QFA Div 2 North

Maybe it’s time to bring back Div 3 .Cats,Jags,Vikings and try to get the the eagles ,chooks and swans back to Saturday’s or any other Friday team with aspirations to play Saturday. Have optional ressie’s to help teams struggling.

Would have to have Kedron in that mix too considering how close the cats took them this weekend in seniors. Especially if it is optional reserves

Leaves a very small Div 2. Optional ressies a farce. Blokes want to play each week and deserve to do so.

Fri night is cruelling Sat footy for lower divisions. That and once a club has a whiff of weakness about it people walk these days

All that coin from TV rights surely something can be done to support clubs.

Leaves a very small Div 2. Optional ressies a farce. Blokes want to play each week and deserve to do so.

Fri night is cruelling Sat footy for lower divisions. That and once a club has a whiff of weakness about it people walk these days

Could bring Div 2 south back into the fold. I can’t imagine the northern rivers teams lasting they get pumped. If you know before the season how many reserve teams there are you don’t need byes so it would work if there isn’t the same amount of teams.

What would a whole heap of money do though FF? If blokes are choosing to play Fri nights then that says something about lower level footy and the priorities of guys playing at this level - which is fair enough. Very social.
I agree though with you and "reserves optional". Either they are part of your comp or they are not. Can't straddle the fence.

There is an obsession with "participation numbers" at HQ and I don't mean AFLQ. It is great data to market so the push for multiple sides, more junior clubs etc is a fallacy imo. Surely the strength of your code is in the cumulative strength of your clubs. I think having 50 senior sides for example where 45 of them are going along ok with numbers and finances is far better than having 70 senior clubs but a similar number still going okay. Some clubs should stay as junior clubs, some junior clubs need to be put in to high population growth areas but it doesn't mean they have to become senior clubs. Some clubs should be Fri night clubs with 1 side and having a 1 side Saturday comp is not a bad idea especially if you can run a women's side out as well. Still makes it a full day of footy.

We have a tough sport to fill 2 sides each week. Basically need around minimum 35 blokes to play. It's a big ask in this day and age. I would suggest the biggest thing a bucketful of money could do is reduce the cost to play. We know that people who play sport get into less trouble than those who don't during their teens / twenties. Why it isn't a government priority I've never understood.

What’s happening at Wynnum, Division 1 last year and goes goalless in Division 2. Concerning
Rebuilding mate. Went from third best team in the comp in 2021. Stepped up and had a good crack last year in Div 1. For various reasons lost nearly 3/4 of our senior side from 2022 hence why we had to drop back down. Great boys at the club but we are short on some quality players but we will keep plugging away

Injuries play a huge role at most clubs and at lower end clubs it can be season defining and send Clubs into very awkward situations.

We have been hit out of control this year with some 108+ players used between our two sides which we have begged, borrowed and permitted from everywhere.

I think at start of year we had 58 registered players to field two sides.

Come round 3 after some significant injuries we were down to 34 available.

Since then it’s been a constant struggle to get two sides out let alone being competitive. We get 4 back this week but lost another 2 with broken ankle playing touch and another one to deployment. Both senior players.

So anyone looking for a kick next weekend as we have a bye this week let us know as no doubt we will still be short.

Dont agree that splitting into Div 2 and 3 makes it too difficult.

Div2
Kenmore
Redcliffe
Yeronga
Sandgate
Alex Hills
Kedron
Park Ridge

Div3 (optional ressies)
Gympie
Wynnum
Jindalee
+Mooroka?
+Pine Rivers?
+Jimboomba? (recall they used to play a few saturday games)
+ Any other Friday night teams that want to graduate to Saturdays

You could also alternate between Fridays and Saturdays for the Div 3 teams week to week. The old QAFA Central comp back in the day used to have a couple of teams that played Saturdays occassionally

Div2
Kenmore
Redcliffe
Yeronga
Sandgate
Alex Hills
Kedron
Park Ridge

Div3 (optional ressies)
Gympie
Wynnum
Jindalee
+Mooroka?
+Pine Rivers?

You could also alternate between Fridays and Saturdays for the Div 3 teams week to week. The old QAFA Central comp back in the day used to have a couple of teams that played Saturdays occassionally

This has a mountain of merit although I reckon Park Ridge would want to be in the optional Ressies comp

Optional ressies won’t work. Imagine a club trying to hold a playing group together that only plays irregularly because of no consistent opposition.

Just a means of transferring the Fri night model to Saturdays which creates problems with grounds and umpire availability.

Try again.

Where do the southern comps sit in all that too?

Believe there are a couple of clubs about to take the step to Sat footy

What will happen to div 2 south. I can’t imagine the northern rivers teams hanging around if they’re getting spanked every year. And if any of them aspire to go to Div 1 could leave that comp very small ?

Div2
Kenmore
Redcliffe
Yeronga
Sandgate
Alex Hills
Kedron
Park Ridge

Div3 (optional ressies)
Gympie
Wynnum
Jindalee
+Mooroka?
+Pine Rivers?

I started playing Woodies in 2007.

Games were a mix of Friday and Saturday until 2013.

2014 was the first year the comp became exclusively Friday nights.

Before then it was about a 50/50 split of Fri & Sat.

What will happen to div 2 south. I can’t imagine the northern rivers teams hanging around if they’re getting spanked every year. And if any of them aspire to go to Div 1 could leave that comp very small ?
Good point. There are a couple of clubs with history as strong as many in Div 2 South. Bond Uni, Burleigh & Coolangatta all being Div 1/Pineapple Cup in the past.

Be good to see all of them back in Div 1.
Don’t think will see that any time soon though, can’t imagine just one of them going up either, would probably need at least 2 or 3 of them to want to go up into Div 1 at the same time for it to happen. Would love to see some gold coast representation in Div 1 though

QFA Div 2 North