QAFL 2018

Dezario

Dec 14, 2011
QLD
Should be interesting this weekend. Lab have defeated palmy both games so far this season. And because palmy seniors won’t be playing on Saturday they will have 3/4 from the weekend unavailable due to qualification rules

stuyd1

Jul 9, 2011
gold coast
Gold Coast
Fan The Man ,,, The Panthers have been in ( what you call coming into form ) good form for some 10 weeks ,,, were out of form early in the season and looked like getting no where near finals .... Great results saw them finishing 3rd in the home and away fixture. Broady belted them by 9 goals two weeks ago with major injuries occuring early in the game resulting in having only 1 player on the bench from the 20 minute mark of the second quarter.
Yes, the season ending injuries to 5 gun players was a horrific scenario to happen ,,, but we got 2 good players back that have been on the injury list and Searl returned in the ressies on the weekend and was named one of the best players , thus I gather he will return to senior level this weekend.
And Blood is a chance to return ...
Thus I am confident we will win on saturday ... and go into the Grand Final.

stuyd1

Jul 9, 2011
gold coast
Gold Coast
So the grand final is pencilled in to be player at Yeronga HQ.... last year the QAFL moved it to Southport because of 2 Gold Coast sides playing off .
Scenario this year may well be Palmy vs Broadbeach { if Broadbeach win this saturday }in the seniors, with Broadbeach playing either Palm Beach or Labrador in the Reserves , and in the Colts , Magpies playing either Palm Beach or The Grange.
So will the QAFL move the big day to Southport due to the dominance of Gold Coast sides participating ????

stuyd1

Jul 9, 2011
gold coast
Gold Coast
Im keen to here your opinions here on the grand final venue ( if its a all gold coast team gf )
Like, the Southport surface is pretty good, car parking space is ok but the facilities are ordinary , and the atmosphere is ordinary as the ground can most likely accommodate some 6000 to 7000 plus people and when there are 2500 to 2800 at best attending this detracts from the crowd intenisty.
At Yeronga, the surface is unreal , but the ground is a west to east facing ground which is a distraction to players on a sunny QLD september day .The facilities are certainly better then Southport, but parking is a shitfight ....crowd capacity is about 4000, so the atmosphere is much more electric then Southport ... ummmh ,, interesting decisions here to be made, !!!!
Your thoughts please.. will be interesting to here .

ablett

Jan 27, 2006
Tasmania
If it’s a Palm Beach v Broadbeach Granny then logically it should be played on the GC to attract more spectators, you would less will travel to Yeronga.
If so I reckon Bond Uni ground should be considered, due to no cars can be parked around the ground it would be standing/sitting room only which makes for a great atmosphere, especially since the crowd would be packed in.

The highest ranked team gets a home final so then why doesn’t the same apply for the grand final location, if GC team makes the grand final 1st then it’s played on the GC and if a Brizy team make the Granny 1st then it’s played at Yeronga?

stuyd1

Jul 9, 2011
gold coast
Gold Coast
Ablett,
the Bond Uni ground ,,, is it a big ground with a decent surface , and what about the facilities be it change rooms, toilets , kiosk variety , etc etc

Dezario

Dec 14, 2011
QLD
You know Aflq are like... they won’t make the logical decision. Same thing happened in 2016 when lab and palmy played at yeronga

Supporters from both sides had to get buses up and would have lost a lot of support due to the location.

Pretty sure Aflq locked in yeronga at the start of the season which seems ridiculous, would have thought they would wait until August to see what sides are likely to make it.

Surely you don’t need more than a few weeks to confirm a ground. I know many leagues around the country operate this week

YOULL DO ME

Jul 4, 2017
Im keen to here your opinions here on the grand final venue ( if its a all gold coast team gf )
Like, the Southport surface is pretty good, car parking space is ok but the facilities are ordinary , and the atmosphere is ordinary as the ground can most likely accommodate some 6000 to 7000 plus people and when there are 2500 to 2800 at best attending this detracts from the crowd intenisty.
At Yeronga, the surface is unreal , but the ground is a west to east facing ground which is a distraction to players on a sunny QLD september day .The facilities are certainly better then Southport, but parking is a shitfight ....crowd capacity is about 4000, so the atmosphere is much more electric then Southport ... ummmh ,, interesting decisions here to be made, !!!!
Your thoughts please.. will be interesting to here .
Noosa play Maroochydore again in div 1 and it’s not being moved should be at Maroochydore where ground and facilities are second to none and the crowd would be amazing still they are not changing it

FAN THE MAN

Sep 21, 2017
Brisbane Lions
You can't play it at Maroochydoore, that would be silly to give a team home ground advantage.

But playing it at Brendale or even Caloundra would make more sense.

Just as playing the QAFL Grand Final would make sense at Southport given the likely scenario or Broady vs PBC.

surely its not hard to lock in 2 locations, then pick one according to the participants?

Blackdog32

Apr 27, 2009
Gold Coast
You can't play it at Maroochydoore, that would be silly to give a team home ground advantage.

Just as playing the QAFL Grand Final would make sense at Southport given the likely scenario or Broady vs PBC.

surely its not hard to lock in 2 locations, then pick one according to the participants?

This suggestion is way too fair and logical to be considered by headquarters.

Ask yourself what the powerful Brisbane clubs want and you’ll 9 times out of 10 get the eventual outcome.

FAN THE MAN

Sep 21, 2017
Brisbane Lions
I highly doubt any Brisbane clubs are consulted. Not sure any of them are 'powerful' either - apart from AFLQ pets, Morningside.

YOULL DO ME

Jul 4, 2017

Wouldn’t worry noosa fan,played there heaps,we bring a huge following with us and have good memories there.it is the standout facility on the coast although Moreton bay great also.the top 3 sides for the past two years have been Sunshine Coast sides,just find it silly to be going to Brisbane although as the old blokes would say ‘it’s a grand final and if u have to go to Roma to play it u do’

Gazzaa

Jul 30, 2017
Gold Coast
Surely 2 weeks is enough notice of where the GF will be played?!? As soon as Palm Beach won on saturday they should of had a GC venue ready to go be it Southport, Bond, Broadbeach even Palm Beach.

Too hard for them to leave their desks I suppose

Toucan Soup

Mar 22, 2006
Brisbane Lions
At Yeronga, the surface is unreal , but the ground is a west to east facing ground which is a distraction to players on a sunny QLD september day
Hello stuyd1
I've heard a similar type of comment previously, but never understood it. The No.1 Field (Downs Oval) runs largely North-South (I've tried to attach an image, hopefully it works - North is the top of the image), whilst the No.2 Field (Stevenson Oval) is more like East-West.
Looking forward to the next two weekends. If you're at the Grand Finals, drop into the Q150 History tent & say G'day. We'd be happy to chat about the impending launch of "More Of The Kangaroo - 150 Years Of Australian Football In Queensland 1866 to 2016".

Attachments

• Leyshon_Park.jpg
    Leyshon_Park.jpg
    46.5 KB · Views: 55

Gazzaa

Jul 30, 2017
Gold Coast
Broadbeach shouldn’t have a home prelim final. Prelim and grand final should always be neutral. Panthers will remember the 06 prelim final at Southport

Your kiddding surely!! Broadbeach have earnt the right to host the final...