Purple Rain - please never again

• Thread starter Thread starter Dockernut

Mark me down for another 'never again' - it in no way provides any sense of build-up or excitement toward the battle that's about to begin.

Plus it also will prevent my juvenile buddy from singing about touching you with his 'purple vein'...

I think we need to go completely left field, throw the opposition off, completely different songs every week.
Week 1- I Touch Myself
Week 2- Soviet era Russian national anthem
Week 3- Ladysmith Black Mambazo singing the alphabet from Sesame St
Week 4- Ca Plane Pur Moi by Plastic Bertrand
Week 5- The Pub With No Beer
Week 6- Ten minutes of pan flutes and Enya.
You get the drift.

Purple People Eater

Either that or "Do you really want to hurt me?" - Culture Club, depending on which team rocks up

Walking around the stadium on Saturday watching people’s faces when the Purple Rain countdown came on, all I saw was cringing and discomfort. The song may have some symbolism, but it is completely the wrong tune to be building up excitement for a game.

Personally, I wouldn’t be opposed to more AC/DC, but that’s just the old bogan in me.

Sorry marketing folks, but I reckon this one is a bust.

Absolutely loved it! It sent shivers down my spine. Hope they play it every week. People around me also loved it.

For those Dave Chappelle fans...

th

Perhaps we could hand out pancakes while it Purple Rain is playing.

And if you want to disturb and confuse the opposition, anything by Frank Zappa should do the job. "Easy Meat" probably sounds appropriate but the lyrics really aren't suitable for the kiddies.

I think we need to go completely left field, throw the opposition off, completely different songs every week.
Week 1- I Touch Myself
Week 2- Soviet era Russian national anthem
Week 3- Ladysmith Black Mambazo singing the alphabet from Sesame St
Week 4- Ca Plane Pur Moi by Plastic Bertrand
Week 5- The Pub With No Beer
Week 6- Ten minutes of pan flutes and Enya.
You get the drift.
I dare anybody to tell me this wouldn't be absolutely amazing

Eskimo Joe and Tame Impala are fans of the team, could easily see any number of their songs working well.

Otherwise ‘Problem Child’ by AC/DC kicks ass.

I dare anybody to tell me this wouldn't be absolutely amazing

Nice one. The reason I included that in my list was because I had a mate who although he was from Kazakhstan he'd grown up there when it was part of the Soviet Union and when he got pissed and I mean proper pissed, he'd sing that anthem.