QFA Div 1

A good win to Aspley who played a better brand of footy compared to last time - more direct and penetrating with their ball movement. The Roos were travelling ok till 3rd quarter when our midfield appeared to stop and Aspley took advantage and finished it off. We were without Warren, Norman and Hannaford and had a few that hadn't played much footy in recent times due to injury and illness, but no excuses. It makes the Roos v Springwood game on June 29 potentially a game for a home final.

Norman was dropped by the club for disiplinary reasons - out late drinking on Friday night where he was involved in a punch up. Probably cost his team a win. Poor effort by a past captain.

This is laughable. He didn’t play In round 1 when they had twice the amount of senior players out and won easily at Aspley. Old Scapegoat Normo🤷‍♂️

Think youll find there side was alot stronger in Rd 1 as opposed to Sat where lots of kids playing. No scapegoat to it, he is a very good footballer who shouldn't of been out late the night before belting blokes!

I’m told normo will be back next week and that everything good as gold and sorted at the Roos.May not have been the only player out last Friday night after a long and enjoyable lunch with Matthew Richardson!

What’s up with Caloundra wearing a Richmond strip? Were also calling themselves the Cougars?

Yeah it wasnt a bad day of footy but our 2's are battling along - is the significant difference and has been for a few years bn Caloundra and the next level of sides - the depth. Sides in the top 3 right now will cover players very well where as we are going to colts boys (which is great mind you but sometimes not fair on them as they arent always ready for the step up). In any case we were happy to get the 4pts against a good unit in Coorparoo well lead by the coach.

Was the original Caloundra strip the full Richmond one meaning black with a yellow sash? If so obviously Noosa were already known as the tigers however back then wore hawthorn jumpers.Hearing today that Maroochydore heading to the QAFL next year which I reckon is terrific if true.Their facoility and overall strength of numbers across both senior and junior grades makes them the jugganaut of sunny coast footy and should have a presence in the states best competition.

Yeah they were the original strip mate

Yeah it wasnt a bad day of footy but our 2's are battling along - is the significant difference and has been for a few years bn Caloundra and the next level of sides - the depth. Sides in the top 3 right now will cover players very well where as we are going to colts boys (which is great mind you but sometimes not fair on them as they arent always ready for the step up). In any case we were happy to get the 4pts against a good unit in Coorparoo well lead by the coach.

Not the worst thing, those Colts boys will be better for it. Coorparoo have also continued to remain competitve due to the healthy influx of colts guys after some of the older heads (Blake Stewart, Cant, Dosser, Lovett etc) retiring and the likes of Gibbo and the Lakes getting on age. It's ultimately what undid Yeronga in this comp, no junior program to subsede the Senior guys and probably why they have to reboot in Div 4.

Certainly not a bad thing! But agree also with smy that there’s always a couple not ready for senior footy just yet.Whilst we haven’t been able to provide a colts team this year we have had 8 or 9 boys who have integrated in our senior ranks and loving it.Over the past 10 or 15 years the average number of colts that have continued on to senior footy at Noosa is about 4.So to have double that is a positive however still realise how important a colts team is and will definitely have one next year.From a ctee side of things much easier running two senior teams than three and you save roughly 12 k in competition fees and travel expenses

It’s a tough thing to balance out I reckon. Springwood arentvsuffering bc of it either. Think the $$ required are actually out of touch with what the upside is. Coorparoo who are 3rd in the colts rocked up with 16 last week. It’s tough

If we had 60 registrations incl the colts that were happy to play 2s then life would be good. Instead we need 60 senior registrations plus 30 colts to make it work and fall short in both by about 15 in total

No decision from Maroochydore on moving to QAFL. Give it another month but most likely they will. Timing is right.