spent a bit of time there myself. Great city.

I reckon Benny might just make it to 300, given that he's sitting on 298 now :p I thought he was reasonable value last year. You're right that he did make the odd blunder that in the past would have been very uncharacteristic for him. Also his disposal by foot didn't seem quite as reliable to me as it used to be. Perhaps a legacy of the chronic hamstring problems he had?

Haha.. obviously in my desire to get a first post up I didnt do enough research on Benny's game tally. Good to see he will make it.

How does Bock-bock begerck rate as a CHB over Kenny? From what I saw he gave us alot more run.. but how does he cover his man? Plays a bit like the caveman in the few glimpses I saw but can he cover a man as well as Caven and McGregor did?

Seoul is treating me well. Found a few guys when I arrived who gather regularly to watch the footy on ABC Asia Pacific. Saw all the Crows finals games last year. My gf here got a treat for her first live game of footy with me watching me get PLASTERED as we THUMPED the power :) A power boy was along for the game too and she didnt understand the back and forth at first but I soon set her straight ;)

Great stuff mate, welcome aboard.

Things are looking alright for next year mate, Bock is looking good down back which frees up Kenny to play up forward which is vital.

Hentschel will be an important player for us along with Perrie they will be 3 guys tough to man up on.

Stiffy was touted as moving into the midfield last year but I think his lack of cardio vascular fitness held him back and I think it could plague him for the rest of his career. I dont think we need him to play in the midfield with the hopeful emergence of Knights, Van Berlo and Douglas.

Keep logging in mate, I reckon its the best way to really find out whats going on at the club. I wish I knew about Big Footy when I was overseas I had to rely on afl.com.au and afc.com.au.

Blue Red and Gold said:
Great stuff mate, welcome aboard.

Things are looking alright for next year mate, Bock is looking good down back which frees up Kenny to play up forward which is vital.

Hentschel will be an important player for us along with Perrie they will be 3 guys tough to man up on.

Stiffy was touted as moving into the midfield last year but I think his lack of cardio vascular fitness held him back and I think it could plague him for the rest of his career. I dont think we need him to play in the midfield with the hopeful emergence of Knights, Van Berlo and Douglas.

Keep logging in mate, I reckon its the best way to really find out whats going on at the club. I wish I knew about Big Footy when I was overseas I had to rely on afl.com.au and afc.com.au.

Thanks mate. Been good reading so far thats for sure. So where is stiffy's spot then? Do we need to pick a spot and let him play there all season? How was he used primarily last year? Has the AFL game moved on such that players with a touch of magic but not enough consistency are going to find it hard now?

Really keen for a Bock - Caven comparision. Caveman was awesome for us back in the day of course but I hear Bock is good we are set with him.. but still no little about him other than he sounds like a good running CHB. How does he match on a really strong guy though?

you should make aussietorrents.com your friend if live in s korea, esp with their superfast connections. With any luck its appears theres going to be quite a few games covered so that should include the crows too. You'll get all the football coverage you need.

Allefgib said:
Thanks mate. Been good reading so far thats for sure. So where is stiffy's spot then? Do we need to pick a spot and let him play there all season? How was he used primarily last year? Has the AFL game moved on such that players with a touch of magic but not enough consistency are going to find it hard now?

Really keen for a Bock - Caven comparision. Caveman was awesome for us back in the day of course but I hear Bock is good we are set with him.. but still no little about him other than he sounds like a good running CHB. How does he match on a really strong guy though?
Stiffy was primarily used down back last year until he broke his leg against Melbourne, until that stage he was looking the goods down there, creating a lot of drive. I think he should play down back as Im not sure we will have enough room for him up forward as it appears that Roo, Edwards and possibly McLeod will be spending more time up forward when they are rested from the midfield.

Blue Red and Gold said:
Stiffy was primarily used down back last year until he broke his leg against Melbourne, until that stage he was looking the goods down there, creating a lot of drive. I think he should play down back as Im not sure we will have enough room for him up forward as it appears that Roo, Edwards and possibly McLeod will be spending more time up forward when they are rested from the midfield.

Sounds good. Always a big fan of playing your best players up forward. Esp get the young legs giving you run from the backline.. let them learn the game.. send them midfield or forward when they are truly ready. I think the 3 senior players above all made their name off a back flank or back pocket first :)

outback jack said:
you should make aussietorrents.com your friend if live in s korea, esp with their superfast connections. With any luck its appears theres going to be quite a few games covered so that should include the crows too. You'll get all the football coverage you need.

Awesome site. Thanks :thumbsu: . can even give the canadian girlie some NHL to keep her happy after she got me afl.com.au membership for valentines day :)