QFA Div 2 North

Because it’s the comp they’ve been in for years and just won. North and South was set up with a lot of thought and common sense. That crumbled at the first test when HQ couldn’t find the will to stand up or the common sense to use google maps and allowed a Logan based team to play in a Northern comp. The rot that has set in since means all the deck chairs on the Titanic will be shuffled yet again next year. So will Yeronga players have extra points for having taken players from a team in the same comp? I think not. So those clubs that are truly North sit by and watch the debacle unfold and be forced to wear the garbage created and imposed upon them.

Unfortunately you’ve hit the nail on the head with HQ setting precedent in allowing true southern clubs to participate with no dramas. Would have been highly unfair for Kenmore to have to stay in the South comp when Alex Hills were allowed to leave and join North, Vic Point leaving etc etc. it’s all a bit of a joke I know but hardly Kenmores fault, think they’re well within their rights to do this

with 22-23 clubs across Div 2 South, and Div 2 north why not just split into 3 comps??

Like the old days

Div 2 North, Div 2 Central, Div 2 South

Not sure on the breakup of teams, but couldn't that work?

North: Gympie, Pine Rivers, Hinterland, Moreton Bay, Redcliffe, Sandgate

Central: Kenmore, Alex Hills, Ipswich, Wynnum, Moorooka, Jindalee, Kedron

South: Park Ridge, Coomera, Cararra, Burleigh, Cooly, Ballina, Byron, Tweed

North could maybe be adjusted to include Northshore if they can get 2 sides together, or maybe Marcoochy could JV with Northshore to put a Div 2 North team in?

The solution is simple.
Gold coast comp.
They have enough teams to stand alone even if they have a couple in div 1.
Div 1 comp should be at least 8 to 10 teams.
It's embarrassing to QLD footy to have this comp the smallest in the league.
Div 2 comp
Div 3 comp
Promotion and relegation.
Takes out the north south debacle.
If you have to travel every now and again.
So be it.
The problem with having a lot of rules is.
1 you either have to stick to them.
2 you will eventually have to break them.
Use some common sence and get it done.
Your never going to satisfy every club.
So bite the bullet and implement it now.
But that would take some real thought and effort.
Clubs don't pay enough fees to get that sort of service.

well there’s not much else they can do can they? Why would you force a Brisbane club to play in a Gold Coast competition when there’s a perfectly adequate one here already? Could send them to Friday nights to please some of the wringers here but then you have 20-30 blokes missing out every week. Doesn’t do anyone good
I don't think anyone is saying they should go back to Friday nite.
No one really wants that to be the only outcome for any club.
My point is that there are different rules for different clubs.
That's where you get the confusion and anger.
Kenmore asked and were given.
Good luck to them.
If I was at Kenmore that's exactly the comp is want to be in.

Good luck to them.

kenmore isn’t the issue IMO. Let’s use Gympie for example. Gympie to Kedron can take 2 hours. There is another 8 clubs south of Kedron. So 9 of the other 14 clubs is 2-2.5 hours plus for Gympie. Thats 9. For those southern clubs in the North. Park ridge to Byron Bay is less then 2 hours. Not any of the clubs mentioned fault but it’s the inconsistency in applying the logic.

Good luck to them.

Yeah fair enough mate. As I said earlier, unfortunately the precedent had been set. AFLQ couldnt really say no with the web they tangled themselves in. I think a return to Div 2/3 is the right outcome in 2022

IMO opinion its easy ....Teams wanting to drop and being forced to go back to Div 4 Friday night is Too hard and too much for Any club
to go through Unless they ask....Yeronga should have never been playing Friday night div 2 would have been fine...
Div 1 needs a couple more teams to be at least 9......Easy with no Noosa and Marochy flogging the pack....
Split Div 2 north and south including the GC ( no northern NSW ) right down the middle
And with the rest and any team that does not feel up to div two North/South
play two team Div 3 comp with teams from Brisbane and the GC

Done

The solution is simple.
Gold coast comp.
They have enough teams to stand alone even if they have a couple in div 1.
Div 1 comp should be at least 8 to 10 teams.
It's embarrassing to QLD footy to have this comp the smallest in the league.
Div 2 comp
Div 3 comp
Promotion and relegation.
Takes out the north south debacle.
If you have to travel every now and again.
So be it.
The problem with having a lot of rules is.
1 you either have to stick to them.
2 you will eventually have to break them.
Use some common sence and get it done.
Your never going to satisfy every club.
So bite the bullet and implement it now.
But that would take some real thought and effort.
Clubs don't pay enough fees to get that sort of service.

Agree [emoji817]

Ok I’ll have a crack at the potential of being struck down.
GC/Northern Rivers comp - Burleigh, Coolangatta, Bond, Carrara, Coomera, Robina, Byron, Tweed, Ballina
“Sth”Comp - Alex Hills, Wynnum, PR, Ipswich, Marooka, Yeronga ,Jindalee
“NTH” Comp - Gympie, pine rivers, Moreton Bay, Kedron, Hinterland, Nambour, Redcliffe, Kenmore

Ok I’ll have a crack at the potential of being struck down.
GC/Northern Rivers comp - Burleigh, Coolangatta, Bond, Carrara, Coomera, Robina, Byron, Tweed, Ballina
“Sth”Comp - Alex Hills, Wynnum, PR, Ipswich, Marooka, Yeronga ,Jindalee
“NTH” Comp - Gympie, pine rivers, Moreton Bay, Kedron, Hinterland, Nambour, Redcliffe, Kenmore

Could even bring Coomera (right on the boundary of GC and Brisbane Sth arguably) into South and then each comp is a nice round 8 teams each. Or Kenmore into Sth (as it is virtually next door to Jindalee) and Yeronga to Nth (closest to "north" on a map). Not ideal in terms of team numbers but has to be a better option than what we have currently. Travel no major issue either, all fairly local. I like it!

I like the three zone idea, and eight teams in each makes the most sense for fixturing. If we had to have a south-of-the-river club in the north though, I think most clubs up here would prefer it be Wynnum. They're the most north, and they're just off the Gateway.

North — Gympie, Hinterland, Moreton Bay, Redcliffe, Pine Rivers, Sandgate, Kedron, Wynnum
Central — Yeronga, Kenmore, Jindalee, Moorooka, Alex Hills, Park Ridge, Ipswich, Coomera
South — Carrara, Bond Uni, Robina, Burleigh, Coolangatta, Tweed, Ballina, Byron

I like the three zone idea, and eight teams in each makes the most sense for fixturing. If we had to have a south-of-the-river club in the north though, I think most clubs up here would prefer it be Wynnum. They're the most north, and they're just off the Gateway.

North — Gympie, Hinterland, Moreton Bay, Redcliffe, Pine Rivers, Sandgate, Kedron, Wynnum
Central — Yeronga, Kenmore, Jindalee, Moorooka, Alex Hills, Park Ridge, Ipswich, Coomera
Can we all play for a super bowl at the end too ? Qfa div 2north/central /reserves wildcard playoff would be fully sic!

Someone needs to approach Aflq with this idea

It seems plausible

So everyone plays each other twice which is only 14 rounds , not enough, and play 4 teams 3 times to make it 18 rounds never works out even.
Should alway be 10 team comps , 18 rounds , 9 home n 9 away games.

Isnt one bloke (Leigh Harding) coordinating all 3 comps this year? Gee whiz - thats a big
So everyone plays each other twice which is only 14 rounds , not enough, and play 4 teams 3 times to make it 18 rounds never works out even.
Should alway be 10 team comps , 18 rounds , 9 home n 9 away games.

Yeah thats nice and neat but not always doable. If you play 2 teams three times it should be a rival round opponent and the next closest to generate better revenue. And then have a final 5 to allow for the fact that you might be disadvantaged / advantaged by not playing everyone the same number of times.

Someone needs to approach Aflq with this idea

It seems plausible

It’s a terrible idea.

including the northern river teams is the downfall in this.

teams don’t go care where they go. You know you’re only going to gympie once a year so let’s just all relax and get ready for a great year of footy.

Have they caught the blokes that stole the mains from moreton bay’s lights?

inside job maybe?

So you reckon Kenmore who are a good 20 minutes north of you lot should be made to travel as far as Lismore every second week? I get what happened to you guys was sh*t, but come on use some common sense. At the end of the day you are getting another probably decent side (I would imagine) to make this an even better competition. Unfortunately not much to go by when you, Wynnum, Moorooka, Alex Hills all get to classify themselves as North

Didn’t say anywhere in my comment that they shouldn’t be in our competition? Actually said I can understand why they are doing it if you read it carefully?

Just asked question why they not staying in their current division? Was it because of playing depth, travel etc.

Just find the double standards of League when making these decisions.

Unfortunately you’ve hit the nail on the head with HQ setting precedent in allowing true southern clubs to participate with no dramas. Would have been highly unfair for Kenmore to have to stay in the South comp when Alex Hills were allowed to leave and join North, Vic Point leaving etc etc. it’s all a bit of a joke I know but hardly Kenmores fault, think they’re well within their rights to do this

I can only speak for my Club, but we came back from Friday night footy and were well and truly entitled to go into what was considered the next step in competition being Div 3 which then became Div 2 North. With trying to attract players coming from a one side competition it was no brainer.

So not sure we got any hand outs or leg ups from HQ. Just find it amusing that you win a flag and have ambitions to play higher competition, but it goes to shit you are always going to be a target.

We had our time in the sun so I’m just glad it’s someone else copping the crap from left field for a change.

QFA Div 2 North