QAFL 2025

Off the top of my head in Melbourne playing some form of footy from within the QAFL

Triffet, Colenso, Green, McCarthy, Briskey, Franks, Johnson, Bulley, Coleman, Hude - I'm sure there are way more.

Of those, Triffet and Johnson the only ones really playing high quality VFL footy and being top liners. Colenso playing majority VFL, but also played plenty of EDFL including a few GF's. Franks at the Bullants, so who would be able to even judge his form at that rabble. Briskey, McCarthy, Bulley, Coleman, Green, Hude all playing majority local suburban leagues. Probably only Triffet, Colesno, Franks and Hude in that list has genuinely dominated QAFL footy.

Then a host of players in country leagues like Torney, Tome etc. Not sure many FIFO's anymore other than the Maroochy lads? I think Adkins and Licht did it for a while.

Is it a problem? Not sure? Are there just as many Vics and Croweaters replacing these guys in the QAFL making the net position fairly even? Maybe. IS the QAFL improving? some would argue yes, others no - its a pretty good product in my view and don't think there is an emergency situation. Probably the one thats a bit of an outlier is a bloke like Fletcher, one of the best local products there is - going to play in a shit league in Tassie for presumably a huge pay out. Probably not an ideal outcome, and perhaps playing for QLD IN Tasmania 2 of the last 3 years exposed him to someone looking for a big recruit - double edged sword that state game!

Off the top of my head in Melbourne playing some form of footy from within the QAFL

Triffet, Colenso, Green, McCarthy, Briskey, Franks, Johnson, Bulley, Coleman, Hude - I'm sure there are way more.

Of those, Triffet and Johnson the only ones really playing high quality VFL footy and being top liners. Colenso playing majority VFL, but also played plenty of EDFL including a few GF's. Franks at the Bullants, so who would be able to even judge his form at that rabble. Briskey, McCarthy, Bulley, Coleman, Green, Hude all playing majority local suburban leagues. Probably only Triffet, Colesno, Franks and Hude in that list has genuinely dominated QAFL footy.

Then a host of players in country leagues like Torney, Tome etc. Not sure many FIFO's anymore other than the Maroochy lads? I think Adkins and Licht did it for a while.

Is it a problem? Not sure? Are there just as many Vics and Croweaters replacing these guys in the QAFL making the net position fairly even? Maybe. IS the QAFL improving? some would argue yes, others no - its a pretty good product in my view and don't think there is an emergency situation. Probably the one thats a bit of an outlier is a bloke like Fletcher, one of the best local products there is - going to play in a shit league in Tassie for presumably a huge pay out. Probably not an ideal outcome, and perhaps playing for QLD IN Tasmania 2 of the last 3 years exposed him to someone looking for a big recruit - double edged sword that state game!
Whilst I agree with most of what you saying I think watching limited games this year the competition seems down a little bit and lot of blokes that played Ressies several years ago now playing seniors probably supports my theory.

Not sure how much VFL Footy you watched this year but Ethan Hunt had a good year at Bulldogs and played most weeks and my young bloke played every game at Williamstown and actually lead B&F at end of home and away and was in top 10 on VFL goal kicking most of year. So not sure how he wasn’t playing as high quality as you stated. But everyone entitled to an opinion I suppose.

In reference to your comment on Fletcher ,, after a few seasons he has realised he is not good enough for the big time thus its time to go and play footy for the best bucks he can get ,,good on him

Miller ,, agree with you.. nothing has changed , If a player knows he is a good footballer but not good enough to make the big time he enjoys his footy and gets paid a dollar and by the time hes 24 or 25 hes prepared to go elsewhere and play for some much bigger bucks then what he has been getting. Happens in every comp in every comp and has for years

Didn’t thommo say the other day that Fletcher only playing 5 games at Lauderdale?
If so the. He’d want to be getting really big coin to justify it.

The sort of money being thrown around in vic country footy is absurd.
Genuine average leagues like the nth central Murray paying blokes $5k/ game at some clubs I’m told.
Then ppl have the hide to complain about “the state of football”
(Let alone the state of farming yet it’s these ppl that are propping up the big coin).

Noosa has been pillaged as well with fifo Miler. NB could reel off the blokes heading south each weekend easily enough.

Yes SMY we have been hit quite hard the last couple of years especially losing key personnel and importantly one pointers;
  • Laskey,Buntain and Fitzpatrick to Mildura Imperials
  • Rodgers to Tooleybuck
All FIFO from Queensland

Cooper Ogden, Tallis Buntain moving to Mildura to play with Mildura Imperials
Will ODwyer flying from Melbourne to play with Mildura Imperials

Connor Mc Donald and Harry Maher commuting each week from Melbourne to play with Tooleybuc. Connor on ridiculous money($2k a game) but has won last 2 club and league B and Fs
All Noosa one pointers and other than Rodgers all Noosa Juniors !

I see the QAFL salary cap has gone up to 90 k. I’d say the amount of FIFO happening now may had had something to do with that?

See Broady are entering the QAFLW. Must be ticking different boxes that you’re not aware of Thommo 42 . Or they just don’t like you lol.

On the flip side. Will be good to have another GC team to help balance out powerhouses Southport and Bond.

See Broady are entering the QAFLW. Must be ticking different boxes that you’re not aware of Thommo 42 . Or they just don’t like you lol.

On the flip side. Will be good to have another GC team to help balance out powerhouses Southport and Bond.
Yeah also helpful Given they are a dual QAFL/W program they know what their doing which helps in a battle against these giants.

Yes SMY we have been hit quite hard the last couple of years especially losing key personnel and importantly one pointers;
  • Laskey,Buntain and Fitzpatrick to Mildura Imperials
  • Rodgers to Tooleybuck
All FIFO from Queensland

Cooper Ogden, Tallis Buntain moving to Mildura to play with Mildura Imperials
Will ODwyer flying from Melbourne to play with Mildura Imperials

Connor Mc Donald and Harry Maher commuting each week from Melbourne to play with Tooleybuc. Connor on ridiculous money($2k a game) but has won last 2 club and league B and Fs
All Noosa one pointers and other than Rodgers all Noosa Juniors !

I see the QAFL salary cap has gone up to 90 k. I’d say the amount of FIFO happening now may had had something to do with that
Isnt Noosa's team the majoity just ex-pat victorians? Those conncetions back home clearly strong

I think the advantage for Broadbeach is that there's only 2 coast teams who are very strong so there's an appetite to spread the talent and even things out a bit.
The disadvantage for Sherwood is that a team not far from them are really struggling so difficult to justify adding another Brisbane team.

Didn’t thommo say the other day that Fletcher only playing 5 games at Lauderdale?
If so the. He’d want to be getting really big coin to justify it.
Bridport and its mainly about playing with his best mate.

We were told 12 months ago they wanted another GC team, so its no surprise. At least this time the Premiers are being elevated and will be competitive with their own existing talent.

We have 2 struggling QAFLW clubs less than 10 mins drive from us, so its a tough ask.

Wow, Liam Dawson signed at Morngside. Wheels falling off at Aspley.

Think there is another 4 or so on top of that list by the looks. Wonder if the group had been to well a few times and decided that was it for now or any other issues.
There’s no issues, it’s just the end of an era at the Club, a lot of those guys have won a flag or two and obviously decided to take higher financial offers elsewhere - you can’t stay at the higher part of the ladder all the time …Finn Delbridge won the Phelan Medal in Sydney Div 1 last year is a nice inclusion, The Co Captains are staying, - there’ll be a slide for sure but they’ll get games into a lot of their talented colts list from this year

Fair call always a hard time losing 12-15 players from your best side. If anyone can recover and get a few good players In Aspley probably one of the clubs.

Not sure they will compete for a while as new players come at points which is a balance. But at least they have good kids coming through.

QAFL 2025