QFA Div 4&5

And I missed that Kawana host the SC GF. Handy for the Eagles if they can fight back and win their next two games.

I wonder if at the start of the season the 4 zones were advised that whoever finishes first can host the GF or otherwise the venue must be neutral.
The chat I had with them. Was he tried to keep it as neutral as possible but also wanted it at a quality venue. Sometimes everything doesn’t align.

Prelim for both South and GC
Coops V Collingwood Park
Southport V Labrador

Semi/QF for SC and North
Maroocydore V Caloundra
Kawana V North Shore

Marcellan V Kedron
Sandgate V Aspley

Went and watched the Caloundra v Maroochy game on Fri night - a very good standard of footy I thought. Caloundra too many really good players across the park but it would not surprise if they meet in the GF and Maroochy turn the tables. No idea if either side had players missing but it was a cracking night. As a neutral thought the umpiring was really good too. Always helps the quality of the game!

You'd think with all the weeks off Caloundra be close to full strength. and yes Roos always capable of getting anyone in finals.

great to hear about the umpiring as it's a level of footy that's often struggled to fill games

You'd think with all the weeks off Caloundra be close to full strength. and yes Roos always capable of getting anyone in finals.

great to hear about the umpiring as it's a level of footy that's often struggled to fill games
Funny how some people fear the multiple weeks off but others love it. Especially for a top 5 finals system. If you’re first and you win your QF you have 2 games in 4 weeks. But if you’re second, win your first QF but lose to first in the second QF then you play 4 games in 4 weeks.

Some teams and their play styles would prefer those weeks off for rest and regroup where some other teams need that do or die game every week.

Funny how some people fear the multiple weeks off but others love it. Especially for a top 5 finals system. If you’re first and you win your QF you have 2 games in 4 weeks. But if you’re second, win your first QF but lose to first in the second QF then you play 4 games in 4 weeks.

Some teams and their play styles would prefer those weeks off for rest and regroup where some other teams need that do or die game every week.
Yeah you either love it or you hate it.
Panthers would have only played 2 out of 6 weeks leading into the grand final. Which may suit them well, being a more mature group of fellas.

Jets had a bye about 4-5 weeks ago. Which I think is about the ideal time to freshen up start gaining momentum at the back end of the year.

Roos on the other hand, last had a bye about 8-9 weeks ago and could quite possibly be starting to get banged up.

Could the panthers be underdone going into the granny, or is it the perfect set up for them to go a 3 peat? 🤔
Time will tell 🏉

GC and Brisbane South GF this week.

Moorooka V Coops

PAC Pines V Southport

Thoughts? I know a lot on this forum seem to be from the SC comp.

I notice the PF, Maroochdore V North Shore is 7pm.

I remember someone commenting earlier in the year about SC teams sometimes aiming for 7pm games.

Can’t recall any games in the Brisbane region being any earlier than 7:30pm. Some have been at 8pm. Maybe it’s something brissy teams look at if the team they are playing is local next year? At the same time I don’t have an issue at all with it just being left at 7:30pm.

Get on the chooks tonight, a big bounce back from where the club was 2 years ago.

Early start is interesting, maybe they both don't want to be there till midnight with time-on?

Maybe there's a lot of Cats and Lions fans involved in the game?

I notice the PF, Maroochdore V North Shore is 7pm.

I remember someone commenting earlier in the year about SC teams sometimes aiming for 7pm games.

Can’t recall any games in the Brisbane region being any earlier than 7:30pm. Some have been at 8pm. Maybe it’s something brissy teams look at if the team they are playing is local next year? At the same time I don’t have an issue at all with it just being left at 7:30pm.
Makes a hell of a lot of sense imo with afl finals on. For players and spectators.

Wowee, what a finish in Div 3 South.

Coops kick a goal to go in front with 2 minute to play.

Ball bounces around, they kick another behind, Moorooka get it to about 55-60m out with a mark on the siren after going fast up the middle from the kick out.

Siren sounds, Coorparoo celebrate and encroach all over the mark. The King's Captain comes from about 50m away and runs straight through the protected area. Looks like umpires aren't going to pay the 50m penalty, then they have a quick convo and they pay it (correctly i must say) and the Roosters kick the winner ager the siren from 15 out directly in front.

Not sure the skipper of the kings will look back on the tape too fondly!

Wowee, what a finish in Div 3 South.

Coops kick a goal to go in front with 2 minute to play.

Ball bounces around, they kick another behind, Moorooka get it to about 55-60m out with a mark on the siren after going fast up the middle from the kick out.

Siren sounds, Coorparoo celebrate and encroach all over the mark. The King's Captain comes from about 50m away and runs straight through the protected area. Looks like umpires aren't going to pay the 50m penalty, then they have a quick convo and they pay it (correctly i must say) and the Roosters kick the winner ager the siren from 15 out directly in front.

Not sure the skipper of the kings will look back on the tape too fondly!
If it was obvious why did the umpires have a quick convo?

No idea, they had a convo with the player getting the 50 as well which was weird.

But #3 from Coops was clearly in protected area, ran from behind and was just dumb. It was 100% there and old mate was brave enough to pay it as he should have.

Not to mention crowd etc on the field as well.

Yeah could pick a few things the 50 was for. If it was for the spectators running on - it wouldn't have been the first time I've seen that in a GF.

A tough lesson that you always play to the whistle

3 running through protected area was super obvious though

Credit to the fellas in green for working through it and getting the outcome right.

Unlucky for Coops - there could have only been less than a second between mark and siren!

Yeah could pick a few things the 50 was for. If it was for the spectators running on - it wouldn't have been the first time I've seen that in a GF.

A tough lesson that you always play to the whistle

3 running through protected area was super obvious though

Credit to the fellas in green for working through it and getting the outcome right.

Unlucky for Coops - there could have only been less than a second between mark and siren!
Watched the live stream this morning. Amongst what was an edge of your seat GF with everything you’d want for a good GF. I have to say the GF was probably unpired a bit too inconsistently.

Both teams went hard. But I watched the speeches at the end and noticed neither the cooraproo coach or captain made a speech? A coorparoo official or non-player got red carded as the umps were walking off. Was it the coach?

QFA Div 4&5