Society & Culture pushing in line

As someone who spends a lot of time in Asia this topic is pretty close to home.

It's always fairly amusing when you get to the customs queue in Aus and the Asians forget that they're not in Ghuangzao any more Toto..... and many an Aussie will usually remind them of this fact in no uncertain terms.

My favourite experience of dealing with an Asian queue jumper was in Saigon.... I'm next in line at a supermarket, VN guy walks right in front of me and plonks a toaster on the counter in front of me. Yours truly grabs toaster and bowls it back 20 metres down the aisle for VN gent to fetch, with not a word spoken by either of us. Cong pin bowling. Not a classic anecdote, but it was fun at the time.

The worst offenders are drunk skanks who think because they've got **** they can do whatever they want.

Hate this.
Couple of weeks back 3 chicks (pretty tidy) tried their luck and walked past a massive line, up to the front and began talking to the bouncer. I was reasonably close to the front. The bouncer told them no but they kept at it.
Eventually he goes, "look, you're not cutting in so just f*ck off."
They did the long walk of shame to the back.
I made sure the bouncer knew that he was a bloody champion.

I remember this one time I was lining up at the express line at Woolies, and it was one of those express lines that had multiple registers, but only the one line. So you line up in the one line at the gate, and go to the first register that finishes serving. So I was standing there, 2 registers were operating, the furthest one opened up but I didn't notice as they didn't call out "next", so the guy behind me (holding a watermelon) was kinda trynna push past me, but there wasn't enough room for him to get through without bumping me. He gets past me but drops the watermelon, so the guy had to go back to the fruit section to go get another watermelon. Karma's a B!tch sometimes...lol

i find the worst people, are the ones with full shopping trolleys and wont just say ohh, you only have 2 items, go ahead mate, they irritate me

I don't do that anymore because once i made the mistake of letting some **** go in front of me because he was only buying a bottle of milk. Well **** me, none of his credit cards worked and he had no cash on him, spent like 6-7 minutes before the moron found a working card. Never again will i let someone in front of me because of that.

But anyway i'm a big guy so people don't mess with me, but i had a slight punch up at the footy once. I really needed to piss and i lined up like everyone else, when the guy in front of me at the urinal was finished some ******** from 2 metres away jumped over and took his spot. I grabbed his collar and janked the arseh*le back and he tried to fight me so i just dropped him.

I've always wondered this: Does it count as pushing in if you join a group of mates already in line?

I think if the number of people already waiting in line exceeds the number of people wanting to jump in, then it's cool.

Can't have one person reserving a spot for more than two people though.

I think if the number of people already waiting in line exceeds the number of people wanting to jump in, then it's cool.

Can't have one person reserving a spot for more than two people though.

Slightly off track... but have you ever tried to reserve a spot of "ground" for people at a Grand Final Parade. I did- almost got my head ripped off (even tho i got there waaaaaaay before those people did).... meanwhile i am calling my mates, like ****ing hurry up get here.

Tis a very hard thing to do.

Not sure if this topic has been posted, but if you see someone push in line how do you react? do you always say something? does it not bother you enough to talk up? are you a que jumper?

For me personally, sometimes I'll say something, sometimes I won't bother, depends on my mood really

Always say something or push back in front of them.

Slightly off track once again....my brother was about to park his car at one of the local supermarket car parks.he went to enter the car park there was a group of people in he car park they said its was taken (saved for there mate with a car) my brother said it was taken by him.it was about to get nasty but my brother used his lights on the top of his dash (kinda like police light) but he uses them for his business(hes not a cop).they backed down.

Er... what??? They were people on foot, saving a car park for a friend who in his car would later be using that spot?!?

Are you kidding me. No way, no car, no car park.

I don't understand how he got them to back down with lights? Did they look like police lights?

I'm a line pusherinerer, mostly at bars and overly populated places. I'm an impatient person, if I see a weakness in a line and realise it will cut down my waiting time then I'll take it.

yeah, I had someone trying to save a car spot by standing in it, I just pulled up alongside and started reversing, they realised they had no chance and stepped aside

Exactly what i would do if i ever encountered this- what horeshit saving a car spot for a car that isnt there.

First car to put their indicator on, is rightful owner of that spot. If there is no car, there's no indicator. :)

yeah, I had someone trying to save a car spot by standing in it, I just pulled up alongside and started reversing, they realised they had no chance and stepped aside

Would not do this.

Hate the idea of getting into an argument with someone who knows what my car looks like.

Who knows what they could do while it is parked.

One time I was lining up to buy a shirt, and some old asian lady comes through asking me if she can jump in front because her husband's sick and she needs to hurry up (in broken English). I wasn't impressed but waved her in front of me regardless

Interesting social phenomenon - if you ask a favour of someone, like pushing in a queue, and you use the word 'because' you are more likely to succeed. What you put after the 'because' doesn't seem to matter. E.g. "can I go in front of you because my husband is sick" would work but also would "can I go in front of you because I need to get served". Whereas if you just said "can I go in front of you" you would get refused.

Was queuing up to go into Wimbledon one time. Got up at the crack of dawn to have a chance of centre court or number 1. Got there about 7am and the queue was already down the side of the ground. A while later the queue had started to come back on the other side of road from us i.e. back towards the entrance. When the gates opened at 10am the queue shuffled up for a while - then suddenly all the people at the back of the queue ran across the road and pushed into the front of the queue. Absolutely nothing you could do about it. It was like people's normal politeness about queues had been broken because there was a large number of people doing the same.

On the car note the thing which really pisses me off is when you're driving round looking for a park when its packed, by chance you happen to be going past someone whoes getting in their car to leave so you sit there indicator on waiting or them to go. Either someone else comes along while your waiting and for some reason they think that park is now their spot or as soon as they've gone something races around the corner and pushes their car into the spot before you. Remember when this happened when I was a boy and it was the first time I saw my Dad so angry at someone.

I always get glares when I go to the movies for legitimete 'pushing in'.

I have an Event cinema just down the road and so go fairly regularly. I signed up for the cinebuzz club thing they do and buy my tickets online.

When you get there there is the line for the plebs and the line for online tickets. For some reason, so many people still buy their tickets at the cinema (and generally pay $5-$6 more for it. There is usually a fairly big line but I just walk right up the online queue with my barcode and as soon as they finish service the current person, they come straight over and get me my tickets. To the people who glare at me I think, hey, they advertise this thing in the previews, pay attention.

People get really pissed if you've pre-ordered snacks as the person will also go and get them before returning to serve the regular line.

If the cinema had a rule that you could take people's wallet's and molest some children would you do that too?