Review QCLASH XX - Round 9 vs Brisbane @ Metricon Stadium (15.05.21 - 4:35pm)

14 touches as a small forward with only 69% game time (our lowest) Think you are being a bit harsh on him Sandy. Kids only in his 9th game, Ainsworth had less impact from 16 touches and more game time and is much more seasoned. Flanders is a much better defensive forward then Ainsworth and needs to keep his spot on that alone.
No, I see a future for him-(moreso than Sharp) but I want to win games
Can we as a Club afford to have a small forward playing 69% game time and not impacting the scoreboard?
If the answer's yes then we're in development mode-but I reckon we're 2 or 3 development players heavy at the moment(Graham and Flanders)
Don't forget we're still developing Farrar Ballard Lukosius King Rankine Anderson and to a certain degree Will Powell
I'm not sure how many of the keep Sam in drop Ainsworth crew were at the game, but again, no-one works harder than Ben
I'm not calling for it but Izak was a bit of a liability yesterday and would have his head on the chopping block before Ben
Maybe things looked better/different on the TV? but I can't bring myself to watch that again
The Touk hit happened right in front of me btw
I thought nothing of it
If it was Geelong Ablett or Richmond Cotchin he wouldnt even have been cited

Touk and that hammy might be a week off anyway. I wouldn't risk it.

We aren't beating the Lions. If Touk plays and his hamstring goes ping then we lose him for the Hawks game in a couple of weeks. That's one game we absolutely must win before the bye. Can't have Touk missing it.

14 touches as a small forward with only 69% game time (our lowest) Think you are being a bit harsh on him Sandy. Kids only in his 9th game, Ainsworth had less impact from 16 touches and more game time and is much more seasoned. Flanders is a much better defensive forward then Ainsworth and needs to keep his spot on that alone.
He's never been a big goal kicker in his junior days, need to play him as a mid or not at all. Need to get past defensive small forwards and get ones that actually kick goals , put Rosa's in, sink or swim

Kicked 39 goals in 28 games in the TAC cup and average a goal a game over 2 u18 championships. He is definitely a goal kicker and always has been

Definitely worth fighting as there was nothing in it ... but with his hammy take it and rest him
If the club chooses to not challenge it then it's probably fair to assume they were going to rest his hamstring next week anyway. If we challenge then they are obviously confident his hamstring issue isn't a risk.

We could really use Touk but it's not looking good at this point.

Kicked 39 goals in 28 games in the TAC cup and average a goal a game over 2 u18 championships. He is definitely a goal kicker and always has been
For juniors you would expect a goal average of over 2 , he can kick a goal but he's not a specialist goal kicker. He could be a high quality inside mid though. We had the option to choose a goal kicker or too with our rookie picks last year but chose not to and Townsend has not worked out

I get the feeling Touk may miss a week with a hamstring, so there's probably an opportunity there for Brodie to come in.

If that happens i'd be hoping for

Flanders > Sexton
Graham > Smith
Touk (if injured) > Brodie
Holman is out so Sexton in for him. Flanders gets another game. Brodie in for Touk and Smith for Graham. ...and please get Graham a better fitting pair of shorts!

Brodie for Touk
Smith for Graham
Atkins for Holman

I can't wait to get Witts, Rowell and Hollands into this side.

On SM-G960W using BigFooty.com mobile app

In terms of personnel I agree it’s exciting BUT the fade outs won’t be addressed by personnel.
There’s something amiss with our playing group mentally.

Holman is out so Sexton in for him. Flanders gets another game. Brodie in for Touk and Smith for Graham. ...and please get Graham a better fitting pair of shorts!

Dew said in press conference how sexton hasn’t played for 3 weeks so note sure if to give him a run in vfl on Thursday or not

Sure he doesn’t run both ways but neither did Lyons....
no winky emoticon thingy at the end;):p
Whenever I read this stuff about not working hard enough on D I always think of Kareem Abdul Jamar and Flying High
In reply to
"I think you're the greatest but my Dad(Stewy Dew) doesn't think you work hard enough in Defence"
noz1v.gif

For juniors you would expect a goal average of over 2 , he can kick a goal but he's not a specialist goal kicker. He could be a high quality inside mid though. We had the option to choose a goal kicker or too with our rookie picks last year but chose not to and Townsend has not worked out
Townsend has not worked out?

Mate, he got injured early on (fractured cheekbone) something that could not be anticipated and should be back soon.

Townsend's job would be
- Off field / professionalism / culture - think he is highly renowned for this.
- Provide a strong presence and a guaranteed contest in the VFL team forward line to ensure our small crumbing forwards (Rosas / Ace ) can have the opportunities to learn to crumb.

Obviously, we would have preferred him to be playing but he'll be back soon.
Not sure he gets another contract if listed sizes are shrinking though.
If he is that good in the off field role then potentially we are interested in keeping him around in an off field development / leadership development role - I'm just. speculating.

Its hard to imagine he's rated higher in that role than A Swallow and we couldn't afford him-I think it will be a while before we start expanding coaching rosters

Ballard - Hipwood / Collins - Daniher / Farrar - Mcstay?

Our guys are seriously battling uphill
It's probably important to point out what happened when we played the Lions at Metricon in consecutive weeks during this year's preseason. In the first scratch match (without Collins) they smashed our team by 47 points with Daniher and Hipwood both kicking four goals apiece. You know you're going to struggle massively when 187cm Jack Bowes plays as a key defender on 202cm Eric Hipwood. Ballard obviously struggled to keep Daniher quiet as the lone tall defender in that game.

Skip forward to the following week and we rolled out Collins for the first half of the AAMI Community Series game against the Lions. We restricted Daniher and Hipwood to one goal each in that half of footy and really dominated Brisbane through the midfield to lead the clash by 29 points at half time. Collins was then taken off the ground at half time and replaced with Caleb Graham. That's when it all came crashing down and we conceded 11 consecutive goals. Brisbane smashed us through the middle and our backline completely fell apart to give the Lions a 25 point lead at three quarter time. We kicked just two points that quarter. Surprisingly, we managed to make adjustments and kicked 34 points to Brisbane's 37 points in the fourth term but the damage was really done in the third quarter when Collins was taken off the field.

Moral of the story - we're a much, much better team with Collins and Ballard both playing. Farrar on McStay does seem a little concerning but Jye seems to play well on the taller/bigger opponents. He did a good job on Jordan De Goey two weeks ago and people were very concerned about the size he was giving up in that match up. Bowes can also rotate/help double team to limit McStay's influence. Our biggest concern is really Hugh McCluggage. We have to find a way to restrict his influence.

It's probably important to point out what happened when we played the Lions at Metricon in consecutive weeks during this year's preseason. In the first scratch match (without Collins) they smashed our team by 47 points with Daniher and Hipwood both kicking four goals apiece. You know you're going to struggle massively when 187cm Jack Bowes plays as a key defender on 202cm Eric Hipwood. Ballard obviously struggled to keep Daniher quiet as the lone tall defender in that game.

Skip forward to the following week and we rolled out Collins for the first half of the AAMI Community Series game against the Lions. We restricted Daniher and Hipwood to one goal each in that half of footy and really dominated Brisbane through the midfield to lead the clash by 29 points at half time. Collins was then taken off the ground at half time and replaced with Caleb Graham. That's when it all came crashing down and we conceded 11 consecutive goals. Brisbane smashed us through the middle and our backline completely fell apart to give the Lions a 25 point lead at three quarter time. We kicked just two points that quarter. Surprisingly, we managed to make adjustments and kicked 34 points to Brisbane's 37 points in the fourth term but the damage was really done in the third quarter when Collins was taken off the field.

Moral of the story - we're a much, much better team with Collins and Ballard both playing. Farrar on McStay does seem a little concerning but Jye seems to play well on the taller/bigger opponents. He did a good job on Jordan De Goey two weeks ago and people were very concerned about the size he was giving up in that match up. Bowes can also rotate/help double team to limit McStay's influence. Our biggest concern is really Hugh McCluggage. We have to find a way to restrict his influence.
Sean lemmens was on JDG
Farrar was on Moore for a bit

Moral of the story we are better with our reigning est and fairest playing? ah yeah.

More thinking along the line of kreglze whether we consider keeping Graham in (as well as bring in Smith) just to play as a KPD.

Mcstay and De Goey completely different players.

Either

Daniher: Collins
Hipwood: Ballard
Mcstay: Farrar
Prior/Robertson: Bowes
McCarthy: Powell
Cameron: Lemmens

OR

Daniher: Collins
Hipwood: Ballard
Mcstay: Graham
Prior/Robertson: Farrar