QFA Div 1

time will tell big E. Bit like having army blokes, sometimes there, sometimes not.if they do play be very handy. Sauce was great to have around last year, good fella, was a big presence, easy to coach bc he had no ego. you no doubt would appreciate you can’t guarantee this with ex AFL blokes.

Yes agree mate. From what i know staker is a ripping bloke too. Good get by your club. If you get them for good chunk of the season will definitely be a bonus.

More pleased tbh to get a couple of Sunshine Coast local fellas on board, one matt allman who was on Redlands List last year and Nathan spring, a nambour lad but Noosa premiership player and can play.
I’m sure it will be a good year for everyone with your mob adding to the mix (and making it one less trip to the Gold Coast..)

You would think he would play at Mayne - premiership player and coach. Would be real hard for him to play against them you would imagine. Saying that the distance to train could be decisive.

Shaun Daly moving to the sunny coast could start a bidding war. Does mayne get first crack at him?
Gee be a terrific get for any of the sunny coast clubs I too would imagine he'd play at mayne but be mad not to make some enquiries and was still playing really good footy in o and m.

He's been co-coach down there since he left Mayne

Perhaps their strategy of appointed co-coaches every year is exactly for this reason, in case one leaves for work or other opportunities.

Would be a huge get for any Div 1 or even QAFL club

Chris Taylor to Port Douglas Crocs?

Hard one to replace for Caloundra, not too many spots he can't play.
Thrown in with Barnes to Redland, couple of solid losses.

Chris Taylor to Port Douglas Crocs?

Hard one to replace for Caloundra, not too many spots he can't play.
Thrown in with Barnes to Redland, couple of solid losses.

Yes both were very good players in 2017. Tails headed north with gf getting a teaching job at Mossman so cant stand in the way of love.. :) Barnesy will be on Redlands list this year but play for us if he doesnt get a game with them. Obviously we hope he plays well enough to get quite a few. Measure of the bloke is that he still attends Wednesday night sessions with the Panthers - hasnt let his ego get in the way of where he is currently at (unlike quite a few others of the same age or younger actually do). Great kid.

I see common sense has prevailed allowing neafl listed players to come back to Div 1.
Can anyone shed any light on Springwood coaching situation. Do they have one yet? If not why not and what has happened. Farcical if they havent got one by now.

I see common sense has prevailed allowing neafl listed players to come back to Div 1.
Can anyone shed any light on Springwood coaching situation. Do they have one yet? If not why not and what has happened. Farcical if they havent got one by now.

Nothing official yet, some rumours going around but that is all. They'll be ok though, plenty of solid leaders there, someone will put their hand up I'm sure.

Great to hear about Barnes. Kid has plenty of talent, could see him playing plenty at NEAFL level.

Pumas to appoint Adrian Wallin? Coached in 2016 and still at the club in some capacity. Surely running out of options this close to the season. Pre season games just over a month away.

Smy I thought all primary listed NEAFL players have to play QAFL ?

Great to hear about Barnes. Kid has plenty of talent, could see him playing plenty at NEAFL level.

Pumas to appoint Adrian Wallin? Coached in 2016 and still at the club in some capacity. Surely running out of options this close to the season. Pre season games just over a month away.

He's pretty adamant that he can't do it but I wouldn't write that scenario off, knowing the bloke. I reckon a current player will take on the role as a playing coach, with plenty of assistance from the likes of Bear etc. Just my opinion.

Smy I thought all primary listed NEAFL players have to play QAFL ?

Not this year Big E - AFLQ have changed rules up to allow players who try their hand at NEAFL level and get listed (not just rookie listed & U21) to go back to original club if in Div 1 or QAFL. I spoke with Redlands the other day about it. Makes alot of sense and win-win. Too many blokes end up in places they never intended to play because for one reason or another they arent getting a gig at NEAFL level. What has happened in recent years is that clubs on the sunshine coast have just ended up being suppliers of players to clubs like Sandgate & Grange who just sit back and reap the rewards of another club doing the hard yards with recruiting and development. No issue with NEAFL clubs picking the eyes out of our blokes because this is where they can be noticed to possibly play AFL footy one day but QAFL footy... nup, no chance, especially with a group they have no idea who they are or a game plan/role that is completely foreign.
Be good for you guys too because you could have blokes safely go to your Hornets side, get listed and then come back if not selected in NEAFL side.

Not this year Big E - AFLQ have changed rules up to allow players who try their hand at NEAFL level and get listed (not just rookie listed & U21) to go back to original club if in Div 1 or QAFL. I spoke with Redlands the other day about it. Makes alot of sense and win-win. Too many blokes end up in places they never intended to play because for one reason or another they arent getting a gig at NEAFL level. What has happened in recent years is that clubs on the sunshine coast have just ended up being suppliers of players to clubs like Sandgate & Grange who just sit back and reap the rewards of another club doing the hard yards with recruiting and development. No issue with NEAFL clubs picking the eyes out of our blokes because this is where they can be noticed to possibly play AFL footy one day but QAFL footy... nup, no chance, especially with a group they have no idea who they are or a game plan/role that is completely foreign.
Be good for you guys too because you could have blokes safely go to your Hornets side, get listed and then come back if not selected in NEAFL side.

Good decision. I agree if the player is happy at his div 1 side and still developing it makes sense. Too many players get disgruntled getting drafted out to QAFL clubs and don’t enjoy their footy and halt their development

I would reckon coming from Aspley you would be delighted at that rule Big E

Would there be a restriction put on Aspley as to how many NEAFL players can play down in Div1? Or is only players eligible that have come through the juniors program at Aspley that can do that?

I would reckon coming from Aspley you would be delighted at that rule Big E

Would there be a restriction put on Aspley as to how many NEAFL players can play down in Div1? Or is only players eligible that have come through the juniors program at Aspley that can do that?

Some confusion here. This rule is basically for geographical purposes. Ease the travel burden. Won’t apply to Aspley NEAFL listed players. They will play qafl unless they live on the coast

QFA Div 1