QFA Div 2 North

nobody is stopping anyone from charging a gate. Broady do it.

There are just very few facilities in SEQ where this is possible.

Morningside, Sherwood, Moorooka, Kenmore, Alex Hills, Jindalee, UQ etc etc look at their setups - would be next to impossible to try and charge a gate.

Every club charged $10 I think back in the 80s and 90s. Players got passes and a gold pass to Sybils. When you got great crowds it was a real money spinner. We had about 8k at kedron for one game.

Interesting the pay to get in concept - certainly is brought up a lot as "what we used to do in the 80s/90s. Well before the time when there was multiple AFL games televised. Just hard i reckon.

Hard for a lot of reasons also, are you just taking money off of families of players? my dad thinks his paid nearly 2k to watch me play footy just in gate in country footy and finals. also as pointed out, the newer facilities arent set up for it, look at redcliffe and moreton bay, a million ways to get into the ground more so at nathan road than moreton bay.
Community sport, clubs just need to keep being creative.

It was a time when crowds we're large and bars and pig pens were full.
The banter was loud and personal as well.
I could almost pin point when it stoped.

Funny that no gate in SEQ, some regional leagues in Queensland do have a gate
Probably pushing almost 20 years ago now, the Brisbane City Council recategorised sporting venues on leased properties. Part of the thinking was as clubs were operating on public property, then barriers such as two-metre fences should be removed. Hence, venues at Hawthorne and Chelmer (examples only) were directed to remove their fences.
Some exceptions were permitted. Off the top of my head, I believe Yeronga, Coorparoo, and Zillmere retained their fences on the Council's assent.
As pointed out, it makes it basically impossible for many clubs in the BCC area to charge a gate (or in some cases, adequately protect the facilities they have developed).
I suspect the Gold Coast, Moreton Bay, and Sunshine Coast councils did not impose the same conditions on their local clubs - so if those clubs wanted to charge an entrance fee, they're obviously in a much better position to do that.

Probably pushing almost 20 years ago now, the Brisbane City Council recategorised sporting venues on leased properties. Part of the thinking was as clubs were operating on public property, then barriers such as two-metre fences should be removed. Hence, venues at Hawthorne and Chelmer (examples only) were directed to remove their fences.
Some exceptions were permitted. Off the top of my head, I believe Yeronga, Coorparoo, and Zillmere retained their fences on the Council's assent.
As pointed out, it makes it basically impossible for many clubs in the BCC area to charge a gate (or in some cases, adequately protect the facilities they have developed).
I suspect the Gold Coast, Moreton Bay, and Sunshine Coast councils did not impose the same conditions on their local clubs - so if those clubs wanted to charge an entrance fee, they're obviously in a much better position to do that.
Good point Toucan - no basically up her on the coast i can't think of a ground where it would be difficult to find an avenue in - none are fully fenced that i can think of

Hearing that pine rivers have solid numbers and are looking to come into the comp. If they can get the tick of approval from the league will they just take hinterlands spot or are we expecting more reshuffling of teams? Maybe Gympie out? How are numbers at Jindalee?

Chooks could be done and dusted!

QFA Div 2 North