Unofficial Preview Qualifying Final 2025 v Cats @MCG.

Confirmation from the Lions Berry, Neale and McKenna available >https://www.lions.com.au/news/18772...JMadQQOBOqics9YyMw_aem_X4ccJpENQvyEGxp7Wj26RA

The Brisbane Lions expect to have premiership duo Lachie Neale and Jarrod Berry available for next Friday night’s Qualifying Final against Geelong at the MCG.

Berry missed Sunday night’s Round 24 win over Hawthorn with a dislocated shoulder he sustained against Fremantle, though was passed fit to play if required.

While Neale has overcome a quad strain which has sidelined him for the past three matches.

Senior coach Chris Fagan confirmed to media in Sunday night’s post-match press conference that both players would be available to play in week one of the finals.

Eric Hipwood continues his recovery for a calf strain he suffered in the Round 23 win over Fremantle, with the key forward likely to remain out for two to three weeks.

The Lions will also have utility Conor McKenna (hamstring) available for selection for this weekend’s VFL Elimination Final and next week’s AFL Qualifying Final.

🎉🥳🎇🦁

It is tempting to go smaller and drop Gallop. What works in his favour to not drop him is the way he harrasses the ball carrier and consistently applies pressure. Which is the most we would probably hope for if we went smaller. We get that plus the added advantage of a bigger body.
If we lost Fort through injury during the game for some reason, then Gallop provides coverage for a big body and/or is a sneaky chance to be the #1 ruck for the remainder of the game. He would provide some athleticism around the ground which could make up for getting well beaten in the ruck which would likely happen to Day as well.

Tunstill goes out and I think Bruce is the unfortunate one who goes to sub.

I knew I was forgetting someone. FFS.
Reville out for Bailey and Marshall to the sub role I guess.

Based on available fit players, that'll be our strongest squad possible.

Hipwood will come in for Gallop at some point when fit. Unless Gallop plays a blinder in one of the finals and justifies keeping his spot - that'll make it very interesting.

Based on available fit players, that'll be our strongest squad possible.

Hipwood will come in for Gallop at some point when fit. Unless Gallop plays a blinder in one of the finals and justifies keeping his spot - that'll make it very interesting.
Day is the only one who could go out in expense for Hippy if it isn't Gallop. Not sure that Gallop is quite up to that physical role yet but it wouldn't be the first time a young player proved himself undroppable during a finals series either.

Agree it's a possibility. But I think Day will stay as he still has value on that relief ruck role. He has the size and mature body to provide good contest which may not be possible for Gallop and Hipwood.

Joyce hasn't played all year and you want to bring him in for finals!! I really struggle with just how delusional some footy fans can be. You're from another planet if you think this is the right call or one Fagan world even consider making.
Fort became a Premiership Player, having come in for a Grand Final last year having only played two games previously, Round 4 and Round 8. I know it was to cover an injury, but he did really well.

As I said Fagan will stick with Gardiner and for the sake of the team, I hope he can find the form he is seriously lacking at the moment.

Fort became a Premiership Player, having come in for a Grand Final last year having only played two games previously, Round 4 and Round 8. I know it was to cover an injury, but he did really well.

As I said Fagan will stick with Gardiner and for the sake of the team, I hope he can find the form he is seriously lacking at the moment.

The backline is rock solid. Dizzy is playing his role. His form is fine.

Defensively Gardiner is not an issue at all. His disposal under pressure is a bit ordinary though.

Darcy is playing his role and has been a big part of why our backline is functioning so well without Payne.

Lester's opponents have conceded more goals in the past month than Dizzy's. That's not to say Lester hasn't done well, but just outlines that all defenders are playing their roles.

How’s this from that campaigner that’s an adult that dresses up like a Cat posting this; clearly they must be deaf if they thought there’s no atmosphere in the PF last year:

View attachment 2408242
Apologies for the intrusion. If it's any consolation guys, we hate him too.

I've been pretty blessed in my lifetime as a Geelong supporter, but the one thing that makes me cringe like nothing else is seeing him show up on my Instagram. It's grim stuff, so view at your own discretion.

Best of luck for the game. Obviously not too much, but best of luck nonetheless. Love watching you play, particularly those Ashcroft kids.

Hopefully we can meet in a GF regardless of the result Friday week.

Apologies for the intrusion. If it's any consolation guys, we hate him too.

I've been pretty blessed in my lifetime as a Geelong supporter, but the one thing that makes me cringe like nothing else is seeing him show up on my Instagram. It's grim stuff, so view at your own discretion.

Best of luck for the game. Obviously not too much, but best of luck nonetheless. Love watching you play, particularly those Ashcroft kids.

Hopefully we can meet in a GF regardless of the result Friday week.
Haha fair enough, every side has flog supporters!

That prelim last year was electric. Made me realise how many supporters Geelong has these days. But also though our mob did okay at making some noise.

The last time we played Geelong Rd.15
Geelong 6.15.51
Brisbane 14.8.92

IMG_4412.png

IMG_4413.png
In terms of the Qualifying Final, injury dictates there will be no Hipwood or Answerth. Gallop was named as an emergency in Rd15, and he played last week, so he may get another run.

McLachlan is unlikely to be recalled and it is fair to say that Reville and Marshall are likely to hold their places in the current team, although one may be SUB.

Interestingly, Gardiner didn’t play in Rd.15 and I wonder if he might be ‘managed’ this week. Especially if we are hoping to replicate the sort of balance and capacity that helped us to beat Geelong so convincingly last time we met.

Alternatively, do we play Gardiner forward in the Hipwood role, instead of Gallop?

The last time we played Geelong Rd.15
Geelong 6.15.51
Brisbane 14.8.92

View attachment 2408889

View attachment 2408890
In terms of the Qualifying Final, injury dictates there will be no Hipwood or Answerth. Gallop was named as an emergency in Rd15, and he played last week, so he may get another run.

McLachlan is unlikely to be recalled and it is fair to say that Reville and Marshall are likely to hold their places in the current team, although one may be SUB.

Interestingly, Gardiner didn’t play in Rd.15 and I wonder if he might be ‘managed’ this week. Especially if we are hoping to replicate the sort of balance and capacity that helped us to beat Geelong so convincingly last time we met.

Alternatively, do we play Gardiner forward in the Hipwood role, instead of Gallop?
Has Geelong's expected side for the QF changed much since that R15 game?

Haha fair enough, every side has flog supporters!

That prelim last year was electric. Made me realise how many supporters Geelong has these days. But also though our mob did okay at making some noise.
We were exceptional that day.
Probably outnumbered 2 to 1 (or even 3 to 1), but the noise Lions supporters made after Cal and Cam's goals in time on in the 4th to regain the lead and seal it was sensationally spine tingling... and loud - just about as loud as Geelong supporters I reckon.