QAFL 2021

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

True to form, the siders roll out 10 VFL listed players and drop blokes who have played every game this year for them :oops:

Surely I'm 2nd bottom on your list of good blokes now LongyZillmere? This is absolute gold.

Even a couple of blokes who literally haven't pulled the Panthers jumper on this year once!
Which is my point. If the system allows for players to be put on teamsheets it is open for rorting, across all grades and divisions

rumour has it, clubs were given a list of VFL players were allowed to be on teamsheets for the first cancelled round. But AFLQ forgot to do it for the last 2 rounds, so it was a free for all.

But playing a bloke who hasn't laced up the boots for your club in 2021 might be within some loophole rules, but I doubt another club in the competition would actually do that, but maybe I have rose coloured glasses on.

True to form, the siders roll out 10 VFL listed players and drop blokes who have played every game this year for them :oops:

Surely I'm 2nd bottom on your list of good blokes now LongyZillmere? This is absolute gold.

Even a couple of blokes who literally haven't pulled the Panthers jumper on this year once!

Equal bottom…

Which is my point. If the system allows for players to be put on teamsheets it is open for rorting, across all grades and divisions

Thats true but a quick phone call to HQ could eliminate what is now a farcical situation. Basically the integrity of the competition has been diminished.

This seems really farcical , I don’t know much about this points system and the transfer of players or eligibility etc .. but to have that many allowed to play seems totally unfair and makes a biased comp. (not sure AFLQ thought that process through properly ) no fairness at all

If I went of the last game between Surfers and Morningside which I watched on Vimeo last night , then I would say surfers will win (especially on their big home ground).

Now that the panthers are bringing in so many players that haven’t played much . That would have to hurt morale their continuity and team culture ..

It may help Surfers even more ..

TIPS:
Maroochydore to beat Redland .
Surfers to beat Morningside.

Half of them are Lions top up players, so it's a bit different. Rules I think are that Lions/Suns VFL games count as QAFL games.

Not like they rolled out 10 Aspley/Southport blokes.

Edit: looks like 6 x Aspley , 1 x Southport and 3 x Lions

But some of them played regularly in QAFL (Colenso, Warren, Peppin)

Half of them are Lions top up players, so it's a bit different. Rules I think are that Lions/Suns VFL games count as QAFL games.

As far as I can see, the only two players who haven’t played throughout the year is Triffett and Crozier - both Morningside juniors.

Am I missing the other 8??

how the f do Lions and suns vfl games count as qafl games, I would not be happy in the surfers club rn. the only circumstance that a player should be able to play finals and not play a game is if they have been out injured the whole season.

As far as I can see, the only two players who haven’t played throughout the year is Triffett and Crozier - both Morningside juniors.

Am I missing the other 8??

I don't think anyone suggested 10 blokes who haven't played have been rolled out.

Crozier is a Wests junior.

They are playing within the rules, but it does beg the question on how the rules were designed that 10 players can play who are VFL listed. (That goes for any club too)

I don't think anyone suggested 10 blokes who haven't played have been rolled out.

They are playing within the rules, but it does beg the question on how the rules were designed that 10 players can play who are VFL listed. (That goes for any club too)
it shouldn't make a difference how many there are, it should be how many games they have played individually for the club they're going to be playing finals for, normally it's around 6 or 5 down south, could be lenient with 3 actual games where a siren is actually blown to start the game at least

Sounds like he might be playing - which must be a really disappointing decision made by the club (and cynical) I think you would agree. Hasn't kicked a footy in anger for the cats this year and takes some blokes position come finals time... surely he wouldn't want to do this either??

that’s a straight out rort and makes the QAFL a joke

Wow a lot of shit is spoken on here at times ,,lol,
Tell me the 10 players Morningside have added into their side from the VFL ... I mean their isnt any .

Crozier went to Wests after playing 3-4 years as a Morningside junior.

So Thommo , this is your quote . Can u provide the names of these 6 Aspley , 3 lions and 1 Southport players that are new to the Panthers side .

Not sure if you noticed, but I was actually defending them from the typical pile on.

Crozier is trying to get drafted, if he's available you play him. The more footy he plays, the better. If we were there and Bruce Reville and Jack Briskey (as examples) were available to us, I imagine our match committee would pick them.

Not sure if you noticed, but I was actually defending them from the typical pile on.

Crozier is trying to get drafted, if he's available you play him. The more footy he plays, the better. If we were there and Bruce Reville and Jack Briskey (as examples) were available to us, I imagine our match committee would pick them.

I think the rule for qualification should have been that you had to have had actually played 3 games for the year - ie run onto the field. If a club had played one less than others due to the bye, then they had a qualification of 2 games.

But the rounds where no-one played are completely ignored and do not count towards games played.

In a season of inequality already - due to 11 teams, uneven fixtures, Covid, the joke that is the VFL (who swap players between teams), having players play finals who have not actually played a game is not in the spirit of community football - which is what the QAFL actually is.

Great wins with Morningside and Maroochydore today .. Morningside only just got there and Maroochydore fought back to snatch the win ..

I feel like Redland got what they deserved for rorting the points system and I fell like Morningside used the system to win .

apparently very similar games with massive fightbacks
. Maroochydore getting there in the end and surfers not quite able to finish Morningside off …. Apparently the spiders were dead in the water and only survived by the skin of their teeth..

Can’t wait for next week ..
Tips for bext week
Labrador
Maroochydore..

unreal results today ...closeness of the scores made for exciting viewing , but I reckon the biggest upset of the day was in the ressies where if I can quote a star studded Broady side were beaten by the Roos, .. wow , If I can simply say theirs a old quote be it . A CHAMPION TEAM WILL ALWAYS BEAT A TEAM OF CHAMPIONS. !!