QFA Div 2 North

I can’t find a forum for Div 2 south but I think Pacific Pines will be competitive in there. Seem to be in a good location as well. Would be a local rivalry between Coomera I’d suggest. Not sure how this helps Beenleigh however.

I think Moorooka will be maybe middle of the pack. Also good location between in the middle of Mt Gravatt and Sherwood.

Both teams will be dependent on who sticks around from the Friday night squads. Both squads have been successful for a number of years. But Saturdays always brings new and old faces back to clubs. Moorooka, unlike PAC Pines will need to establish and slowly build a junior and youth pathways. But it’s a start.
Mate your long way off Div 2
Your 40 goals behind the bottom sides in the comp
Div 3 Friday kick and giggle

Is a long way off 2 teams saterday
Football

Mate your long way off Div 2
Your 40 goals behind the bottom sides in the comp
Div 3 Friday kick and giggle

Is a long way off 2 teams saterday
Football
Pine Rivers haven’t seemed to have had much of a problem with the jump to Div 2 from Fridays. Made the finals both years since they’ve been back and haven’t been beaten by 40 goals yet.

Zillmere haven’t suffered a 40 goal loss either but came within 15 points of Kenmore who are now grand finalists which should give them confidence going into 2026.

I’m sure they both didn’t expect to be premiers in their first two seasons back, but rebuilding back into dominant Saturday sides won’t happen overnight.

Well done to Redcliffe. Kenmore definitely gave it to them in the first half but fell away in their ball use in the second half. Fantastic day for a GF and great weather at Sandgate. Decent crowd too
Solid game but tigers showed how to finnish out the close ones.
Sandgate showed how to put on a GF. Great surface and old school atmosphere with the crowd all around the ground.
Must have been at least 1500 or more come though the gates.

Solid game but tigers showed how to finnish out the close ones.
Sandgate showed how to put on a GF. Great surface and old school atmosphere with the crowd all around the ground.
Must have been at least 1500 or more come though the gates.
It was a good attendance, and the ground surface at Lemke Rd was the best I’ve ever seen.

How about the big Ute backed in next to the Kenmore coaches box full of Redcliffe supporters!!?!! 🤣.

Sandgate may be building another level to their clubhouse after charging $13 for entry with car parking and $17 for a burger and soft drink. How much of the entrance fee goes to the club? And how many to the central powers?

It was a good attendance, and the ground surface at Lemke Rd was the best I’ve ever seen.

How about the big Ute backed in next to the Kenmore coaches box full of Redcliffe supporters!!?!! 🤣.

Sandgate may be building another level to their clubhouse after charging $13 for entry with car parking and $17 for a burger and soft drink. How much of the entrance fee goes to the club? And how many to the central powers?
Don't know where you get your info from but it was $8 per person kids under 16 free and $6 for concessions.
The canteen had meal deals for $12 dollars and the beers were cheaper than Grange.
I Won't say the amount the club paid to host the event but let's say aflq do ok.

Don't know where you get your info from but it was $8 per person kids under 16 free and $6 for concessions.
The canteen had meal deals for $12 dollars and the beers were cheaper than Grange.
I Won't say the amount the club paid to host the event but let's say aflq do ok.
I got my info from my bank balance as it was debited yesterday.

Pretty sure $8 entrance plus $5 for parking adds to $13. Didn’t have a beer but had a burger from the inside canteen that was $12 plus a bottle of soft drink that was $5. Pretty sure that adds to $17.

If you had to pay a sizeable fee for hosting I can understand the need to charge.

Was a pretty good day all things considered.

I got my info from my bank balance as it was debited yesterday.

Pretty sure $8 entrance plus $5 for parking adds to $13. Didn’t have a beer but had a burger from the inside canteen that was $12 plus a bottle of soft drink that was $5. Pretty sure that adds to $17.

If you had to pay a sizeable fee for hosting I can understand the need to charge.

Was a pretty good day all things considered.
Ok wasn't aware about parking fee.
But yes you have to take a sizable amount before you get into the red.
I think it's four times the amount it should be but clubs don't get a say.

Imagine if they share the love and some other clubs got an opportunity at that sort of revenue for a change
You have to tick a few boxes first.
But my thoughts are qfa clubs play GF on qfa grounds and qafl clubs should never get that opportunity.
To be honest the cost of holding it and stock to service the day.
Your profit margin isn't spectacular but is worth it depending on the crowd numbers.
A Lot of work to get the thing up and running then you need 35 or more people to work all day and night.
If it was a private business you would pass.

If Kedron can, anyone can.
😂😂😂 Great comment 😂😂😂 it just showed on Sunday not just anyone can beat Redcliffe, they are an awesome team and a big congratulations to them on their outstanding year and premiership.

But back to your comment I would like to know how you came up with that theory? as Kedron were the only team to beat Sandgate last year too. It’s Div 2 footy but still a lot of planning and preparing are put into these games maybe a little bit of credit where due

At the end of the day, I don’t think anyone was too fazed about having to pay a few bucks for entry and parking.

Was a good day all round. One of the more well supported div2 grand finals we’ve seen in awhile with a great atmosphere to boot!

Congratulations to Redcliffe on taking the chocolates.

Was a great spectacle on Sunday, real
Country footy atmosphere. The league got the day right.
Only got to see the second half of the reserves and I’m not sure how Redcliffe held on. Was a good old fashioned spray from the Redcliffe coach at 3qt.

Kenmore played a very good brand of football and Redcliffe had to dig deep in the end.

Great result for the tigers. 2 games total loss for them, the reserves not losing since round 1.
Hopefully the gap between finals and non finals teams can be closed next year

Big call, how have the last 5 teams that have gone up gone. You would need to make sure the playing list would be maintained or improved, you need to be financially stable, Administration would need to be settled and content, sponsors onboard, and I think the youth space needs to at a level to regenerate from within. Redcliffe ticks most of those boxes, but we will have to see.

Let's look at the Div 1 Comp since 2020:

1758592557381.png

My opinion only of the teams promoted to Div 1:
  • Hinterland - positive & highly competitive
  • Moreton Bay - exceptional facility, generally positive, tough year in 2025
  • Sandgate - good facility, good location, highly commendable for taking the next step
  • Wynnum - probably over-ambitious, not ready for the step up

Noosa and Coorparoo have been promoted from this competition. Aspley & Beenleigh have left Div 1 for very different reasons.

The only consistent participants have been Springwood & University. I reckon you could safely include Caloundra too, who only stepped away for one season due to COVID restrictions.

Three of the four promotions to Div 1 have been successful.

The positives for Redcliffe include an exceptional facility, strong playing numbers, and stable management. (I'm sure there are others that people involved with the club could describe.)

The big concern that I see is that if individual clubs do not make the step up to Div 1, then that could either leave Div 1 relatively fragile with only 7 clubs, or necessitate the promotion of one club (or several clubs) that may have been reluctant otherwise.

Ideally, I see Div 1 as needing a 10-team, 18-round competition.
Just my opinions though.

Let's look at the Div 1 Comp since 2020:

View attachment 2435060

My opinion only of the teams promoted to Div 1:
  • Hinterland - positive & highly competitive
  • Moreton Bay - exceptional facility, generally positive, tough year in 2025
  • Sandgate - good facility, good location, highly commendable for taking the next step
  • Wynnum - probably over-ambitious, not ready for the step up

Noosa and Coorparoo have been promoted from this competition. Aspley & Beenleigh have left Div 1 for very different reasons.

The only consistent participants have been Springwood & University. I reckon you could safely include Caloundra too, who only stepped away for one season due to COVID restrictions.

Three of the four promotions to Div 1 have been successful.

The positives for Redcliffe include an exceptional facility, strong playing numbers, and stable management. (I'm sure there are others that people involved with the club could describe.)

The big concern that I see is that if individual clubs do not make the step up to Div 1, then that could either leave Div 1 relatively fragile with only 7 clubs, or necessitate the promotion of one club (or several clubs) that may have been reluctant otherwise.

Ideally, I see Div 1 as needing a 10-team, 18-round competition.
Just my opinions though.
Good analysis.
My summary is
(1) too many in QAFL,
(2) not enough in Division 1,
(3) probably too many in Division 2 North.
(4) the perennial top 4 in Division 2 South arent spoken about with Div 1 because they’d be adding a heap of travel.

Redcliffe will be fine travel wise. Won both ressies and seniors and multiple previous prelims. Coach has connections at Grange, Coops and Redcliffe. Fresh new facilities.

Needs to go up for the sake of the north comp as most likely 13 or 14 teams next year is a ludicrous number in any comp.

Redcliffe plus 2 GC go up will help the issue of no GC teams in Div 1. Also would make 10. Which would help mitigate the issue of the last GC team in Div 1 with Travel. No Maroocy or Noosa but Caloundra and Hinterland take their place (just not in terms of the old domination the other two had) and a bit closer.

But in the end it’s left up to the clubs on whether they want to move up or not. Definitely need GC presence in Div 1 at the very least.

Good analysis.
My summary is
(1) too many in QAFL,
(2) not enough in Division 1,
(3) probably too many in Division 2 North.
(4) the perennial top 4 in Division 2 South arent spoken about with Div 1 because they’d be adding a heap of travel.
I think a true Div 1 competition should have Gold Coast teams…top 4 gc teams would be competitive
Shouldn’t be all the pressure on the North competition to continually promote sides to make up the Div 1 numbers

I think a true Div 1 competition should have Gold Coast teams…top 4 gc teams would be competitive
Shouldn’t be all the pressure on the North competition to continually promote sides to make up the Div 1 numbers
Could easily go with a Div 1 North & Div 1 South.

Even if QAFL stays as is then it could be 2 x 8 team comps.

Springwood, Alex Hills, Kenmore & Yeronga meet up with the top 4 in Div 2 South, Cooly, Bond, Burleigh, Carrara.

Hinterland, Caloundra, Moreton Bay, Mayne, Sandgate, UQ, Redcliffe, Kedron.

Then balance Div 2 North & South comps

What’s the incentive to move to division 1? The GC clubs will never move they love there little comp where bond,Burleigh and Cooly only ever win.
That’s the thing there is no real incentive to go Div 1..it doesn’t make the club any more appealing
Makes the league more appealing from a AFLQ side of things and the current Div 1 sides would probably like it being a extra team but for those 3-4 clubs on the gc there’s no incentive
They’ve got a great comp set up down there so I don’t blame them

QFA Div 2 North