QFA Div 1

• Thread starter Thread starter smy1305

Well round 18 won’t happen either due to the lockdown, takes out this round of games as well. Just leaves from round 19 onwards assuming this lockdown ends when planned and then the ongoing restrictions will allow games to be played. Suspect Springwood will account for Aspley in round 19 then finish with a bye in round 20. Mayne will have UQ & Beenleigh which are both by no means easy games, especially seeing as Mayne lost to Aspley. Caloundra with the Bye and then @ Uni, Uni accounted for them last time quite comfortably they played so by no means a certainty there either. Then Coorparoo with Beenleigh and Aspley to finish likely gets them to fill out the top 4 with Beenleigh and UQ just missing out I’d imagine. Believe the ladder will finish something like this.

1- Springwood
2- Mayne
3- Coorparoo
4- Caloundra
5- Beenleigh
6- Uni
7- Aspley

the 2 points for a draw due to the Covid situation is a big help for some teams and hurts others big time as well.
Beenleigh definitely a little unfortunate, missing valuable points against uni and aspley, not that they would have been gimmes but buffs certainly a big chance in both. Very tough from here, would have to win both final games against coorparoo and mayne and hope either caloundra or coorparoo lose both final games. Possible but tough.

On SM-A520F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Beenleigh definitely a little unfortunate, missing valuable points against uni and aspley, not that they would have been gimmes but buffs certainly a big chance in both. Very tough from here, would have to win both final games against coorparoo and mayne and hope either caloundra or coorparoo lose both final games. Possible but tough.

On SM-A520F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Unfortunately I think our Pumas will probably lose stop spot if no rounds are permitting which is more likely than not. We have a bye in last round which means Mayne would finish on top by the slightest amount of superior percentage and both equal on points, with us having a 2 point buffer at present and no points awarded for a bye. I hope that we do play finals but at the moment we are in a lockdown for forseeable future I fear.

Well hasn’t this community sport ban given us an uneventful regular season finish for what could’ve been very exciting. Gotta feel for Beenleigh and UQ for not being able to have the chance to fight for there spot in finals, pays to win games early in the year though. Would suspect the ladder will finish something like this if the last 2 rounds points are awarded as they have been.
1- Mayne
2- Springwood
3- Coorparoo
4- Caloundra
Caloundra and Springwood both having late round byes likely to cost them home finals. So leaves Mayne vs Springwood @ Mayne, Coorparoo vs Caloundra @ Coorparoo. Will be interesting for that first final, the winner will be going into the grand final having played 1 game of footy in the space of 6-7 weeks. Is it almost worth losing that first final so you get the extra game to play over your opponent. Not saying to lose deliberately obviously but not the worst thing in the world to have an extra game. Will definitely be a very interesting but slightly disappointing finish to what has been a great season of Div 1 footy considering what we could’ve had pre lockdown.

Well hasn’t this community sport ban given us an uneventful regular season finish for what could’ve been very exciting. Gotta feel for Beenleigh and UQ for not being able to have the chance to fight for there spot in finals, pays to win games early in the year though. Would suspect the ladder will finish something like this if the last 2 rounds points are awarded as they have been.
1- Mayne
2- Springwood
3- Coorparoo
4- Caloundra
Caloundra and Springwood both having late round byes likely to cost them home finals. So leaves Mayne vs Springwood @ Mayne, Coorparoo vs Caloundra @ Coorparoo. Will be interesting for that first final, the winner will be going into the grand final having played 1 game of footy in the space of 6-7 weeks. Is it almost worth losing that first final so you get the extra game to play over your opponent. Not saying to lose deliberately obviously but not the worst thing in the world to have an extra game. Will definitely be a very interesting but slightly disappointing finish to what has been a great season of Div 1 footy considering what we could’ve had pre lockdown.
It is a challenge but I suppose better than not having any footy at all. Disappointed Pumas miss a home final but after two travels to Maroochydore and Noosa in recent years I think Mayne is ok where they enjoy playing. We might actually put our best 22 on the deck and maybe Mayne might get a couple back as well. With all due respect to the other sides this was probably the four that were going to challenge at pointy end of the Season. To the bloke that stated quite early on a post that Springwood were not contenders thanks mate start following Equestrian.

Bulldogs 2016.. came from 7th that year didn't ya?

Make it a top 6, can be done in 3 weeks. Simple.

Bulldogs 2016.. came from 7th that year didn't ya?

Make it a top 6, can be done in 3 weeks. Simple.
We came from seventh and played the best 4 weeks of footy in our lives. Every side in the Div 1 comp is capable of beating anyone on their day but its a top four I can see AFLQ making any changes can you.

Well with the announcement of Aspley VFL moving into QAFL next year meaning the removal of their Div 1 team from this comp is interesting. Bit of a shame because on their day Aspley were able to give everyone a run for their money. Means 6 teams currently in this comp and no way possible that can stay for 2022. Think a minimum of 2 teams have to come up and probably would be preferable to have 4 to make it a 10 team comp. Would think Moreton Bay will definitely be one, Hinterland another possibly as well as Sandgate as they do seem to have the desire to rise back up. Maybe bring one up from the south Comp again, Bond Possibly come up and would likely be in a better situation than the last time they were in Div 1. Burleigh apparently were keen to possibly enter back in as well, Coolangatta maybe a smoky as well. Will definitely make for an Interesting 2022! In the mean time this finals series can’t come soon enough and I can’t wait to see who comes out on top holding that cup up high at Wilston Grange!

Well they lifted the restrictions early which means community sport is allowed back this weekend, will be interesting to see if AFLQ get the games that were scheduled to go ahead or just leave the season as is and go straight into finals next week. Mayne vs Beenleigh and if Mayne lose we would end up finishing on top. Whilst Caloundra play UQ and if Caloundra Lose and Beenleigh win, then Beenleigh likely get a spot inside the top 4. Highly doubt that AFLQ will do it judging on past things from them, plus the fact no one has been able to train for 3 weeks, but if so does give teams the opportunity to do a little session Friday night, would make for an very exciting finish though if games do go head this weekend.

They stopped the games with only hours notice if they really wanted to play the last round they could organise it I believe some junior finals have been locked in to play Friday night so it could be done. I just do not believe that they will consider it. If you were a chance to get a finals spot you will want to play.

Well here we are finally, finals week. Not an ideal run in for anyone but would make it very even now you would think considering everyone is coming in the same state. Will also give all teams a chance to get over those little niggle injuries also. Going very early in the week on my picks and may change based on the teams when they’re released this week but I have the following.

Seniors

Springwood Over Mayne by 16 Points
Coorparoo Over Caloundra by 8 Points.

Reserves
Coorparoo over Mayne by 12 Points
Beenleigh Over Caloundra by 10 Points.

All may very well change by Friday for me but this is what I am predicting for now…

good to see the traditional finals 1st week clash of Coops vs Caloundra - this time only difference is playing in Brisbane. Think its the 4th year in a row that it has happened (minus 2020 when Caloundra didn't play). edit note: just checked - played 2nd week of finals in 2018

Well seeing the teams for both Mayne and Springwood have some interesting ins and outs. Perkins back in for Mayne after missing a few prior to the lockdown stoppage is a massive inclusion for them. Whilst the Pumas are missing Both Wili and Hunt, two very key players for them. Still think the Pumas get up just but will be a cracking game of footy we got ahead of us today.

Caloundra look to be at full strength today as well against Coorparoo, if anyone benefited from the Lockdown it was probably Caloundra, held onto their finals spot when they were spiralling down hill out of form. Had lost 4 in a row prior to the stoppage. Will be interesting to see if they are able to bounce back from it now they have had time to reset. Coorparoo @ Coorparoo is always an extremely tough task, looks as though Coorparoo are about as full strength as they can be also from what I can tell from their list.

Well seeing the teams for both Mayne and Springwood have some interesting ins and outs. Perkins back in for Mayne after missing a few prior to the lockdown stoppage is a massive inclusion for them. Whilst the Pumas are missing Both Wili and Hunt, two very key players for them. Still think the Pumas get up just but will be a cracking game of footy we got ahead of us today.

Caloundra look to be at full strength today as well against Coorparoo, if anyone benefited from the Lockdown it was probably Caloundra, held onto their finals spot when they were spiralling down hill out of form. Had lost 4 in a row prior to the stoppage. Will be interesting to see if they are able to bounce back from it now they have had time to reset. Coorparoo @ Coorparoo is always an extremely tough task, looks as though Coorparoo are about as full strength as they can be also from what I can tell from their list.
The spectacle between Mayne and Springwood always lived up to expectations for the QFA with a bumper crowd in attendance and both sides keen to advance to the Grand Final. Early on it was tight with Mayne just having the best of the quarter after some costly misses with a slender 1 point lead. The second stanza saw the Pumas really turn the game on its head with the mid field of Page, Proud, Keneally, and O'SUGHRUE really gaining the upper hand enabling numerous forward entries. Multiple goals to HOWSE, one from the boundary from KENEALLY, and FRIS chiming in had the Tigers really on the back foot with a 5 Goal half time deficit. After the long break there were times that Mayne threatened but to the Pumas credit the pressure that was applied on the ball carrier was such that the normal free flowing Tigers style continually broke down. Losing their focal point in Perkins early compounded the absence of a marking target and the Pumas backline were superb in repelling any Mayne forward thrusts. In the end a fairly convincing victory for Springwood who will be looking to bounce back against Caloundra who whalloped Coorparoo and spoilt Josh Lakes 250th. Caloundra look to be at full strength and the Pumas will now await their Grand Final Opponents and who ever it is it promises to be another cracking contest for QFA Div 1.

Will be an interesting Preliminary Final then, see how Mayne respond after a heavy defeat, whilst Caloundra will be coming in all guns blazing after lighting up Coorparoo. Mayne definitely will not be wanting to go out in straight sets after finishing top of the ladder. Hopefully Perkins will be okay for Mayne and give them a focal point up forward. Mayne beat Caloundra in both contests this season, can they make it a third to book themselves a spot in the big dance and a chance at redemption against Springwood? Or will Caloundra pick the right time to finally beat Mayne this season? Definitely looking forward to this game.

Looks like Schmidt has been named for Mayne tomorrow so that is a massive in for them, depending on how healthy he actually is though. Heard ruptured spleen was his injury which is quite nasty so hopefully he will be alright. No Perkins named though for Mayne really makes me wonder where Mayne will get their goals from now. Think looking at Caloundra’s side I would have to back them in to get up however Mayne have beaten them twice this year so that may have to account for something. Should be a ripping game though hopefully. In the end my picks are.

1s- Caloundra by 17 Points.
2s- Mayne by 45

Well Caloundra got over Mayne quite comfortably in the end. Mayne were always going to be able to struggle to score without Perkins. With Schmidt named though he was a late withdrawal which was probably the wise decision in the end. Shouldn’t be playing again this year seeing as he had a ruptured spleen. Caloundra looked good at times as well and everytime Mayne scored a goal Caloundra answered straight away and quite easily as well. Disappointing ending for Mayne’s season after finishing on top just to go out in straight sets without much of a fight. Should get Collings back next year, as well as a healthy Schmidt and Perkins so would imagine they will be back up around the top again though.

And now for the Big one, Springwood Vs Caloundra, if their previous 3 games against each other this year were anything to go by should be in for an absolute cracker of a GF.

Obviously Springwood were the form team at the end of the year prior to lockdown and they managed to continue that form against Mayne. But will the fact they only played one game in 6 weeks come into play? They have plenty of stars all over the park with the likes of Page, Bain, Friis, Thompson, Hooper, the list goes on and they still have a large portion of that squad that was apart of the 2013-2016 period where they made 4 GF’s in a row winning 2 of them.

Caloundra were probably the most fortunate that the lockdown happened as they had lost 4 in a row and were at risk of dropping out of the top 4 with Beenleigh coming home strong. But they have managed to regroup successfully and have 2 very good wins in this finals series now. Caloundra have many stars of their own as well, Watson is leading the league medal after round 11, Keleher works hard all day and is their main focal point. Mason is a gun through the midfield, Ross is always an X-Factor even though he is up there in age. And speaking of age you still cannot forget about Dzufer, probably still up in there in terms of best ball users in this league. Very hard for me to pick a winner at the moment but I tell you what I cannot wait for Saturday.

And now for the Big one, Springwood Vs Caloundra, if their previous 3 games against each other this year were anything to go by should be in for an absolute cracker of a GF.

Obviously Springwood were the form team at the end of the year prior to lockdown and they managed to continue that form against Mayne. But will the fact they only played one game in 6 weeks come into play? They have plenty of stars all over the park with the likes of Page, Bain, Friis, Thompson, Hooper, the list goes on and they still have a large portion of that squad that was apart of the 2013-2016 period where they made 4 GF’s in a row winning 2 of them.

Caloundra were probably the most fortunate that the lockdown happened as they had lost 4 in a row and were at risk of dropping out of the top 4 with Beenleigh coming home strong. But they have managed to regroup successfully and have 2 very good wins in this finals series now. Caloundra have many stars of their own as well, Watson is leading the league medal after round 11, Keleher works hard all day and is their main focal point. Mason is a gun through the midfield, Ross is always an X-Factor even though he is up there in age. And speaking of age you still cannot forget about Dzufer, probably still up in there in terms of best ball users in this league. Very hard for me to pick a winner at the moment but I tell you what I cannot wait for Saturday.
Good venue for a GF too is Grange. Easy viewing, great surface and facilities although a major difference between the visitors and home coaches boxes ;). Love to see Caloundra win - have worked really hard as a footy club and success hasn't come easy despite being thereabouts for a long period of time now. Maroochy and Noosa always had that edge and were always making finals but getting pipped at the post. A small but loyal faithful have held things together for them. The minute Dzuf signed on for the Panthers this season you knew there was going to be something different. He is a star and a great person to boot and a favourite son. I know both clubs really respect each other both on and off field. Be a fantastic GF.

Yep probably a great choice in venue in the end, nice to get away from Yeronga. Hopefully weather is perfect and get a good GF. Both Springwood and Caloundra were basically the next echelon behind Maroochydore and Noosa the whole time they were in Div 1, so it will be very much a deserved winner whoever does get that opportunity to hold that cup high Saturday afternoon. I personally can’t wait to see this game, should be an absolute cracker on a grand final.

So the big one tomorrow, said it before and I’ll say it again, will be an absolute ripper I reckon tomorrow. Two very even teams, had some cracking matchups this year as well. Very hard to pick a winner but I’ll try.

1’s- Springwood by 11, Jai Kennealy BOG
2s- Coorparoo by 27.

So the big one tomorrow, said it before and I’ll say it again, will be an absolute ripper I reckon tomorrow. Two very even teams, had some cracking matchups this year as well. Very hard to pick a winner but I’ll try.

1’s- Springwood by 11, Jai Kennealy BOG
2s- Coorparoo by 27.
Good footballer that Keneally