QFA Div 2 North

And just out of interest Blocker what would happen if the Buffs also said no sorry we aren't ready either? (and I'm not commentating one way or another whether we are or whether we aren't, just hypothetically discussing) Do they go to Cooly and ask them? Then Bond and Coomera and so on down the 2018 ladder until they find a taker? Do they force Yeronga to stay? I certainly don't envy your position there and can see your point but geez it could really open up a can of worms and set a dangerous precedent, clubs being able to opt in or out. I don't know the answer but will watch on with interest. Good luck!!
But the buffs didn't win the gf.
Yeronga finished last.
So one would think that the rules say buffs don't go up and yeronga must go down.
If aflq want to enforce the rules on park ridge than they must enforce them on buffs and yeronga.
Any change to that will just reinforce what everyone has said.
If the competition is effected because of park ridge going to div five than so be it.
You simply cannot enforce rules on one and bend on the other.
How would that look blocker .

Its not an ideal situation, however every club was aware of the rules at the start of the season. Its either a straight relegation/promotion or its not.....if changes are made each year adhoc then they may as well scrap the system all together.....

And just out of interest Blocker what would happen if the Buffs also said no sorry we aren't ready either? (and I'm not commentating one way or another whether we are or whether we aren't, just hypothetically discussing) Do they go to Cooly and ask them? Then Bond and Coomera and so on down the 2018 ladder until they find a taker? Do they force Yeronga to stay? I certainly don't envy your position there and can see your point but geez it could really open up a can of worms and set a dangerous precedent, clubs being able to opt in or out. I don't know the answer but will watch on with interest. Good luck!!

Not sure where it stops and starts mate. As Thommo stated previously they bent rules last year in Div 4 & Div 5 last year when the same rules were in place.

To me it's about common sense. We did Point out to them that we weren't ready as a club before a ball was bounced this year. So we were being proactive to try and consolidate all our hard work.

We won GF by 17 points and lost second semi to Buffs. So it's not as if we dominated the competition. Everyone knows that there is a gulf between Div 1 & Div 2 except for the people running the competition.

We were in our right competition last year and have no doubt that's where we are at as a club. Just disappointing the way League handle things when it doesn't suit them.

I don’t see a problem with being told to go to div 5 if you have a player exodus. Plenty of clubs have hit hard times and come back.Swans Caloundra kedron that I can think of. All of them have had success after going back up too.

Theres probably a difference between having appropriate numbers and talent to play Div 2 or 3, but being forced to Div 5 as punishment as opposed to dealing with an exodus and having to go to Div 4 or 5 due to numbers.

Kedron having that year down on Friday's cost me a medal! (although not really, as I broke my ankle in the prelim anyway, so wouldn't have got one!)

SMY whilst it's very easy sitting in a club that has been established to make these statements. If the league were fair dinkum about promotion/relegation then Div 1 winner should be going up and Sandgate coming down. That's the way it works in Melbourne. You don't stop at a second tier.

We approached the League before a ball was bounced in 2018 and said win, lose or draw we are no where near ready or established enough to go to Div 1 should we win the premiership.

We had already done the right thing by the League in jumping from Division 3 to Division 2 and just wanted to get it out there from the start.

We are standing our ground as we do not want to ruin our club based on senseless decisions at Headquarters. They have given us an ultimatum we either compete in Div 1 or we go back to Div 5 and start again.

So they are happy for any team to have reserves get beat by 200+ and seniors 100+ just because they are the rules.

It is beyond arrogance and stupidity. But it just shows AFLQ have lost touch with what goes on at club land.

And to make it worse Beenleigh will be offered to go up if we pull out. And more than likely Ipswich will be offered to go from Div 3 to Div 2.

So then they furk our club up and maybe a few others as well.

That will just about do me.

Understand what u r saying blocker and obviously making a statement at seasons beginning helps your cause (although in the div 2 thread you give the distinct impression post GF victory that u were gearing up for a real challenge in div 1??) but I think if you are too flexible on rules then it leads to manipulation of them bc u have people crying “precedence”.
Just sounds like an unfortunate perfect storm for the footy club with bomber not able to go on and a few of the guys that followed him down decidng to pull the pin as well.

On the 3 young kids I’m not sure I’d be sending anyone to a qafl club unless they can get a kick in div 1 at least first. Admire your unselfishness but really sounds like these kids could be really important for you vs bit players at qafl level (not sure might be guns?)
Tough one and I know caloundra dropped 2 divisions in a summer bc they couldn’t field 2 teams in 2012 but have got their act together since. Not that this is what you want to do.

And outa I’m not buying into that arguement of “volunteers” etc. if clubs are seriously doing it tough then no one would get paid a cracker. About the only sport in Australia where a person could play at such a low level and receive compensation.

Our precinct Rosia road will cater for us and 8 wheeled sports. Funding for design was approved early in year and in May we get final design brief.

We well on track for 2020 I assure you, but the AFL part could easily be removed. We have over 100K houses being built in Park Ridge region in next 3-5 years.

I'm sure there has been conversations with Buffs and I'm sure League will be asking them to go up if we decide as a club to drop back to Div 5.

It will be 10 years of my time wasted building a club from nothing with some cracking people. Has really opened my eyes up how incompetent the people involved at Headquarters really are. They would not survive in private enterprise hence why they have have public servant attitude.

Doubt very much that funding for a multi million dollar facility is going to be linked to one seasons results for any club!

Can hear the frustration in your post block but seriously, what’s to say same scenario doesn’t occur to whoever is asked to go up? Why should they be the martyr?
Tbh not sure what the solution is other than keeping status quo but is that fair on yeronga? Someone has to lose out.

If Yeronga want to stay, and Park Ridge want to stay - then its a fairly easy decision.

If not, then agree its a bit more complicated.

Fairly easy decision you’d think Thommo. But this league seem to be intent on making what should be an easy decision , into a difficult one

I don’t see a problem with being told to go to div 5 if you have a player exodus. Plenty of clubs have hit hard times and come back.Swans Caloundra kedron that I can think of. All of them have had success after going back up too.

Don’t see a problem, until it happens to your club you mean.

Relegation either needs to be enforced for all teams, no excuses, or completely scrapped all together. I've come from a city that has 3 competitions in it, the format has been the same since I can remember. No relegation, you play teams that are in the rough vicinity of yours and it seems to work fine. Limits travel making it easy for blokes, creates cross town rivalry, makes it easy for supporters. I think that's a better option but that's just me.
Both formats have pros and cons and at the end of the day there will always be teams that aren't happy

Easy if yeronga want to stay you mean. Which I’m sure if it was the case the aflq would have already rubber stamped.

It’s been stated they want to stay. And pirates want to stay in div 2.

So again, it should be an easy decision.

But this is AFLQ we are talking about. They’ll turn any easy task into a difficult one.

Easy if yeronga want to stay you mean. Which I’m sure if it was the case the aflq would have already rubber stamped.
Maybe the aflq want to stand their ground .
They did it to kedron believe me.
So if they go by the rules the only change will be park ridge into division 5 and that's it.
Any other changes are breaking the rules.
You really can't stand your ground on one club and then change the rules for another club.
The uproar would be horrific.
Led by blocker and plenty right behind him.
You would have to call out and sack the persons involved at least.
A media leak and the lawyers come running.
That will test the rules I'm sure.

Understand what u r saying blocker and obviously making a statement at seasons beginning helps your cause (although in the div 2 thread you give the distinct impression post GF victory that u were gearing up for a real challenge in div 1??) but I think if you are too flexible on rules then it leads to manipulation of them bc u have people crying “precedence”.
Just sounds like an unfortunate perfect storm for the footy club with bomber not able to go on and a few of the guys that followed him down decidng to pull the pin as well.

On the 3 young kids I’m not sure I’d be sending anyone to a qafl club unless they can get a kick in div 1 at least first. Admire your unselfishness but really sounds like these kids could be really important for you vs bit players at qafl level (not sure might be guns?)
Tough one and I know caloundra dropped 2 divisions in a summer bc they couldn’t field 2 teams in 2012 but have got their act together since. Not that this is what you want to do.

And outa I’m not buying into that arguement of “volunteers” etc. if clubs are seriously doing it tough then no one would get paid a cracker. About the only sport in Australia where a person could play at such a low level and receive compensation.
Yes smy must have been a substantial player exodus for park ridge to be wanting to stay in div 2.the Noosa crew sat next to them at the league medal night and said the park ridge boys were up beat and couldn’t wait to travel up to noosa on their awesome supporter bus and not only enjoy the footy but make a weekend of it.i don’t know what the answer is but some competition stability over a long period would be great imo

Well that statement throws a cat amongst the pigeons!!
Reckon 6th sense it is unfair to judge the aflq unless u know what has been said to them by the,various clubs. From my understanding yeronga were keen to rebuild in div 2 irrespective of what someone has written on here. They had a bloody tough season.

You know how it,works mate, ebbs and flows. Maroochy were getting thumped by 10+ goals 7-8 yrs ago.

So if they go by the rules the only change will be park ridge into division 5 and that's it.
You really can't stand your ground on one club and then change the rules for another club.

Yeah......not sure any media or laywer is going to be too concerned about what is going on in lower division AFLQ. QAFL barely get any media in QLD.....the league will do as they please, as the always have.

pretty sure this is a div 3 forum why are we subjected to this crap about parkridge. move it on out of here. boring as hell listening to how shit scared you are to mix it with the big boys.

Sunny coast still yet to get a QAFL side. 3 sunny coast sides continually beat up on everyone else year in year out. Why not put their hands up, approach the league and push for a QAFL side on the sunny coast.

Talk about not wanting to mix it with the big boys.

QFA Div 2 North