QFA Div 1

Promotion relegation will have little impact on this comp, but this was always going to be the best and most competitive compeition under the new structure.

Bond will be relegated for the winner of Div 2, likely Aspley, Moreton or maybe Kenmore an outside show and that winner will go up to Div 1 and get spanked. The gap in standard is significant.

As there is no promotion/relegation to the QAFL, the winner Div 1 doesn't go up - and I think the best Div 1 sides would be more competitive with QAFL sides than Div 2 into Div 1. In fact, I reckon Sandgate would be no guarantee to play Div 1 finals!

Yeah I disagree QAFL - I think what relegation allows is for a club that has dropped away for various reasons, in this case Bond, to go back and reset themselves at a less week in, week out pressured environment. For the side that comes up, well they have come off a premiership and you would think may have had a good year financially so prepared to recruit strongly? When comps dont have relegation then the same clubs seem to invariably sit at the bottom of the ladder year in year out. Occasionally one will break out but not with any sustained success.
Will be interesting to see what happens over summer with Sandgate and QAFL footy although they havent disgraced themselves at senior level.

Yeah I disagree QAFL - I think what relegation allows is for a club that has dropped away for various reasons, in this case Bond, to go back and reset themselves at a less week in, week out pressured environment. For the side that comes up, well they have come off a premiership and you would think may have had a good year financially so prepared to recruit strongly? When comps dont have relegation then the same clubs seem to invariably sit at the bottom of the ladder year in year out. Occasionally one will break out but not with any sustained success.
Will be interesting to see what happens over summer with Sandgate and QAFL footy although they havent disgraced themselves at senior level.

You're right smy, I think the promotion and relegation system will help to give us sustainable competitive comps. I wonder what AFLQ are thinking about the importance of having a team from Sunshine Coast in State League. From a footy perspective I think its really important that this area with a population of over 300k has a team in the best comp in SEQ. However, with Maroochydore the obvious choice for a number of reasons, I think that club will find it very difficult to justify giving up what they have today - good competition with local rivalries, money in bank, locals back at the club. Interesting times.

Similar to a number of people on here, I agree that this Division is a great improvement on previous seasons. And as a comp that exists in part to underpin the QAFL, it's great to see it in a robust state.

And what a tremendous round we have presented to us this week:
Caloundra 7 V Yeronga 6
Coorparoo 4 V Noosa 1
Maroochydore 2 V Springwood 3
Uni of Qld 9 V Mayne 5
Bond Uni 10 V Burleigh 8

If you can tip 5 winners from that, you may indeed be a very astute judge. Every result is debatable. Every result.

You're right smy, I think the promotion and relegation system will help to give us sustainable competitive comps. I wonder what AFLQ are thinking about the importance of having a team from Sunshine Coast in State League. From a footy perspective I think its really important that this area with a population of over 300k has a team in the best comp in SEQ. However, with Maroochydore the obvious choice for a number of reasons, I think that club will find it very difficult to justify giving up what they have today - good competition with local rivalries, money in bank, locals back at the club. Interesting times.

Yeah agree Bud - really good question. Maroochydore is the obvious choice but I think anyone from the footy club there would tell you now that the club is in a good place, multiple teams, lots of people around the place etc. It literally was only 6 years ago that this footy club was 1 vote away from going out of business (again). All strength to the people who re established them as a great football club and it started in the juniors.
I still think Moreton Bay will be high on the list to take on this position as a semi sunshine coast side / Bris Nth team.

It's a very interesting topic the promotion/relegation system as it works in some areas and doesn't in others,mainly due to logistics.id really like to see the current competition be set and stabilised for a few years maybe with say a bond and Burleigh joining the qfa div 2 with Aspley and Sandgate making up the ten team qfa div 1 comp.speaking of this years comp I reckon it's been great,so even and when u look at the ladder only bond and Burleigh cannot make finals.

Comps were set up based on logistics with QFA nth and sth and didnt really work. Standard was too varied. Think this current system will work well. Looks like a north side club might win Div 2 and a GC side will go down so it makes it a bit easier in that respect anyway. Saying that, GC trips for SC sides are good fun and vice versa. As long as there is only a couple each year, not sure anyone really minds. When you think about 2hrs isnt an incredibly long trip to play footy considering what blokes do in some parts of Australia to get a game together.

Agree smy and can't wait to see what happens this weekend.im expecting Maroochydore to flex its muscle today at home to Springwood.they have some big ins particularly bevan and Ainsworth with neither playing in their 12 goal win against Springwood.i see on noosas' Facebook page that Nathan winter plays his 200th game today at cooparoo.outstanding effort from a very fit and fierce competitor.

Yep Maroochy are at near full strength it appears. And I think Pumas have a couple missing. Some important results today, none less than the Yeronga v Caloundra game.. ;)

Yes smy a massive game for both sides in particular Caloundra who I watched play mayne earlier in year and also Noosa under lights the other week.they really have a crack and imo easily the best side out of five and with Rudolph back could do some damage if they made it,just cannot afford a slip up

Major win for Noosa today. Locks away top spot and psychologically have beaten maroochy 2x now.
Good win for caloundra too away against a very solid Burleigh side and Springwood rolling UQ is a good win in a danger game too. Coorparoo knocking over yeronga easily helps consolidate their position.
Think the last 4 games of the year will be really interesting with the top 6 sides playing each other a fair bit. Still don't be think it's locked away and a bit of luck with injuries will be needed.

Major win for Noosa today. Locks away top spot and psychologically have beaten maroochy 2x now.
Good win for caloundra too away against a very solid Burleigh side and Springwood rolling UQ is a good win in a danger game too. Coorparoo knocking over yeronga easily helps consolidate their position.
Think the last 4 games of the year will be really interesting with the top 6 sides playing each other a fair bit. Still don't be think it's locked away and a bit of luck with injuries will be needed.

Solid performance from UQ though in a losing effort. Fought back in the 4th after letting it slip away in the 3rd, but Pumas just regained control and kicked ahead. Need to show the same effort to make up for those poor performances against Yeronga and the Kings in the coming weeks.

Agree totally, UQ were very good and they must be the best 9th placed team going around, I can't believe they have only won the 2 and a half games! I didn't feel at any stage we had the game locked away, UQ just kept hanging in there and I was a bit worried halfway through the last when the margin got back to about 3 goals. Credit to our guys though they stayed composed and as you said regained control and kicked away a bit. Yeronga and Coorparoo shouldn't take UQ lightly, which I am sure they won't.

Noosa v Maroochydore was played on Noosa's terms. They are good with Templeton a class act and BOG. A few of Maroochydore's guns didn't fire or weren't allowed to, but Ryan and Simpson were good. I think both teams were at full strength, so Noosa clear flag favourite for sure.

Agree totally, UQ were very good and they must be the best 9th placed team going around, I can't believe they have only won the 2 and a half games! I didn't feel at any stage we had the game locked away, UQ just kept hanging in there and I was a bit worried halfway through the last when the margin got back to about 3 goals. Credit to our guys though they stayed composed and as you said regained control and kicked away a bit. Yeronga and Coorparoo shouldn't take UQ lightly, which I am sure they won't.

One of the beauties of this comp having such a competitive side right down to 9th place. UQ will be very hard to beat on their home deck. (But I'm hoping they do knock off a couple of teams in the next month that are in finals contention)

Noosa v Maroochydore was played on Noosa's terms. They are good with Templeton a class act and BOG. A few of Maroochydore's guns didn't fire or weren't allowed to, but Ryan and Simpson were good. I think both teams were at full strength, so Noosa clear flag favourite for sure.

If Noosa are getting goals out of mids then this is a big plus for them. Great back half and good ball winning mids but goal kicking mids are damn valuable.

Gee yeronga in the mix again after rolling Noosa yesterday. Huge win for the devils and in the 2 s as well. Looking at noosas group it wasn't under strength either. Yeronga have an interesting last 4 games playing the top 2 sides and the bottom 2!
This weekend 2 games that have massive bearing on the finals. Caloundra host coorparoo and Springwood vs Mayne. Coorparoo did it the hard way vs UQ trailing all day and more than 4 goals down at the last break to come home with a wet sail and sneak in by 2 pts. Some very relieved coorparoo people I bet Saturday night.
Caloundra rolled Mayne at enoggera which is a solid win because no win is easy there and although Mayne suffering from injuries to key players, caloundra were missing a couple of their best as well. Should be a cracking day at Caloundra Carter park this weekend which coincides with the 30 yr reunion of both senior and reserves premiership teams from 1987.

Pumas and tigers will also be a tight one I imagine. Both clubs have plenty to play for, Mayne in particular who could fall out of the five if other results go a certain way.
Think injuries will play a part and if UQ and Burleigh continue to push right to the end of the year then the odd upset may occur which will throw things into disarray even more.

On another note amazing to see ed burrows-Cheng play both 2s and seniors on weekend AND is the club president AND is the 2s team manager. (Or certainly was when we played them a few weeks ago). All at the ripe old age of 22 or something like that. Considering the year bond have had so far, it is credit to him and the rest of the bond group to be saddling up each week in game space where they know they are going to get belted. Hopefully there is one win left in the season for them.

Div 1 is damn even with positions 3-7 all still up for grabs.

Always enjoy the intrigue of ladder permutations late in the season - and Div 1 is serving them up this year.
From my point of interest, Yeronga can finish anywhere between fourth & seventh. To reach the finals, they must win every game, including Maroochydore (R18). Their percentage is poor, so that hurts. If Coorparoo & Mayne win two games each, Yeronga is gone regardless of their own results.
After the next round of games (R16), it is very possible for four clubs to be on nine wins each.
Looking ahead, I feel that Caloundra has the toughest draw overall (Coorparoo, Maroochydore, Springwood) - at best, they can prove to be a triumphant success, and at worst, they will have a significant impact on the final shape of the ladder.
Any other thoughts or observations?

From the outside it looks like Mayne are going to struggle - probably needing to win 2 of the last 3 with Springwood, Burleigh and Noosa. I would assume they beat Burleigh but the other two look to be too difficult. The injury list looks like its catching up with them. Losing Caleb Brown is a massive loss that they may not have recovered from. May sneak in with 1 win but will need results to fall into place. Caloundra do have a tough draw!

I'm finding it a fascinating comp, QLD FOOTY .
Mayne certainly needs two wins to keep their hopes alive. But surprisingly, so too do Coorparoo. One win from the remaining three games, and both clubs are vulnerable.
Of the teams below: Caloundra with a superior percentage are a big threat, yet have an arduous draw, whilst Yeronga has an arguably softer draw, but cannot afford to drop a game because of their low percentage.
Can Yeronga win all three? Well, personally, I reckon it is plausible. Bond appear ready for the year to be over; Uni is down, but must be the best 2-wins-for-the-season team ever (terribly unlucky), and often take up the contest to Yeronga; and Maroochydore may find themselves in the fortunate position of knowing that the result of Round 18 will not affect their ladder position, and may prepare accordingly. The dream, though precarious, is still alive.
If this was a high-profile competition, people would be in raptures about how the season may end. We should all talk more Div 1.
Enjoy.

Well next weeks games will be very interesting.
Maroochydore v caloundra
Yeronga v uni
Mayne v springwood
The final 5 is going down to the wire.

Bloody oath it is mate. The last round will have people nervously looking at up dated results as the day progresses bc it will come down to this. There is so many permutations. Positions 2-7 are up for grabs still.

QFA Div 1