Noosa will make it Stuyd just having some injury,weddings and snow skiing issues over the next couple of weekstry again
PALMY
REDLANDS
MORNINGSIDE
ASPLEY
SURFERS
ROOS
BROADBEACH
LABRADOR

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Noosa will make it Stuyd just having some injury,weddings and snow skiing issues over the next couple of weekstry again
PALMY
REDLANDS
MORNINGSIDE
ASPLEY
SURFERS
ROOS
BROADBEACH
LABRADOR

The current VFL comp is a wank! Stand alone teams mindset may be attempting to win the flag(which is the aim of our team sport) but I’m not always so sure. Agree with SMY the SANFL is a ripper. Totally disagree with the Bullants comment also!The difference between the Qafl and the SANFL, VFL, WAFL, is so large it’s just not worth the time for recruiters or anyone for that matter to watch the games.
Example I always refer to is Ryan Banks Smith. Grogan medal and best player in the entire Qafl in 2022 I believe. The next year he gets signed by Southport and would eventually get dropped from the vfl numerous times. In two seasons at the sharks, he would get in the best players in only one game.
The best QAFL players, excluding a select few, would struggle to get a game at the bullants (the Mt Gravatt of the VFL)
Hey Dufferex. You seem like a loyal & passionate Vultures man. You’re a guy been there through thick & thin. Good on you. I have to admit that even though I believe that the club cannot produce a QAFL standard footy program for the variety of reasons you’ve stated I’m now at the stage that I look forward to the weekly Mt Gravatt update to see what take you’ll have each week.Yeah mate sorry it's our fault for replying to comments asked by others, not once did i think loosing by 100 points is acceptable, infact i can tell you neither does anyone else still lying around this club, and its people like you that really don't know what they're talking about. Yes Cam james is the guy that left, but that doesn't determine whether people like him or not, and also guess what, about a 100+ other people have come and gone to and since cams left, what's happened? New coach, new board, new facilities, new playing group, it's a completely different club to the one he had left many years ago, and to be honest mate with the culture at the time he left i am surprised the club didn't fall apart. Now this is a forum for all QAFL clubs not just the ones Backpocket101 likes, so how about show some empathy to clubs going through drought and if you really have a problem, just ignore the vultures comments, now if you weren't hiding behind a screen and told people what QAFL club you go for, i'm sure they could find times when they weren't winning games either, Have a grouse night.
The AFL aligned and stand alone VFL clubs would have a slightly different angle on things you’d think. I haven’t followed closely enough to know how many standalone clubs besides Southport are challenging for the premiership.The current VFL comp is a wank! Stand alone teams mindset may be attempting to win the flag(which is the aim of our team sport) but I’m not always so sure. Agree with SMY the SANFL is a ripper. Totally disagree with the Bullants comment also!
Yes agree mate. VFL is not a proper comp in the real sense of the word. And there would be 30 blokes that would make Preston’s side playing qafl. They are terribleThe current VFL comp is a wank! Stand alone teams mindset may be attempting to win the flag(which is the aim of our team sport) but I’m not always so sure. Agree with SMY the SANFL is a ripper. Totally disagree with the Bullants comment also!
Palmy would be super competitive against the bullants they are terrible.Yes agree mate. VFL is not a proper comp in the real sense of the word. And there would be 30 blokes that would make Preston’s side playing qafl. They are terrible
Werribee won the premiership last year and have played in last two GF’s. Obviously I have a close affiliation with Williamstown who are definitely in mix of winning the flag this year along with Frankston, Coburg who all look like making finals. Add in Southport so they are going great in my opinion.The AFL aligned and stand alone VFL clubs would have a slightly different angle on things you’d think. I haven’t followed closely enough to know how many standalone clubs besides Southport are challenging for the premiership.
Noosaboy,Noosa will make it Stuyd just having some injury,weddings and snow skiing issues over the next couple of weeks![]()
Depends which club, your position on field and playing experience but there aren’t that many players in qafl on more than $200-$300 per game unless ex aflHey lads
As someone from Victoria playing local in the metro region, how much does a
Ex afl/state league player get paid
Established senior footballer
Young/not as established senior footballer get paid?
Just a picture on/and of books
The only way the academies have diluted the current comp is by their program running. For longer than it used to. The boys play about a dozen games now which was unheard of 10 years ago.Werribee won the premiership last year and have played in last two GF’s. Obviously I have a close affiliation with Williamstown who are definitely in mix of winning the flag this year along with Frankston, Coburg who all look like making finals. Add in Southport so they are going great in my opinion.
The standalone clubs have never been as strong as they are at present. I would say at a guess there would be 20+ QLD kids playing across the Victorian Stand alone clubs not counting Southport.
So if you added in Lions top ups that play regularly and Southport it’s a massive drain on our competition.
I think the Academies have also diluted all the young talent coming through as well which all effects QAFL Competition.
The salary cap is significantly lower than what you would expect.Hey lads
As someone from Victoria playing local in the metro region, how much does a
Ex afl/state league player get paid
Established senior footballer
Young/not as established senior footballer get paid?
Just a picture on/and of books
I agree there is good top end talent in most QAFL Teams that could play VFL but most of them players aren’t interested or been there and done that.The only way the academies have diluted the current comp is by their program running. For longer than it used to. The boys play about a dozen games now which was unheard of 10 years ago.
Yep think u know as well as anyone SM that there are plenty of guys running around in qafl footy more than capable of playing vfl footy it’s just a case of whether they want to shift for it. From my understanding there isn’t a massive pay day on offer either.
Why do you think the stand alone clubs are having a good run right now? Coburg has been pretty average for a while but come good whilst the others have all been reasonably solid for a while now.
If you are a good player in either of these comps at their highest levels then you will go okay in the QAFL. Different footy in some respects though - bit more open and on top of the ground footy in QAFL vs strong, inside footy on often smaller grounds in those leagues.As someone looking to play in the QAFL in 2026, how does the standard compare to premier Metro leagues like the EFNL and EDFL? Has anyone played in both or watched both ?
Few ex bottom end QAFL players that struggle especially EDFL from what I have seen. Most don’t get a game down there but played every week up here.If you are a good player in either of these comps at their highest levels then you will go okay in the QAFL. Different footy in some respects though - bit more open and on top of the ground footy in QAFL vs strong, inside footy on often smaller grounds in those leagues.
Few ex bottom end QAFL players that struggle especially EDFL from what I have seen. Most don’t get a game down there but played every week up here.
If you are a top end local level player in either of those competitions in Melbourne you will adapt easily up here
Depends which club, your position on field and playing experience but there aren’t that many players in qafl on more than $200-$300 per game unless ex afl
Reckon that is fairly accurate Miller. Think there might be one or two players at certain clubs on a $1,000 a game but they would be best players in competition like Cassbalt, Hammer etcI think you will find there are plenty getting $700+ at certain joints, in fact I imagine there wouldn't be a single club in the competition with at least one bloke getting $500.