QAFL 2025

Haven’t seen a lot of local footy this year but the umpiring was well below standard for a state league competition.

Was waiting for someone to comment or was it just the norm now.

The arm chopping in contests was non existent except for select few players. If they deliver same level or standard this week Surfers no chance of keeping Redlands forwards under control.

Let’s hope they set a tonne and are consistent all day for both sides.
Sorry to hear you feel this way mate, but if you rewatch the game you’ll see that the forward to defend attitude and ball movement was the real winner. Unlike morningside who pay players with Toyotas and 6 figure jobs, Redlands actually coach their players well from juniors and up into seniors

I've always preferred when umpires stick to paying the obvious ones only and keep their noses out of the 50-50s. the commentators on the stream seem to agree with that sentiment too

Sorry to hear you feel this way mate, but if you rewatch the game you’ll see that the forward to defend attitude and ball movement was the real winner. Unlike morningside who pay players with Toyotas and 6 figure jobs, Redlands actually coach their players well from juniors and up into seniors
I thought Hammelman, Chapman, Aston etc were Morningside Juniors last time I checked but not sure that’s what I was asking.

Must be something in the water down at Redlands. Good luck on weekend mate hope your boys have a crack and don’t fall short again in Carsey’s last throw of the dice.

All respect & best wishes to Carsey and the lads on Saturday but most of all I’m impressed that you said that last sentence with a straight face considering the NEAFL salary cap advantage held for near a decade.

Aren't Hammer and Chapman Panther juniors?

edit: Andy beat me to it

McDowell-White wins appeal at Tribunal to play GF. Wow! High contact to to players head who didn’t have ball. Injured player unable to take any further part in game. Very very interesting decision

Was going for an intercept not a smother champ, just took a hanger 3 minutes later he’s not an average player

absolutely shouldn't be suspended for that in my opinion, however based on the change of rules after the Brayden Maynard incident a few years ago, the rules a pretty clear that players will be suspended for that.

Very surprising the tribunal let him off, but can't blame the MRP

Huge outs for Aspley with Joel leahy and dodge signing on for country Vic.

edit: also see Jonah Licht as followed them and signed. Huge out for coops who have lost their VC.

Redland deserved their win Hammer was unstoppable unfortunately his opponent had a dirty day and he didn’t have enough help in the first half.

Still well done ti surfers worthy opponents and overall a good day out at BHA. It really is a great venue with elevated seating and good standing areas everywhere

Hope young Snowball is ok , reckon they missed him unfortunate concussion early in the game but for mine it was an accident and not malicious by the Redland player

Well done to Redlands, I’ll always call them Redlands. This club came into the qsafl whatever it was called back when Southport finished their 4peat, struggled their first year,made finals and won the grogan with a 100 goal kicker in their second year. It all went to shit after that, that’s when Phil carse, Marty king and someone else I can’t remember his name went to work. This club deserves this flag well done to all involved

7plus has been off its head today. Flicking between the VFL the SANFL and now the WAFL.l Grand Finals. If the AFL bring in the pre grandfinal bye it’s an absolute monty for state leagues to be playing their Grand Finals this weekend and getting broadcasts. Big opportunity for the QAFL and TSL to also get a spot. Brilliant days coverage.

Well done Redlands,, played so well , a game style very much like coach Carse use to play .
The Hammer ,, well ive been up hers in QLD for some 23 years and his first half was just domination ,,like at half time Redlands score was 7goals 4 points and Hammer had kicked 7 goals 2 Points ,, a performance I was haapy I witnessed .
Thought big Malone was good as was Smith ( no 27 ) Mcdowell-White ( no 37 ) and O Sullivan was good .
Surfers player Ellis -Yeoman was a gun all day .

As stated by 2010 Premier before the Brighton Arena is a great facility for the QAFL Grand Final .. the playing surface looked superme.
The crowd was no where near last year maybe because last year had 2 Brizzy sides playing , the weather was not looking good in the lead up hours to game time .....but the crowd was boisterous and the ground promotes that so well

As stated by 2010 Premier before the Brighton Arena is a great facility for the QAFL Grand Final .. the playing surface looked superme.
The crowd was no where near last year maybe because last year had 2 Brizzy sides playing , the weather was not looking good in the lead up hours to game time .....but the crowd was boisterous and the ground promotes that so well
It was my first time at Brighton Homes arena and whilst it was an early start and a just over 2 hour drive, the facility is fantastic. The surface amazing,great viewing all over and a terrific atmosphere.Certainly helps when your team/club has a win but it should definitely be the QAFLs centerpiece for GFs going forward in my opinion.
The increased quality of live streaming will continue to effect community/local footy crowd numbers also Stuyd especially where long distance travel or poor weather is a factor👍

It was my first time at Brighton Homes arena and whilst it was an early start and a just over 2 hour drive, the facility is fantastic. The surface amazing,great viewing all over and a terrific atmosphere.Certainly helps when your team/club has a win but it should definitely be the QAFLs centerpiece for GFs going forward in my opinion.
The increased quality of live streaming will continue to effect community/local footy crowd numbers also Stuyd especially where long distance travel or poor weather is a factor👍
Agree Noosa Boy ...live streaming quality is improving thus this does effect attendences ,, the Ovens and Murray have a great live streaming facility and whilst the Lavington Sports Ground is the comps masterpiece and all Grand Finals are played there and if its not 2 Albury/ Wodonga clubs playing the attendence declines dramatically and people watch via live stream .Yesterday was a classic example where 2 Wangaratta clubs made the grand final but its being played in Lavington .
The league quoted the crowd at 6500 but that was no where near the figure ,,reports are more like 4500 . If 2 of the 5 Albury Wodonga clubs where playing the crowd would be 8000 to 10000 plus ..and guess what the live stream viewing numbers for yesterdays game was some 4500 ,,,so there you go

QAFL 2025